We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming service”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #106 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hey traveller.

I like this small hotel.
It has a charming service, the rooms are small, but comfortable.
Cause of the old building, you can hear your neighbours, but who wants a totally quiet place?
The location is good, citycenter is reachable by foot and the taxi from/to the airport is payable.

thx for the easy check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: the rooms are small, but comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 700 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in early Dec. Room was nice, clean, although i was on my own i had been given a room with a single & double bed. TV has 8 channels (RTE1 RTE2, 3, 3e, BBC1, UTV, Sky News & Channel 4).There are no tea/coffee facilities in room, there is a €1 machine in the corridor. My room could do with large light in ceiling (2 bedside lights, foor lamp & mirror lights). Breakfast can be pre-paid, you get tokens for full irish or continental. Although the location is out of city there is a bus (46a) that stops right outside, so if you are a light traveller you can get a bus from O'Connell Street. You can get a bus from airport, either 1 of several express services or 16, all of which goto O'Connell St.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45topchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Upon checking in, discovered that the lodge's switch-over from analog to digital TV had technical problems and that there was no TV. This wouldn't be a problem except that some in our party were scheduled to fly home through Hurricane Sandy! So no TV for 5 days.

No elevators from street to front desk. Shower pressure was weak and Irish tubs are sized funny (longer & narrower compare to US tubs)--making the shower experience not so great--impossible to turn around without bumping into the cold wall or the cold shower curtain. This tub size issue was true for every place we stayed in Ireland (e.g., Belfast, Sligo, Ennis, Killarney, Tramore, and Dublin (3 different places in Dublin)).

However, the rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, the full Irish Breakfast was good and filling, the staff was very helpful with suggestions or help in arranging cabs and the location, while not central to Dublin, wasn't that far from O'Connell St. or buses to take us there. We enjoyed our stay, the price was right and we'd return to it if ever returning to Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

For me this was a bit to far from the city center. the hotel is very nice and staff friendly. good value stay here. woryh a visit.
local pubs are friendly here and a very good all you can eat chinese nearby.

Overall nice place would go back

Room Tip: beware of steps up to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank querty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was in Dulin recently for business trip, stayed in Charleville. It's nice small hotel, didn't spend their too much time, but my room was normal, clean and bed was comfortale. Staff memer are very friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisBorinshteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Avoid this hotel at all costs, not only is the hotel dirty, it is riddled with bed bugs (even admitted to by a member of staff they they do have problems with it) we complained, were given another room which also appeared to be infested and was offered only one nights accommodation free (we stayed 2 nights and could not find somewhere else) The three of us who stayed there have about 50 bites each all over our body. Although the staff are friendly this is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nebodyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulVStenson, Manager at Charleville Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

To say that we are riddled with bed bugs is completely unfair and totally untrue. As you can see from our previous reviews, we have NEVER had a review of this nature before.

The reality is that every hotel in the world struggles with bed bugs every now and then. However, the fact is that the bugs don’t originate in the hotel, but are brought in by other guests, which is outside of the hotel’s control.

While we do admit that there was an issue in the first room you were in (which has subsequently been thoroughly dealt with), there was no trace of anything found in the second room. We did compensate you fully (full refund) in relation to your grievance on your first night, so we believe it is highly unfair that you have written this review.

In any case, we actively encourage our guests to write reviews, as it highlights any issues which need to be rectified in order to improve the guest experience in Charleville Lodge.

Thankfully, the majority of our guests rate us as either excellent or very good. As you can see, we have an average score of 4 out of 5.

Best regards,

Paul Stenson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel isn't bad, it's just average. It has character, but the room was a little cold, and so was the shower. The location is convenient to the bus, but is really too far from the best sites of Dublin. I picked it for the price, and was mainly coming for the marathon, so for what I needed it was OK. If I return to Dublin, I will look for a hotel closer in to the city center next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltLakeCityStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,462 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
660 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#107 of 152 in Dublin
812 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#81 of 152 in Dublin
1,190 reviews
Hotel St. George
#70 of 152 in Dublin
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $62 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing