We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We went to Dublin over St. Patrick's Day and stayed in Temple Bar. We knew it was going to be noisy, but the street celebrations were absolutely crazy. Even though this hotel is right in the thick of everything, they were very accommodating of our request to have a room on the top floor and off the main street. This cut down on the street noise tremendously, and with a set of ear plugs, I slept like a baby. Violet at the front desk was endlessly helpful, giving us a map and marking all the pubs and restaurants preferred by Dublin locals. The room itself was neat and tidy, albeit somewhat small. The bed was comfortable and there was an in-room safe. Overall, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard to decrease street noise, especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Jacqueline M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel.

I will pass on your kind remarks to Violetta and the rest of the team!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    786
    355
    110
    80
See reviews for
262
816
136
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice motel, my partner and I, stayed 3 nights. Walking distance to most attractions, many many pubs :) rooms are clean and modern, bed was comfortable, hot shower, good breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff... What more could you ask for! Handy tesco directly across the street! I would stay everytime!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alintajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Alintajade,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely hotel friendly staff. Breakfast was lovely with plenty variety. Stayed on fourth floor at back of hotel which were a bit noisy because of the generators but beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay agin.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindashane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Lindashane,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your feedback. I was especially happy to read that you found the service provided by our team to be friendly and helpful.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back to Temple Bar Hotel in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location for shoppers and tourists who want to explore the centre of the city. The breakfast is delicious and the rooms are comfortable. However, if you are not spending each night of your stay out drinking then I would strongly suggest staying somewhere quieter. I got to sleep at 4 o'clock the first night I was there, despite going to bed at 12, due to the drunken revellers directly outside my window. I've nothing against listening to drunken revellers, as long as I'm one myself!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Colm W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel overlooking a courtyard and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked this hotel so that we didn't have to walk far from the lively bars of Temple Bar Street. Having read that some of the rooms at the front were a bit noisy we asked in advance for a quieter room at the back on the fourth floor and this is what we were given! However on the roof of the hotel were some very noisy generators which was a bit annoying! Still we slept very well. Breakfast was really tasty and lots of choice. Staff at breakfast offered us a quieter table as the breakfast room was heaving on our first morning which was very thoughtful. Every member of staff that we met was extremely helpful from storing our bags until we could check-in, finding the location of a restaurant we want, to helping us check-in for a flight home. One member of staff very kindly took a photo of my husband and me another thoughtful action. Well done to the staff!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a good sleep ask for a room near the back away from the street as the street is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDH270461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear LDH270461,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked 2 rooms here for 5 nights the first week of May which turned out to be a bank holiday. The location was great. Close to all the bars, restaurants, shopping, and tour pick up locations! Of course being a bank holiday weekend, it was very loud at night in the rooms that face the street. My friends asked for a room change and were moved to a quieter room. Service was great. Offered us a cold breakfast when we had to leave early before normal breakfast hours.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rainforme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear rainforme2,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

went on mates birthday and as far as we are concerned all 23 off us thought this hotel was brill,everything we needed was within distance.the staff in the hotel were very friendly and the rooms were very clean and big.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markrubyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear markrubyreynolds,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your feedback. I was especially happy to read that you found the service provided by our team to be friendly and helpful.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back to Temple Bar Hotel in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing