We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in all, and enjoyed it very much. The Terrace Restsurant serves excellent food, the hotel was very quiet, we were treated with kind respect at all times. Taxis were easy to find. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Darlene W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    807
    361
    110
    80
See reviews for
275
829
137
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Our hostess helped navigate us thru a bad rez (our fault) and got my family of four settled comfortably and professionally in shirt order. A/C in room helped us Yanks cope with an extraordinary stretch of good sunny warm weather. Great location in the middle of Temple Bar's madness!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Bob J,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind remarks to Violetta and the rest of our team. We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had such a laugh in the temple bar. If you go you must visit and meet everyone in there. We met locals hanging out with tourists. Great band and the best night out we had while in Dublin. It is a must!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Jaz999,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed there two nights in early May. The location was great as it was convenient to restaurants, transportation and sights. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Due to the location was requested a room away from the front of the hotel which provided us a quiet room. The Irish breakfast was excellent each morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on TripAdvisor We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with our family of four recently. The hotel itself is nice and staff are friendly and helpful. However, the party noise lasts until around 3am, and it is loud. If you are coming to party, this hotel is probably ideal. If you are in Dublin to sight see, visit a few local pubs, and get some sleep at night this is not the hotel for you. I would highly recommend getting a hotel a block or two out of the Temple Bar area. You would still be centrally located.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Carol L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was in a great location in Dublin - the Temple Bar area.

From the Temple Bar Hotel you have easy walking access to many sites. My husband and I walked to all of our destinations except for the Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, which we took an easy cab ride to for about 12 euro.

Temple Bar Hotel is also great for nightlife! Again, the Temple Bar area is loud and exciting all weekend with live music and sometimes dancing.

The downside to this, is that the hotel is echoing all night with drunken laughter and screaming. It's an old building so there is poor sound proofing. Our room was facing an alleyway, so I did not think it'd be too noisy, but I was definitely wrong. The first night we stayed I was kept awake until 4:00am. I went to the front desk the next morning to see if we could move rooms but they were all booked up. Thankfully they at least offered free earplugs, which I have to say helped a lot. I slept soundly the rest of the trip. If you're a heavy sleeper, you should be fine.

I was also disappointed in the room. For the price we payed, it was extremely cramped and tiny. It barely fit the small bed we slept in. The high price definitely comes from the convenience of the hotel's location, and not its luster.

It did offer a delicious breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room upon booking... if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Hilary D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I was delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

We have various different room layouts and sizes. Some of the rooms vary in floor space depending on their location within the building. As you stated, we were extremely busy last week and unfortunately we were unable to reallocate your room to a quieter area in the hotel and I would like to apologise for this.

I will pass your compliments onto the breakfast team.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was most disappointed in this hotel. A small room, with very little sound proofing from surrounding noise of clubbers at night. For £92 including an unappetizing breakfast - never again! The location is central but that's the only thing in it's favour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Irene H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We feel Temple Bar Hotel is competitively priced and the product and service that we deliver reflects excellent value right in the heart of Temple Bar.

With regards to breakfast, I will investigate the matter further

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing