We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed last week for 1 night and was not impressed, for a Hotel in a popular tourist area it was extremely disappointing. Check in was quick and efficient and front staff very pleasant. Room was on third floor overlooking an alley which was obviously used by hotel staff to go in and out because the noise started about 6am talking laughing as peoples were out for a smoke or going in and out. Room was small but adequate small table and 2 chairs took up far to much room might have been better without maybe just leave 1 chair bit too cramped bathroom was roomy plenty of nice soft towels. The worst thing was the bed it was very comfy BUT it looked like the bedclothes had not been changed after the last guest left the sheets and pillowcases were not fresh you could see it straight away when I pulled back clothes to have a look there were hairs in the bed and stains on the sheets one actually looked like blood. Normally I would have asked to be changed but when at reception they told other potential customers looking for a room that they were completely booked up. There were leaflets in the room adverting the restaurant and the different meal and sitting options but when I rang down to book a table I was told it was closed only open on Friday and Saturday. We tried to get food In bar but gave up after a half an hour sitting there 1st there was no staff behind bar and when the girl came back she completely ignored us. If I had of been staying longer than 1 night I definitely would have went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear doownelg,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the Reception Team.

I can assure you that our bed linen is changed after the departure of every guest but I will pass your comments on to the Accommodation Team.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the service delay in Buskers – I would like to apologise for this and I will mention it to our Beverage Team immediately.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    827
    362
    112
    82
See reviews for
286
848
141
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I decided on this hotel after reading such good reviews. No disappoints. This area in heart of Temple Bar, where the Pubs. The staff is very attentive and friendly. One day chooses to eat at the hotel and the food was very good, the waiter was kind enough to invite glass of Baily's. I recommend it. I hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xanaveganwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear xanaveganwolf,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you're looking for bars, pubs and being central, this hotel is perfect. Right in the heart of it all on Temple Bar. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, booked us a taxi for our early morning flight. Huge bed, clean, and everything you need. Would definitely stay again and recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, request it. Try and get a room round the side or back so it's not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Kelly W,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team,

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you fancy a central location for many beers, it's fine. If you think you are coming for a romantic trip with your beloved.....think again! Tired hotel with poor breakfast..... cold! Great to stroll back to after 20 or so pints of Guinness.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caxias do Sul, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel, full of nice people. Great staff and nice kitchen to cook your own meal. Best spot to stay in Dublin. I have made friends for life in this place. Clean rooms and facilities very near. Pubs, bars, shops, laundry everything you'll need, you'll find around Temple Bar. Friendly staff. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

stayed in temple bar hotel last fri 30 th nov..on a short business trip to dublin and really enjoyed this hotel,check in v efficient and friendly,room 307 v good in quiet part of hotel as requested.hotel v busy and located in centre of temple bar.great location,loads of bars and restaurants nearby,hotel has v lively bar with bands etc,had great sleep in v comfortable bed.will promote hotel and am returning next week for 2 nite stay!!!

Room Tip: request room at back of hotel if you want good sleep,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear 737mikeb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location in middle of temple bar. Hotel was easy to find, car park opposite hotel - Fleet Street. Its near shopping and great nightlife and restaurants. I stayed here on a Friday night busy weekend in dublin and had a wonderful sleep no noise at all. I expected it to be pretty loud so was pleasantly surprised. I was in a single room so was pretty small but fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear ishivs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of our team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
845 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,336 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,461 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing