We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We are actualy still here:) .First impressions very good and it continues to get better. On checking in, we had a twin room to which being a married couple we would have preferred a double but never mind it's not the hotels fault. Oscar who was on duty did everything he could to find us another room and although we politely turned down his offer of a room move it has to be said the level of attention he gave us was brilliant. Noise levels was fine and we are having a great time. Would we return?? Oh yes

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Rossandlinda,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel.
I will pass on your kind remarks to Oscar and the rest of the team!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

After having to leave so early from Gatwick, we were at the Temple bar hotel by 9:00am. We were checked in promptly and given our rooms on arrival, no having to leave bags and waiting. Stayed for 7 nights and had a fabulous time. My friend ahead a little street noise from her room, but mine was fine. The only slight pain was the bath leaked, so the floor got very wet. Moped it up with a towel and they were changed every day, so no biggie. If I'm ever in Dublin again I would stay here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on five different occasions over a two-year period and each time, I have had a perfect visit. My on-line reservations have always been handled efficiently from reservation request to check-out.

The Location is excellent; amid the activity and night life of Temple Bar, yet centrally positioned to allow easy access to other areas of the city via public transportation. The DART line (Tara Street Station) is a 5-10 minute walk away. The DART takes you all the way south to Bray (towards the Wicklow Mountains) - and north - to the seaside communities of Malahide and Howth. The Luas tram (across the Liffey at Abbey St. Station) takes you to the two city train stations: Heuston (trains to Cork, Galway) and Connelly Station (northbound trains to Belfast). Also nearby are the Dublin Bus Company's Hop-On Hop-Off Bus (Trinity College Stop) and various tour companies that pick up in front of the Tourist Office on Suffolk Street. In addition, many of Dublin's tourist attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel: Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Chester Beatty Library, National Museum, National Gallery, Grafton Street, St. Patrick's and Christ Church...just to name a few.

The Hotel is clean, comfortable, and an excellent value for the price. The staff are professional, attentive to every request, and friendly. The buffet breakfast is very nice to have, with adequate variety to suit most needs and a complimentary morning newspaper. There's an in-room safe and hair dryer; two essentials as far as I'm concerned. The bed/bedding is comfortable. The room has always been well-cleaned and re-stocked every day.

People complain about the unavoidable night noise on the streets of Temple Bar, so if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or request a room away from Fleet Street. Otherwise, the Hotel is safe and secure, has a delightful lobby, quick access to taxis, (The reserve ahead, fixed-price airport taxi is so convenient.), has an on-premise restaurant and "Buskers", and one of Dublin's best historical pubs "The Palace" is only a few doors away! We will definitely be re-booking in 2014!

Room Tip: The corner Executive Rooms are large and sunny; but choose a back or inside room if you want to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear DHG,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your lovely remarks to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Temple Bar Hotel in 2014.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while on a Hen Party with a group of about 15. We arrived in town and checked in at about 5pm. Headed straight up to our rooms to get changed for the jam packed night ahead, We (myself and a friend) were given a room just outside the lift that faced onto Fleet Street. Initially we were slightly concerned that the noise late in the night might be an issue but it wasn't as the windows seemed to be very thick. Our room was maybe smaller than average but very clean and modern. The bathroom was exceptionally clean also.

Having got changed we headed to the brides room. Her room seemed to be around the 'back' of the building. It was a much bigger room with a big couch and sideboard. The only thing was it was very cold. The radiators seemed to be broken. They had some oil filed radiators in the room but they took a while to heat up. We left them on while out for the night as the room would have been very cold to come back to.

We went downstairs for a cocktail making class in Buskers which was brilliant. We had a section reserved with the barman taking our order for the cocktails. He was very accomodating with the variety we selected. He also paid special attention to the bride, mother of the bride and mother of the groom which was lovely.

We headed out of the hotel for the rest of the evening. On arriving back at around 3am we asked if there was any chance of getting some water. They were very obliging and sent a jug up to the room. We also took advantage of the vending machines outside the lift!

The following morning we went down for the breakfast. There was a great selection available, both hot and cold options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloping_fungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear sloping_fungus,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel and our location. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I chose this hotel as we wanted something close to the Dublin city center for our 2 night stay and we were not disappointed! A stone's throw away from the river and had everything near by. A 5 minute walk to the main shopping strip, a supermarket at the doors of the hotel and the minute you stepped outside you were in the Temple Bar precinct so no issues finding somewhere to eat or drink (sometimes hard given the area is so popular!!!)

Gorgeous large room with a huge bathroom. We got a package deal with Guinness Storehouse tickets. I was honestly surprised at the quality and location of the room given what we paid. Brilliant!!!!

Our room overlooked the street entering the Temple Bar district and while this made for great people watching, come the wee hours of the morning when the pubs were throwing everyone out, we were woken by the chanting crowds - weekend and weekday!!! Rather than being annoying we found it rather amusing and felt that it added to the atmosphere. If you are a very light sleeper or have to be up early perhaps ask for a room at the back.

The beds were a little uncomfortable however we made do and unless you have back issues, I wouldn't let this deter you from choosing this hotel.

Overall a brilliant hotel, one of the best I've stayed in - location, presentation and cleanliness. I would recommend! And I would come back and stay here in a heart beat!!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Ask if they have any deals goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedScarlett_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear RedScarlett_90,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel and our location. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently attended this hotel while on a hen party. We used the function room for activities and had our meal in the hotel. The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The food was very good and the atmosphere in the hotel was great! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Emer8,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay in this hotel. Cannot fault the location of hotel, and yes I agree it can be rather noisy, but this is only to be expected when the hotel is in the middle of all the action. Clean hotel with friendly staff. Room was a little cold for the first few hours but was very warm during the night.
My only negative comment would be the breakfast. When we stayed at the Temple Bar on our two previous occasions the breakfast was waiter service as in a restaurant. However, it has now been changed to a help yourself buffet and I can only say this is a step in the wrong direction. The hot food station is very small and the variety of hot food limited. Moreover, our food was cold. The breakfast experience now lets this hotel down.
Having said that apart from breakfast was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Difficult to suggest which room to book if you want to get away from the noise as I suspect all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Helenk64,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I was disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast – I would like to apologise for this and I assure you I will mention it to our Head Chef immediately.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
954 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
The Morgan
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $157 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Bar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing