We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!! Spacious and great location!”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!! Spacious and great location!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I chose this hotel as we wanted something close to the Dublin city center for our 2 night stay and we were not disappointed! A stone's throw away from the river and had everything near by. A 5 minute walk to the main shopping strip, a supermarket at the doors of the hotel and the minute you stepped outside you were in the Temple Bar precinct so no issues finding somewhere to eat or drink (sometimes hard given the area is so popular!!!)

Gorgeous large room with a huge bathroom. We got a package deal with Guinness Storehouse tickets. I was honestly surprised at the quality and location of the room given what we paid. Brilliant!!!!

Our room overlooked the street entering the Temple Bar district and while this made for great people watching, come the wee hours of the morning when the pubs were throwing everyone out, we were woken by the chanting crowds - weekend and weekday!!! Rather than being annoying we found it rather amusing and felt that it added to the atmosphere. If you are a very light sleeper or have to be up early perhaps ask for a room at the back.

The beds were a little uncomfortable however we made do and unless you have back issues, I wouldn't let this deter you from choosing this hotel.

Overall a brilliant hotel, one of the best I've stayed in - location, presentation and cleanliness. I would recommend! And I would come back and stay here in a heart beat!!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Ask if they have any deals goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedScarlett_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear RedScarlett_90,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel and our location. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    841
    363
    113
    82
See reviews for
294
863
141
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently attended this hotel while on a hen party. We used the function room for activities and had our meal in the hotel. The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The food was very good and the atmosphere in the hotel was great! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Emer8,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from our 3rd stay in this hotel. Cannot fault the location of hotel, and yes I agree it can be rather noisy, but this is only to be expected when the hotel is in the middle of all the action. Clean hotel with friendly staff. Room was a little cold for the first few hours but was very warm during the night.
My only negative comment would be the breakfast. When we stayed at the Temple Bar on our two previous occasions the breakfast was waiter service as in a restaurant. However, it has now been changed to a help yourself buffet and I can only say this is a step in the wrong direction. The hot food station is very small and the variety of hot food limited. Moreover, our food was cold. The breakfast experience now lets this hotel down.
Having said that apart from breakfast was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Difficult to suggest which room to book if you want to get away from the noise as I suspect all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Helenk64,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I was disappointed to read your comments about our breakfast – I would like to apologise for this and I assure you I will mention it to our Head Chef immediately.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned from Ireland and stayed the last couple of nights at the Temple Bar. Not only was it a wonderful location, but the rooms and staff where very nice. We opted for the breakfast in the morning and were not disappointed. The breakfast had both hot and cold options at a fair price. Yes, it's a bit noisy. We had rooms overlooking the alley so it was rather loud at night but nothing a pair of ear plugs couldn't take care of. We're glad that we had read previous posts concerning this, so we came prepared. I think that if one wants to stay in the Temple Bar area, noise is a trade off. I specify that the noise came from outside of the hotel, inside it was very quiet. Once again, great location. They even arranged a taxi for us to the airport the next day that was only a few more euro than one of the more hectic and time consuming bus options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear zoe3390,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

But to bad this time since it was a buisiness trip. It felt like sleeping in a pub. The noice from all the partying people was very disturbing as well as the noice from other guests arraiving home late at night (or early in the morning) - the space between the door to the hotel room and the hallway must have been at least 3 cm - it sounded like someone would stand next to your bed talking.
Breakfast was good - and except for the noice it's a good location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear gelkr,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Temple Bar Hotel. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the staff at hotel are lovely and are really happy to help,we arrived very early morning and they got us a room as soon as they could,we left our bags and went to look about,the rooms were comfy clean we were on 4th floor but still a lot of noise but we didnt mind as we went out till late.tesco,s is oppisite hotel open till 10pm,if you come out of hotel and faceing tesco go right. down the road lots of pubs and music and places to eat. turn left outside hotel to end of street then left agian and you can walk into town lots of shops.buy pints not halves its cheaper drinks are anything from 5euros to 8 euros .the hotel breackfast is lovely and evening meal was 60 euros two courses plus 2 drinks that was for two people we had steak .we will go again.we wont go at easter though no drinks on religious days anywhere not even shops didnt spoil it though.bar next door is also night club good fun and live music

Room Tip: get a room high up and away from street side as is noisey till 5 am really bad but if you like to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiptop587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear tiptop587,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always a pleasure to be of assistance and to read such positive feedback on the hotel.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was a bit concerned about the potential to be awake all night from noise levels, so I emailed the property prior to arriving to request a quiet room.
I didn't end up hearing a peep. My only issue is the fact that the water pressure seems weak and the tub drained extremely slowly. They are pretty minor in the grand scheme of things and having the Tesco market across the road was extremely convenient.
Violet at the front desk was extremely helpful. She is a real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear In206,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff. Here at Temple Bar Hotel, we pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will pass on your kind remarks to Violetta and the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 151 in Dublin
870 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,778 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,371 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing