We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Noisey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Crook, Co Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Bit Noisey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First the Good stuff - Excellent Location right in the middle of the Temple Bar area with easy access to the bars and clubs. The rooms were ok quite big and clean.
The Bad stuff - Wow it was noisey we were on one of the side elevations on the top floor and the noise from outside was bad well up until about 2:00, the curtains didnt close so the light came in this was because they had hung curtains on a sloaped roof?? The Toilet paper !!!!! sorry but that is wrong I dont often talk much about these items but lets just say it was pretty thin and very hard abit like sandpaper!!
We actually enjoyed the hotel hence the 4 star rating but take your own paper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Andrew L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback, and that of all reviewers on this site, as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests.
The Temple Bar area is one of Dublin’s liveliest spots with some of the capital’s top bars, restaurants and cafes located there. The downside of this is some of our rooms do experience some noise which unfortunately is outside of our control.

I apologise for the issues you had with the curtains and toiled paper in your bedroom. Our in-room facilities are checked regularly so I assure you that this is not a regular occurrence. I’m glad that this did not have a negative impact on your overall stay.

We do have quieter rooms within the hotel which are available on request so if you would like to stay with us again we will ensure you have one of these rooms.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    805
    361
    110
    80
See reviews for
274
828
137
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

There is a pub on the ground floor of the hotel that plays live music every night, as they advertise. The problem is that it's just too loud!
I stayed there for 3 nights and couldn't sleep in any of them.
And even if you get in the pub the music is still so loud you can't even talk.
Anyway.. Although it's a very nicely located and a fair 3 star hotel, I wouldn't stay there again because of the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsorrenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Rsorrenti,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were affected by noise levels in the hotel.
Due to the fact that we are the most centrally located hotel in Dublin there can be noise on the streets at the weekends.
We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and we will always try to allocate them when requested so if you choose to stay with us again in the future we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for an extended weekend in Diblin at the temple bar hotel and found it very conveniently located. We travelled with friends and sought a central location to have a good choice of restaurants and bars . This was the place.
The rooms are of a good size and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit in need of refurbishment but was ok. Good shower.
We stayed in the back of the hotel so it was quiet. I believe that the front rooms are noisier since they give onto the main street in the fleet street, in the centre of Dunlin where many bars and restaurants are located. Basically this is the main area for going out. Not our first choice in that respect.
You have free wifi which is always a plus
Nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
HI Travelbugamsterdam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on being one of Dublin’s most centrally located hotel and I am glad that our location enhanced your stay with us.

I Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fantastic location and great room size, loved being in the centre of everything and would defiantly go back! Make sure you have a walk around the cobbled streets and get lost in Dublin great place. A must is the Guinness factory as well, find out how it's made and then have a glass at a fantastic glass room/bar at the top! Even if your not a fan of Guinness it's still worth the trip to the bar in the roof

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Danny A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Temple Bar Hotel.
We pride ourselves on being Dublins most centrally located hotel and I am delighted to hear our location helped make your trip even more enjoyable.

I hope to see you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friends & myself got a cheap deal for a city break to Dublin & this was the hotel included. Wasnt too sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised.

Fantastic location, As it's on Fleet street, temple bar its right next to all the pubs, clubs and restaurants. Main shopping area only a 10 minute walk away and bus stops, tours and museaums.

The staff are very friendly and accomadating. Even brought a fan to our room one night when it was quite warm. The rooms were lovely, very clean and all the facilities you'd need.

One small issue was the noise as our room was right at the front of the hotel. I had ear plugs with me anyway so didnt hear it much but if you are a light sleeper i sudgest asking for a room at the back of the hotel.

The bed was extremely comfortable.

Can't rate this hotel enough. Will be coming back next year with my parents in tow!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or easily disturbed, might be best to ask for a room at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Stacey L

Many thanks for taking the time to review your trip to Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your fantastic comments on the facilities available in the hotel and how accommodating the staff where during your stay. It’s also great to hear you took advantage of our central location, being part of the busy cultural quarter Temple Bar is something we pride ourselves on. It is always lovely to hear such great feedback.

I look forward to welcoming both you and your parents next year.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel is situated right in the temple bar area, surrounded by many cafes, restaurants, clubs and Tesco is opposite to it. Ideal location for tourists. Air coach station is just round the corner.

The room is of reasonable size, basic and adequate. It can be noisy as one can hear disco music at night and truck clearing beer bottles early in the morning. I'm tolerant in terms of noise level hence I found it okay. If you are easily disturbed by noise, temple bar is not an area for you.

Graffton Street (where the shops are) is about 5-10 mins walk. Trinity College Dublin and various museums are all within walking distance.

Hotel staff are generally nice and helpful. Wifi is free and at good speed. No complaint about this.

We did not try the hotel breakfast as there are plenty of choices around. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Kolokolu,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
We proud ourselves on being Dublin’s most centrally located hotel and I am glad that our location enhanced your stay. I am also delighted to hear the staff were helpful during your stay, I will pass on your kind remarks.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
227 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel had a restaurant downstairs which serves breakfast in the A.M. Right next door was a restaurant and with a pub - you can sit in doors or outdoors. The location could not be better from the tours, like the Dublin Castle/Christchurch Cathedral tours. Hard Rock Cafe is also a few steps down the road on the same Fleet Street. The train line we used to get to Belfast was less than one mile frm the hotel. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The internet in the rooms worked great and was wireless. There are plenty of shops around the hotel for getting souvenirs, and also a grocery literally RIGHT across the street. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Shane G,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your trip to Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your fantastic comments on the facilities available in the hotel and our central location. It is always lovely to hear such great feedback.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and I hope to see you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing