We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Positive aspects of this hotel: location, the library bar (perfect to relax in, take a drink and have some nice food), the rooms are reasonably sized and clean, staff are friendly and it was surprisingly quiet at night (considering the location). Free wi-fi is also available and coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Iron is available on request (and it's a good one!).

Negative aspects (for business traveller): only liquid soap given as the toiletries, water pressure in the shower was a bit weak and it took a while to get hot water coming through, the breakfast was a good size but I've had better. The cooked breakfast seemed like it was pre-made and kept warm (hard scrambled egg, poor quality sausage) there was a limited choice of cereals and fruit, no fresh bread or yoghurt and mediocre tea. For 10 Euros and the quality offered I recommend going out for breakfast.

However, these two things are the only negative aspects of this hotel and I recommend staying for a week-end break or a short business trip if you want to go out and see Dublin. The location is ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara-lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments in relation to breakfast have been noted and will be addressed.
We thank you for your kind comments about the rooms and would live to welcome you back to the hotel for a second visit. Always contact the hotel Directly for discounted rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 918 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

I had heard mixed reviews on this hotel - but I couldn't fault it - we had a great stay over a weekend - fabulous location, friendly staff, room was big and clean, I would definately go back based on the location alone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hails506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We love to get positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nice hotel with good service. Perfect basecamp for visiting Dublin. We will certanly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brusus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel Again. Always contact the hotel directly for the best available rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

we stayed for only 1 night but the room was excellent and very comfortable, and the
price was very good for value.
i will recomended this hotel at anyone for business and leisure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasilis_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always love to get positive feedback. For the best available rates, always contact the hotel directly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Central Hotel Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I have just returned from a 1 night stay at the Central Hotel. I am not one to unduly criticise a hotel however I must in this instance take the opportunity to provide my views on what was a very disappointing stay.

Arrived at hotel earlier than check in time and as room was unavailable which was fair enough. Went for lunch in the adjoining Exchequer Bar (recommended, fair dues) and returned back to hotel just after 2pm to be informed that room was still unavailable (I was to be given room 206 - this was promised as the receptionist stated "we had paid good money which warranted us a larger room". I had also requested a quieter room (knowing that there would be noise at front end from bars/clubs in vicinity) so to try and ensure that my pregnant wife would get a relatively decent night's sleep (acknowledging there would be some street noise as we were in a busy area).

Came back 4pm to be told we were now to be given room 313 and not 206 as was promised. 313 was a small but OK room (slightly tatty) - however it was basically right on the front end of hotel so special request had been ignored. Overall cleanliness of room was inadequate, it needed dusting, stray hairs/pubes on toilet and sink, cups in room for tea/coffee had not been cleaned. Small diasppointing things which you do not expect in any hotel let alone a 3 star hotel.

We went out for dinner and returned to room at 12am (having enjoyed a drink in the Library Bar which is recommended and one of the few plus points for the hotel). Went up to the room and the noise level was unbelievable! Laying down in bed, it was as if we were laying down next to speakers in a nightclub. We had a bit of a chuckle about the thing - what else could we do - but seriously, you do expect a reasonable quality of sleep in a 3 star hotel. This was not had. I went down to reception at 1am to see if we could move rooms but all rooms were booked for the night.

Went to breakfast following morning and i strongly advise that you avoid - poor quality for around 10euros. Very bland. Again expect better from such and establishment. When I checked out I informed the receptionist of my overall disappointment on the stay and she kindly reimbursed me 20euros paid for the breakfast as a token of acknowledgment that the stay had not been an enjoyable one. I must state that the staff were all very courteous at all times.

To summarise - hotel in good location, lovely bar area, smallish housekeeping issues (but these can make a difference between a poor and good stay), but I would recommend to avoid if you want a decent night sleep and I have stayed in better 2 and 3 star hotels in Dublin over the years. I would assume that it has an overall 3 star rating due to location, lovely Library Bar etc, the fact that it has functions rooms etc, however the bedrooms are what you would expect to find in 1 and 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blewtew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Our check in time is 2.30pm so we cannot guarantee rooms prior to this time. We do however endeavor to facilitate guests who arrive earlier then this but as you arrived on Saturday it was not possible as we were fully booked the previous evening. I’m sure you can understand although guests are not required to check out before 12 noon, we require that window of two and a half hours to services our rooms.
We have checked our records and you made your reservation for a standard room on the evening prior to your arrival. We had suites available which you could have booked if you required an upgrade. On the 3rd floor we have spent considerable sums of money to sound proof our windows, as this building is 123 years old and a No. 1 listed building with Dublin City Council. We have removed windows and had them refurbished in order to achieve 65% reduction in street noise. Since this work has been undertaken we have had just your complaint from that room. Its quite that windows have been refurbished and we have received many complements from our regular guest on our good work.
Our receptionist wanted to give you the first available room which turned out to be 313. Whilst you were at the desk, she enquired with housekeeping as to the status of 206 with a view to giving that to you if it was ready, so I think you were mistaken in thinking you had been allocated 206.
We have housekeeping standards in place to ensure that our rooms are kept at a certain standard. Every room is check by the head housekeeper followings its service and we have got confirmation from her check lists that this room was checked and no problems were found with this room.
In relation to your breakfast, your comments are very surprising for the following reasons. All our breakfasts are cooked to order. Our food is catered by the Exchequer Gastro Bar, attached to premises, (voted No. 1 Gastro Pub In Ireland). Also if you look at some previous reviews both on Trip Advisor and Bookassit you will see many positive comments about our breakfast. We note that you were fully refunded for this.
The Hotel has a 3 star plus rating and has constantly held its status for 123 years and has nothing to do with our location. Your comments in relation to bedrooms are extremely disappointing as we have in the last 3 years spent in excess of €2 million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights. The location was great for all the local sightseeing attractions and with very friendly staff but the hotel itself was disappointing. While the reception area and lounge bar were attractive the corridoors, dining room and bedrooms were in some need of attention. The breakfast was poor. The irish breakfast had bacon that was like shoe leather and the continental breakfast was cereal and toast - no yogurt, range of fruit, croissants etc. There was a lot of noise from the bars and street below until the small hours.
On the plus side, there was good access to Temple Bar and the near by Arlington Hotel did a nice meal and folk show.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

I am sorry that your experience of our hotel was less then perfect. We are housed within a listed building an try our best to retain our period features, all of our bedrooms and our dining room have been recently refurbished and painted. We have passed on your comments in relation to breakfast and look forward to improving our service in that department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Central Hotel during two consecutive annaul visits, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dublin. Nestled on a narrow but happening small street, it is a stone's throw from Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Grafton Street, St. Stephen's Green, and Temple Bar. We walked everywhere including an evening play at the renowned Abbey Theater. Staff is professional and cordial. For both visits we arrived from the U.S. by 10:00 a.m., and with no fanfare were allowed to go to our rooms despite appearing hours before check-in time. We are both teachers, and travel to Dublin for its cultural and historical features. That said, however, our favorite locale in the city remains the hotel's cozy and inviting second-floor Library Bar.
We are considering a return visit to Dublin in February, and will make reservations at the Central Hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2010

Thank you for your very kind review. Its always nice to get posative feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 150 in Dublin
1,050 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
411 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,195 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,334 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $135 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing