We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were down in Dublin for one night to go to a concert, us and two kids 18 and 14 so they counted as adults really. We managed to get a room for four and I was worried it would be a double and camp beds but we had asked for four adults and we got a room with four single beds and still enough room to walk around so we didn't feel cramped at all.
We picked the hotel due to its location close to Temple Bar and Grafton Street and were very pleased at exactly how close it was even after reviewing the map. Out the door turn right, end of the street, cross over and you are in Temple Bar. Out the door turn left and keep walking to the end of the street and voila! Grafton Street. Hardly 5 minutes in either direction and that allows for waits at the Traffic lights. If you turn left then right from the front door you are at secure underground car parking. Carrying overnight bags was no problem, cases would have been just a short wheelly away. Full marks for location.
Breakfast wasn't included but 9 Euro could take care of it in the hotel or pleanty of local cafes and coffee chains to choose from. We didn't require any particular service but the reception was polite and efficient. Value wise £100 for one night room for 4 adults in a city centre location was fine by me.
The room had an old fashioned appearance although clean and tidy, in fact the whole hotel was of its period and more of a homely feel than ultra modern. No complaints from me.
What let it down was its location it is right in the heart of the night life and the night life can be heard through the night in al its guises, people, singing, shouting, music, traffic, sirens etc the hotel is aware of this and advises you before your visit, if you seek peace and quiet ask for a room away from the street side. The premises covers a corner site so it fronts onto two streets. Perhaps the best way to avoid the noise is a) get a hotel further away from the action or b) join in the action and don't go to bed until 3am. It's a vibrant part of the city especially at weekends and I would say that's part of the fun.
I'm certainly not complaining but be aware if daytime sight seeing and peaceful nights are on your list then maybe somewhere else should be your choice. To reassure, I can say the hotel itself was in no way the source of the noise but rather the surrounding district. It is what it is. Would I go back? Yes!

Room Tip: Avoid street side rooms to reduce the noise level at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    356
    204
    74
    78
See reviews for
161
262
95
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First, the good: huge room, quaint old hotel, wonderful library bar. Shower was adequate, and bed was comfortable. Price was very reasonable.

The bad: Noise. We did request a quiet room; however, our room had only single pane glass, and the karoke bar across the street kept going with loud music and loud people in the street until about 4:00 a.m. Calls to management in the night did result in the music being turned down temporarily, but volume went back up half an hour later.

Would only recommend this hotel if you plan to stay out most of the night partying, and just want a place to crash in the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladylawyer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on a Monday night recently. Upon check in the receptionist was nice and friendly and was full of smiles even though it was 11pm. Pity we couldn't say the same for what looked to be the manager sitting beside her who ignored her when she asked for the keys that was sitting beside him. When we went to the room it was nice and big. Big standard but clean. There was only 1 pillow on each side of the bed. When I went to the wardrobe there was no extra ones there only 5 blankets! The double bed was 2 singles pushed together and a sheet put on it resulting in the pushing apart all night. There was a lot of noise outside on the street all night from kegs been pushed around to lorries. 4 times housekeeping came into the room to service it and on the last time they just walked in. All of these happened before 12pm which is the checkout time. Should really look at there policy's on room servicing. Won't be back in a hurry back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downpatrick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had been told about this hotel before I booked it I read several of your reviews and now back home I have mixed reactions. We arrived yesterday and the lady on reception wasn't really interested about us in fact she was bordering on being rude , in the background a gentleman appeared from nowhere he looked dishevelled and don't even say hello. When we went to our room it was still being cleaned, we didnt mind but surely the lady on reception should have alerted us of this. She was a blond about 50 ish.

We had a drink in the library bar we had been there before and the girl was very helpful.

I had asked for a quiet room which it was , we had breakfast this morning a lovely fresh cooked breakfast, we were served breakfast by a great young perhaps polish girl she smiled the whole time , nothing was a problem to her compared to the receptionist the previous day, the sausages were great.
On checking out there were two very friendly receptionists couldn't have been friendlier, it just goes to show on first thoughts and the lack of interest from the first receptionist compared to the last two receptionists can make your overall experience waiver.

Overall would I go back again yes , the price was99 euro bed and breakfast , great location and yes I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionahamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel, although it is close to Temple Bar and Grafton Street etc.. the hotel wasn't great, it was very over priced but it was St Patricks Day, the room smelt of lavender, it was cold and heater didn't work, 1 of the lights didn't work and you had to put kettle under dressing table as lead was too short and no other sockets, our room was next to the air conditioning unit which was outside, it was loud all night. the room was clean, staff were polite, shower was very good. probably wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel was in an excellent location near the Temple Bar area of Dublin. It suited us for our desire to visit Christ Church, Trinity College, The Guinness Factory, and in general, to enjoy the Temple Bar area. The staff, while polite, was not always capable. They tried to be accomodating, but it just seemed difficult, whether it be to set up a wake up call or simply to give directions. We stayed there for two individual nights before and after our weekend in London, and we did encounter one front desk who was truly helpful.

Noise at night, is noticeable, only because of the bar downstairs, but it's a simple, melodic thumping off in the distance that just doesn't stop even at 3 am on a Sunday, but it's not street noise or obnoxious drunks, as I had feared when reading reviews prior to our trip. The noise did not bother us, as it was light.

All in all, a great price on a good hotel, with quite a bit of charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here with my sister and our young daughters and had booked a family room as it was only for a one night stay. We were delighted to get a two bedroomed, sharing a bathroom.
We were allocated a quiet area and all slept soundly.
Location is fantastic hince the name...
Only grievance is that the hotel needs a major make over, lots of money need to be spend here. Carpets very badly in need of repair and cleaning, paintwork, furniture need to be updated.
Freshen it up and reap the rewards.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
970 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
383 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,219 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
2,183 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing