We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Make It”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here with my sister and our young daughters and had booked a family room as it was only for a one night stay. We were delighted to get a two bedroomed, sharing a bathroom.
We were allocated a quiet area and all slept soundly.
Location is fantastic hince the name...
Only grievance is that the hotel needs a major make over, lots of money need to be spend here. Carpets very badly in need of repair and cleaning, paintwork, furniture need to be updated.
Freshen it up and reap the rewards.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 925 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The central hotel has more of a hostel feel than a hotel feel to it though the decor is traditional and the rooms are comfortable, though a little small. The location is really excellent and it is a perfect spot for those who want a night out in Dublin without the worry of driving/taxi/public transport.

The staff are friendly and very helpful.

While there is a bar there are some of Dublins top drinking spots within a few minutes walk. Also Breakfast is charged as an extra and you will find much better options for a freshly cooked feed just outside.

The hotel is best suited to singles and couples. The rooms would not suit a family.

They do not have parking but there are two car parks on Drury Street which is one way. As you approach the hotel the first car park is the multi story which costs €8 for an overnight stay. I recommend you pass this one and take the next just up the road. This is a basement car park which is normally €8 but if the hotel stamp your ticket you get it for €5 and it is much closer (less than 1 minute walk).

I would definitely use The Central Hotel again for a night out in Dublin.

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I love it. The location is super & the rooms super clean - what more can you want .. Oh yes obliging staff who helped with printing documents that's wonderful service. Thanks. I'll be back .. In about a fortnight I think.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheelaghnagig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here 3 different nights over the past month each time found it to be clean and tidy , the staff are very helpful. the bar is nice and is also "central" for the night seine in the city center will use again when am up for more nights out in town

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussybutnice033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were there to make this such a great experience. We arrived and were met by happy kind staff who went out of their way to help us and make the stay a real pleasure. With its ideal location being central to everything it suited us to the ground.

Room Tip: If its available go for room 322. With its massive bed and Jacuzzi bath you will love this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not bad at all. Really good location and a decent price.
If I'm honest I didn't get in until about 5am on New Years Day, so I didn't hear any noise, but then again I didn't go to Dublin to spend all night in my room.
Very happy with this place, will hopefully be returning at Easter.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank lockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Lockettx, glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the week. Hope our recommendation of hairdresser worked out, sorry I didnt seen the outcome. Hope you were able to manage in your heels and had a good night in Lillies!!!!!!

We would be more than happy to have you back with us in Easter, you can contact us direct on info@centralhotel.ie and we will look after you.

Best wishes for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel last Friday night.



The hotel is very central and, having lived in Dublin for nearly ten years and only having left recently, I can honestly say that the Library Bar is without doubt one of my favourite places to go in Dublin.



BUT



It is totally disingenuous to suggest that guests should book into a hotel with (presumably) similarly priced rooms throughout and then be expected to explicitly state that they require a "quiet" room. Its a hotel, all rooms should be quiet.

I don't know anyone that deliberately goes to sleep in a noisy, loud room.

 The Hotel should either warn its guests that they have a noise problem before they book, or close as a hotel.



I can see that a lot of people have warned about this here on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, due to my own lack of investigation, I ended up reading those reviews at 3.30 in the morning when i couldn't sleep due to the noise.

Room Tip: Too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Flinders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

thanks for taking time to review us. Happy that you enjoyed our Award Winning Library Bar.

Regarding your stay with us and noise issues, as you stated you lived in Dublin for 10 years and im sure you realise that its a very busy city and not one that closes down at midnight. We like every other city centre hotel have some noise issues which are out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,062 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,570 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,509 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
971 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing