We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than happy”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Not bad at all. Really good location and a decent price.
If I'm honest I didn't get in until about 5am on New Years Day, so I didn't hear any noise, but then again I didn't go to Dublin to spend all night in my room.
Very happy with this place, will hopefully be returning at Easter.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lockettx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Lockettx, glad you enjoyed your stay with us during the week. Hope our recommendation of hairdresser worked out, sorry I didnt seen the outcome. Hope you were able to manage in your heels and had a good night in Lillies!!!!!!

We would be more than happy to have you back with us in Easter, you can contact us direct on info@centralhotel.ie and we will look after you.

Best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    356
    204
    74
    78
See reviews for
161
262
95
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in the Hotel last Friday night.



The hotel is very central and, having lived in Dublin for nearly ten years and only having left recently, I can honestly say that the Library Bar is without doubt one of my favourite places to go in Dublin.



BUT



It is totally disingenuous to suggest that guests should book into a hotel with (presumably) similarly priced rooms throughout and then be expected to explicitly state that they require a "quiet" room. Its a hotel, all rooms should be quiet.

I don't know anyone that deliberately goes to sleep in a noisy, loud room.

 The Hotel should either warn its guests that they have a noise problem before they book, or close as a hotel.



I can see that a lot of people have warned about this here on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, due to my own lack of investigation, I ended up reading those reviews at 3.30 in the morning when i couldn't sleep due to the noise.

Room Tip: Too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Flinders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
thanks for taking time to review us. Happy that you enjoyed our Award Winning Library Bar.

Regarding your stay with us and noise issues, as you stated you lived in Dublin for 10 years and im sure you realise that its a very busy city and not one that closes down at midnight. We like every other city centre hotel have some noise issues which are out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Matsudo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for one night, her choice, and she was very disappointed. The hotel looks great from the outside, the inside is very characterful and the location is great - in the SoDa (South of Dame Street) area of Dublin . The Library Bar is lovely and I would recommend anyone to pay it a visit, not only guests.

However, it's main issue is related to it's location - it is very noisy. The windows are quite old and as a result of that not well sound proofed. My girlfriend could harly sleep at all that night. The rooms are very spartan, with the bathroom a particular disappointment for her (and me). The hotel in general feels tired and in need of some restoration.

The staff, while not rude, where not the most helpful or friendly and there was a general atmosphere of disinterest.

Overall, not good value for money. There are better options for a Dublin City stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not overlooking the main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

You can't ask for a better location. This hotel is right in the heart of everything and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We stayed for a week in May and it was great. Our hotel room was clean and everything was working properly. It took us a little while to figure out how to turn on the TV but it was resolved with a call to downstairs for advice. They had a weird system where you had to turn on a switch (upon entering the room) to allow flow of electricity. It's some sort of energy-saver thing.

The staff was nice and helpful. I felt relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. It may only have 3 stars but this is a great place to stay. Though, just be advised that it can get noisy late at nights because there is an open bar right below in the same building. If you are weary of noise, you can ask for a quiet room. But as for us, hey-we actually didn't mind the noise. Some drunk people were singing at like 2 am in the morning....and much to my surprise, the singing wasn't half bad! And they were singing songs that I knew. Well, it added to the ambiance, I guess.

Also, there is a really great supermarket right across the street where you can get snacks, a small lunch, or anything that you may need.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Florance C. Thanks for your nice comments about the Central and we are glad you enjoyed your time Dublin with us.

Yes we have some rooms that have slight noise issues but beyond our control but once a quite rooms is requested this is always accommodated.

Hope you come back to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

well now, this is an odd one... it's probably the best located hotel in dublin, but is that enough?? well, probably not. There is noise everywhere, in every room, except maybe way up in the smaller rooms on the higher floor.... the hotel is somewhat worn around the edges, and bizarrely the residents bar shuts way before the local bars, so, people coming back for a night cap, had to leave again, and there was no provision for a mini bar or the usual courtesy of a night porter organising drinks... they just closed the bar and said no to anyone wanting to have a final relaxing drink... which seemed rather poor form... also the hotel was especially warm at night, making it stuffy (cant open the windows for the noise.. a combination of traffic, loud bars, and arguing homeless people up the side lane)... the staff were, in general helpful, though i did hear another guest complaining about the lack of skill/training of the bar staff... I would like to stay here again, it's so handy... but I wish they'd face up to their problem areas and sort them out... we do after all, pay their rates and deservedly expect a level of service in return....

Room Tip: go for the top floor... the rooms are smaller, but it's your only chance of getting any sleep wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

OMG...What can I say....We so love this hotel in the Centre part of Dublin, right off Grafton Street.....I have stayed there 3 times and have sent family and friends to this so great Europeon hotel. We all loved it......The rooms are very clean, staff is amazing and so kind and helpful....I have travelled to many Europeon cities and this city hotel is one of our favs....Many thanks to Isobel and all the hotel people making our amazing trips to Dublin so great!!! Also a fantastic bar in the hotel with two cozy fireplaces ...couches, chairs, tables....a great place to end your day......judy xoxoxo

Room Tip: Not sure....we liked all our rooms....we enjoyed being on the strip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Always a pleasure to have you stay here with us Judy, come back to us again soon. Compliments of the seaon to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights in September and would happily stay there again. The hotel is a nice looking old hotel in the centre of Dublin making it very easy for access to restaurants, shops, bars and for just strolling around which is exactly what we planned to do with our mini-getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful and while the room was on the small side it was no different to any other hotel we stayed in, in that regard, during our holiday. We were 5 weeks travelling the UK and took 3 days in Dublin to have a break from driving and had no schedule to keep to. Being from a warm climate we were surprised at how few hotels had airconditioning in the rooms - the Central doesn't either and it was pretty warm in the room. We didn't eat at the hotel but did make good use of the Library Bar which was a real treat. I highly recommend you spend some time in there just soaking up the atmosphere (and having a drink or two!) We had no issue with noise, but I had requested a quiet room and that's what we got!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Glad you had a good stay with us here in the Central. Regarding airconditioning, unfortunately it is not something that is required in Ireland too often, if the situation should change we would be more than happy to install it!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
970 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
384 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
2,183 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing