We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful staff”
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“very helpful staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

had a great couple of days relaxing.
just a quick bus ride to city centre.
restaurant is looking right onto Herbert Park

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSFATTYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    611
    198
    71
    72
See reviews for
315
572
81
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This was our first time staying in this hotel though we have stayed in Ballsbridge on many occasions. The location was great as there is a park right outside the door of the hotel with childrens playgrounds and duck pond so ideal for our 3 year old to run off some energy from being cooped up in the car all day. Its also a short walk to the Lansdowne Road DART station so we only needed the car to arrive and leave.

The public areas are nice and well kept and there is a great breakfast selection at which we ate as much as we could manage and then did not need to eat lunch later(apart from the 3 year old of course who eat a large breakfast followed by a sizeable lunch!!). The restaurant wasn't open at night, only the bar menu which looked expensive for what was on offer. However their is a good selection of restaurants right on the doorstep with good value being offered on early birds.

Our room was fine - it was at the side of the hotel so had mixed views - in that we looked down on roofs BUT looking directly out was the skyline of Dublin. It was very quiet and we never had noise from either adjoining rooms or the corridor. There is also air-conditioning which is always welcome in hotel rooms as I find that they tend to get a bit over-heated. The bedroom(with a very comfortable king-size bed) was clean and well maintained as was the bathroom. The mini-bar is good in that there is still room to place some of your own items in it(in our case milk for our daughter)...obviously its expensive to take anything from it.

The only downside was the fact that its 10 euro a night for parking but then all hotels in Ballsbridge(and city centre Dublin) charge for parking so it wasn't a surprise. There was plenty of spaces in the car-park while we were there but if the hotel was full that might not be the case.

We will defitnetly return on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here in 2009. Normally would have stayed in centre of Dublin albeit all hotels were tending to overcharge due to events in town. On this ocassion we were over to see U2 at Croke Park, quite a distance from the hotel, but enjoyed the walk into town (about 15 to 20 mins). Really liked the hotel and would definitely recommend (we had a very good deal), escpecially good if your going to Landsdowne Road/Aviva stadium as its about a 5 mins walk away. I would say hotel probably more suited to corporate, this may be why rates were so good at weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oftentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Staff were more than helpful. Our package included free parking, otherwise wouyld have to had paid 10 euro per night.

Steak on Saturday night was good. cooked to my liking. Breakfast in our room Sunday. at no extra charge. Map of Dublin supplied on request.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed from the 8th to the 11th June 2010. We were received courteously at check in and, after some confusion locating our reservation on the computer system, we were directed to our room - a double which was bright ,clean and adequately spacious with a good sized flat screen tv offering a selection of terrestrial and satellite channels.. Tea & Coffee facilities were provided. The bathroom was pleasant and clean with an excellent shower. However I advise intending guests to bring their own shower/shampoo requisites as provision of these is poor. A shower gel dispenser encased in a thief proof holder requires some practice to extract an adequate amount of gel. The quality of the gel itself was very poor. The bed was very comfortable, and the room quiet so that we had very restful sleep.

The hotel provides complimentary computer facilities in a specially designated area and, additionally, one may use ones own equipment by paying for broadband access, the charge commensurate with usage time.
Breakfast is served in the main dining room which is very tastefully appointed overlooking the Garden. For Breakfast there was a choice between traditional cooked full Irish and a very good Buffet offering muesli, an assortment of the usual breakfast cereals , fresh fruit and nuts, yogurts and preserved grapfruit, pineapple, apricots and prunes, assorted breads pastries and preserves. All self-service but tea/coffee was brought to table.
Evening meals are served in the main bar area and besides a varied but modest menu 'Specials' are offered each evening. Sadly the enjoyment of what were basically nice well prepared and presented dishes was spoiled by the length of waiting time between ordering and the dishes arriving at table with long delays between courses. The main problem appeared to be understaffing. Two people were trying to serve the people in the bar and also a tour group downstairs in the main restaurant. Effectively this left most of the serving work in the bar to one person, as the other waiter/ witress also had to bring drink orders to the tour group downstairs. To ease matters the barman came out from the bar when he could to help take orders and serve. There appeared to be no system in dealing with diners in rotation as they arrived so ,for example people who came in well after my wife and I, had their orders taken and were served before us. That said, the waiting staff were very friendly and courteous and showed remarkable coping skills under such pressure.
The hotel is ideally situated, being within a few minutes walking distance of the Lansdowne Rd. DART station allowing easy access to Dublin City Centre as well as to many attractive coastal beaches and towns. The new Aviva Stadium is just near the Station.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and will return again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel which is nicely situated beside the RDS. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. Rooms are getting a bit dated but on the whole very good. Parking is extra. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORKROSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

when we arived the lobby was like a morge no atmosphere but as we were going to rihanna in the o2 we didnt mind! our stay was ok pokey room definatly not 3 star standard the staff were so unhelpful,unfriendly and rude.when we were checking out the day after we went to the recption i am 22 years of age and i dont own a credit card so i paid cash on arrival. i also paid a 100 deposit i presumed that would be if we raided the mini bar, wrecked the hotel etc. now i went to the concert with my sister she is 18 and when we went to collect our deposit the next day we were told to wait for the safe to open for our deposit! The manager left the front desk left a load of people waiting and as we found out afterwards had inspected my room.Those of you familiar with the tan sally hanson which is used by nearly every girl in ireland knows this tan is messy but washes off instantly,when we applied the tan on the tiled bathroom floor it did get onto the floor but which we presumed it would be washed off by the cleaners the manager rudly told us we damaged the room left stains everywhere and to add insult to injury he implied i soiled myself in the bed because of brown stains from the tan in front of the whole reception i was mortified. when i asked for an itemised bill on the damage caused i was told i would be removed from the hotel as the manager wanted to get on with more important work as he put it. am disgusted how a hotel manager woul treat a customer. OH one more thing went for breakfast at 7.00 but it didnt start until 8 was asked rudley in breakfast area what i wanted return to my room they didnt start until 8. Horrific i have stayed in so many hotels and never been treated like this.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallyhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing