We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dublin Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Dublin Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

A lovely hotel in a great location.We have stayed on many occasions and always enjoyed the ambiance and the professionalism of the staff. It is a modern hotel yet retains a lovely warmth and character.The service is first class and the rooms are lovely to relax in. The food is first class with varied menus and after eating in many of the local hostelries over the years we now prefer to eat in house.Free parking available underground as part of package
Very accessible to Dublin City Centre and the many attractions of south Dublin. Dart Train service only a seven minute walk away.Looking forward to returning in the summer

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones that look out over Herbert Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    503
    178
    65
    68
See reviews for
247
451
63
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gALWAY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is in a great location-lovely area and only 8-10 euro in a taxi to Stephens Green. The fabulous Friday package is amazing value and a real treat for a Friday in Dublin. I travel to Dublin alot at weekends and having stayed in many hotels and apartments over the last few years I would now only choose the Herbert Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEE9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have just had a lovely lunch with my sister and Mum in the lobby of the Herbert Park Hotel. It was a treat for my sister's birthday as we know it is more expensive than other eating establishments in the area but the food is good and the atmosphere is nice and relaxed.

As usual, the food was tasty and the service was very good too. However, when we received the bill, the pot of tea for 3 people (i.e. a pot of hot water containing 3 tea bags) cost us €14.10 (i.e. €4.70 PER CUP accounting for one third of the total bill)!!!!!!!!! If it was a cafe on the Champs Elysees I would expect to perhaps pay this price but not in the lobby of a hotel in the middle of Ballsbridge.

As I said above, we knew it would be more expensive to eat there than other places but we didn't expect it to be that much more expensive. It is an absolute disgrace. Who did the costing? How can a cup of tea be priced as half of the price of a sandwich? It doesn't make sense when you take into account the ingredients in both. Even by charging €2 or even €2.50 for a cup of tea, there is still a decent profit so why upset your customers by charging €4.70?

I am aware of the phrase "Caveat Emptor" so it was our responsibility to check the price of the tea before we ordered it but I just want to make other buyers beware before they make the same mistake as us.

We are still going through tough times in Ireland so everyone is more careful about what they spend their precious money on. When people do make a decision to actually go out and treat themselves by going out for lunch in the middle of their working day, don't spoil the treat by charging exorbitant prices for tea!

It left a very sour taste in our mouths and unfortunately we will not be going again and I would urge others to do the same until the price of a cup of tea is reduced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
24 Thank ramull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I often travel to Dublin on business/pleasure and regularly stay at the Herbert Park.
We have never been disappointed with any stay there and often avail of the Indulgence Package which is great value. The staff are helpful and courteous and every room we have ever stayed in has been spacious, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. The view looking out on the Herbert Park from the bedrooms and restaurant is beautiful and would hardly make you believe that you are staying in a City Hotel. Breakfast is well worth having, we both have travelled widely, but the breakfast we most enjoy is always in the Herbert Park.
Staff on reception are particularly welcoming, friendly and helpful. On our last visit just before Christmas 2013, I mentioned when I was booking that my wife's birthday was approaching and we were upgraded to a beautiful luxury room. While it is only a short walk to many local restaurants and wine bars, the food in the restaurant and foyer is excellent and great value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great Hotel with friendly staff.

The Hotel is located in a very nice area not for from the city center. There are some nice pubs and restaurants just around the corner. Furthermore the hotel offers very nice foor for a decent price!

The rooms are good and clean!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeshan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for an event at the RDS. This is just a couple of minutes walk from the RDS so very convenient. Also close to Aviva Stadium. The hotel is on the edge of a beautiful park. Our room on the fourth floor was south facing. It was quite big with a large king sized bed. There were 2 comfortable armchairs which were great for reading. Good lighting.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile_Ddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great value booked for two nights to attend the rugby back at the end of Dec, breakfast was top notch with plenty of choice . Great location with only a 30 min walk up to st Stephens green and Grafton street . Can't wait to return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajs1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing