We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby Disappointing - Hotel Winning!”
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Herbert Park for the Rabo Direct Rugby Final which Ulster - our team - lost.
The hotel is directly next to the RDS where the game was played and it was a great location to be.
The atmosphere was excellent before and after the game and all supporters welcomed in a friendly manner.
Rooms are well fitted out and have the usual amenities expected of such an hotel. My wife described the breakfast buffet as the best she had seen for years - especially the outstanding fresh fruit which is often an Achilles Heel of Irish breakfast buffets. Only criticism is the parking fee for residents.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
There are newer reviews for Herbert Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was in one of their exec suites 2 weeks ago - excellent size ,comfy mattress and pillows, well stocked mini bar and excellent room service. Stayed here because others closer to work were booked out. Great location. Great service. Reasonable rates.What more can you ask for ?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were at rugby final and kind of arrived at this hotel afterwards as it was nearby. We stayed for our tea. Service was excellent. staff are v efficient and friendly. Food was very nice. Good sized portions with prices probably in line with dublin prices. Salmon with potatoes and veg was 16.50 euro. Panini was 10 euros. We enjoyed our meal. I would go back again for food here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking for somewhere nice for a birthday lunch Had a lovely celebration at the Herbert Park Hotel which was recommended by our brother who had been there before Great for a crowd. Lovely buffet with great variety Staff were so helpful and nice. We had a table with a view overlooking Herbert Park which was a bonus It was a really enjoyable relaxing afternoon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieellenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Positives: nice looking building from out side an on ground floor. Staff very pleasant. Delicious food from room service and breakfast.

Negatives: rooms are standard decor is old, been in better 3 and 2*. No complementary tea or coffee you have to pay for it €4.20 per person for a pot. Food and drinks are well over priced and so is the mini bar in ur room you can get the same quality in a cheaper hotel near by. Wifi is €10 for 24hours but only one person can use the log in so we had to pay twice for my self and hubby to use net at the same time. You have to pay to park your car in the car park.

Would not pay to stay here again when I can get the same if not better for cheaper, would rate the building and ground floor as 4* but rooms are more like a 2* .

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a joke that in this day and age a four star hotel charges for wifi. Complete and utter joke- especially since this hotel was used extensively during Ireland's Presidency of the EU. Management need to review this policy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerbertPark_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear sarahDamien,
Thank you for taking the time to review Herbert Park Hotel. We are disappointed that you did not avail of one of our packages which includes Wifi. In an effort to keep our rates as good value as possible, guests are only charged Wifi if used as we do not feel that is is fair to charge all guests whether they use Wifi or not. Our packages allow guests to avail of Wifi which is included in their rate. Perhaps next time you will avail of one of these packages.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had occasion to stay in this hotel for 3 nights from May 7th to May 10th. While the staff were super and professional I cannot believe that the Hotel were charging €10 per day for Wifi access. This to me is the most basic of facilities. I could have charged this facility to my Company but on principle I decided not to avail of Wifi. Also there were not any tea making facilities in the room. Tea could be ordered through room service at a cost. I am on business in Dublin again from May 13th for 4 nights but I have moved to a Hotel that meets my needs including free Wifi and tea making facilities. Just thought people should know that this hotel charges for what many would consider basic facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller30111954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,555 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $152 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing