We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice People, Good location BUT I feel ripped off”
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice People, Good location BUT I feel ripped off”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stay in many hotels across the UK and am about to sign contracts to do business in Ireland. In all the hotels I've stayed in I have never not had tea and coffee making facilities. Instead this hotel charges 3.50 euros to deliver them. Also the WIFI was 10 euros. No Iron or ironing board. The hotel is missing the point on client experience. I paid a premium price of £97 not including breakfast, to stay here because of the location. I could have stayed at Bewleys for £57. If you are paying a premium price you expect a premium experience and I didn't get it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshiretrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    632
    204
    71
    72
See reviews for
336
608
89
760
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed two nights in this hotel end of January, hotel still ok but management should be careful because hotel is somewhat deteriorating looking at the furniture in the room and stains on carpet.
I stay here every year for a conference, breakfast buffet still ok. Had to pay 14 euros for an adopter which could not be borrowed.
Bed is a bit hard but sleeping quality incl pillows ok.

Room Tip: do not take the small rooms for one person; even difficult to find a place for your luggage. Happene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinLiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

THe Herbert Park Hotel is well situated close to the convention center and a short distance from downtown. The service is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and well maintained.
There may be some room for improvement at the restaurant, mainly for breakfast as to quality of food and selection.
the hotel offers wifi at a daily charge and to be able to use several devices becomes cumbersome - each one requires a id and password and daily log in.
Other then that I can only recommend the place.

Room Tip: try to secure a room with a view of the park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned, bulky tv in room.
Noise from some sort of fan outside bedroom window, which was disappointing as I had asked for a quiet room.
Cost of parking car extra ten euro.
Not overly friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! So private, no interference, amazing food! Rooms are so clean as is the hotel. Love love love it!
Downside: residents pay for parking!!!??!!! And also pay for the wifi?!
However positives outweigh negatives here although the parking thing is a turnoff!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerbertPark_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear AnastasiaCath,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time please check our packages online which include parking and offer great value.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

returned with my husband at beginning of December
had a lovely relaxing break as usual with the prosecco special offer.
room lovely over looking the front of the hotel, yet very quiet.
used to stay alot but have not been for a while.
my one gripe is that i used to adore the breakfast, but the quality has slipped a bit.
STREAKY RASHERS!
please bring back the really good quality bacon you used to have.
love the late check out with the special offer.
good atmosphere when a match on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSFATTYBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerbertPark_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear MRSFATTYB,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Overnight Indulgence Package. Sorry that you are not a fan of our new steaky bacon rashers on the Breakfast Buffet. We have sourced these flavoursome rashers from F.X.Buckleys (one of the best Irish meat suppliers in Dublin) and they are a premium cut of bacon. We take great pride is offering a quality breakfast and we continually review and improve the ingredients and the content of the buffet.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We only want to let potential families know the extra costs that in our opinion is greedy and takes advantage of families with young children. We tried to book our family in for one night and the cost was € 219 which was a double room and an adjoining room with twin Beds. In fairness this price also included breakfast for two adults and 3 children 10,7,4. The Herbert Park is a fine hotel and it would be wrong of us to make any comment about anything else other than our booking experience as we didn't end up staying there. The issue we had is for anyone reading this review to decide for themselves if this is right or wrong. We asked for an extra pull up bed for our 4 year old son and we were told that there would be an extra charge of € 40. We felt that this was very unfair and showed a complete lack of understanding what it is like for a young family to go away to Dublin and stay over. Maybe as parents this might be over sensitive but surely the hotel that was not fully booked should have been happy with € 219 and just give us the bed for the sake of 10 mins making it up and some extra linen . We have stayed in the hotel before without our children and have always had an excellent service and we would still be happy to recommend it to people but this time round we are just disappointed more than anything else.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerbertPark_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Gerard C,
Sorry that you felt we were not being fair to you and your family. The package of €219 per night includes 2 rooms interconnecting to accommodate 2 adults & 2 children, full Irish breakfast for 4, Pizza and movie for the children, park trail & prize for each child & parking. The extra €40 covers the additional bed (furniture has to be moved to accommodate the extra bed), breakfast, pizza and additional prize for the child. Cots are provided free of charge. I hope this explains our pricing policy.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing