We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herbert Park Hotel
Ranked #22 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed at the Herbert Park hotel in Ballsbridge for 1 night in March 08.It's a 4 star hotel and was E150 for a twin room for the night. We had expected a high standard but were disappointed. Staff were unfriendly and very superior in their attitude.Rooms were quite small , bar food was very expensive and the breakfast was dreadful.We're not picky eaters but the bacon and sausages were cold and the scrambled eggs were raw. Imagine our shock to be charged E22.50 for each breakfast ! We tried to argue the point but the receptionist was most impatient and rude, throwing hers eyes to heaven .Parking is also E10 extra which we were aware of but there was an extra charge for the newspaper.Overall, a most unpleasant experience.

  • Liked — The hotel is on the grounds of Herbert Park which is lovely for a walk
  • Disliked — The rude attitude of the staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lavender007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    528
    182
    65
    68
See reviews for
260
484
68
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

My Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in an executive room.
First impressions are good with a modern lobby and a good atmosphere.

The room was a bit disappointing for an executive upgrade, the big selling points of which were a box of chocolates (a small box with two chocolates) and a Jacuzzi Bath, (which pumped out dirt into the water when turned on).

The room service dinner was very nice and efficient, but I can’t say the same for the breakfast. Everything in the cooked breakfast was horrible. The scrambled eggs were cold mush; the sausages were barely cooked and stuck to the bottom of the dish with grease. When we asked for fresh sausages, they also came out cold and undercooked. We hoped our evening meal, which was in the package, would be better. We were wrong!

We had good starters but the main meals were terrible, including a tarragon mouse stuffing that we could have played tennis with. The point being that the food in this hotel is very hit and miss.

All in all the hotel is ok as long as you eat somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

The first time that I had experience of staff in this hotel was when I had to cancel one of the three nights that I had planned to stay.
The Reservations Manageress was one of the most abrubt people that I have ever encountered in the Tourism business, a business that I have many years experience of.
The Hotel itself had no atmosphere,poor front of house management, mediocre service ,staff seemed to be too frightened to be friendly.
The only saving grace was the breakfast and even that at €21 a throw was over priced.
If you want to pamper yourself in a 4* Hotel in Dublin there is much better value available at less cost.
Its selling point seems to be its proximity to the RDS and boy do the Management seem to be smug about this.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank LimerickmanShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

Stayed many times in Dublin City Centre hotels but first time at Herbert Park. Very handy for RDS event and wanted 4 star accomodation to return to. Hotel clean and modern with standard 4 star rooms, However found the room we had at back of hotel (odd numbers) to be very noisy due to generator/air conditioning plant's constant loud drone. I started to imagine the bed was reverberating such was its loudness! It would seem that the double glazing is of poor quality. I was told there had been no complaints before and that I must therefore be mistaken!

Hotel is fine if you had a quiet room at front, Don't book unless you are guaranteed an even numbered room on the other side of the hotel.

  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieMcCBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel was booked for us through my husband's company. We arrived on the morning of November 22 and left November 25th. We had previously been in London so right away we start to compare. I would have to say our accomodations in London were excellent and the stay at Herbert Park was good. As far as the hotel goes, the check in went very smoothly considering there were several groups of us. It would have been nice if the person checking us in had told us that breakfast was included. We found that out as we were checking out on our last morning there. Even after we even ate in the bar/lobby area!! I also would have thought that the desk clerk would have told us how the light system worked. You had to place your room key in a slot in order to get the lights to come on. I have never seen this before. It took us awhile but we finally figured it out.


There are places to walk to if you want to grab a bite to eat or go to the bank to exchange some money. Seems like the hotel wasn't able to convert American Express Cheques. We didn't travel with them but I guess other's did.

The first night we were there the electric went off about 6am and stayed off until around 10am. Not only were you not able to have electric the water was also off. I think this was a big disappointment even though it was not the fault of the hotel. It delayed us for our city tour that day but like I said it was no fault of the hotel and they handed out bottled water and did whatever they could to accomodate.

The room "323" was clean but the heater was not working properly. We had called to get someone to help us with it. They sent housekeeping to check on it. She got on a chair and put her hand and could feel that there was no heat coming out of the vent and said she would get someone up to correct it. She mentioned that ever since the power failure that morning, a few of the heating units were not working properly. However this was never fixed, so I was always cold.

We had to call for ICE all the time as there are no ice making machines like in the States. They would bring us a little pitcher of ice. It would barely last us. I am thinking that the people in Ireland and England do not use ICE much as we had this same issue in London.

I also had a robe in the hotel in London and didn't have one in the hotel in Dublin. It really isn't fair for me to compare the hotels because I had control over where we stayed in London and no control where we stayed in Dublin. The room size was good. The bathroom was OKAY... nothing spectaular.

Everytime we were in a cab we would ask the cab driver what he thought of the Herbert Park Hotel and the anwers were always positive, and good.. four star quality. My husband and I were thinking just a cut below 4 Star Quality, but if we needed to come to Dublin again and we were booked at the Herbert Park Hotel we would come again.

  • Liked — The rooms were very clean.
  • Disliked — Lack of responsiveness when heater wasn't working. No follow-up.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel - some of the rudest staff I have ever come across. Don't waste your money here... you'd get better treatment at any other hotel in Dublin and it would cost you half the price. Will NEVER go back.

  • Liked — Not much... the whole experience was soured by the staff
  • Disliked — The hotel staff and their terrible manners
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim, N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

We have just arrived home after a lovely weekend in the Herbert Park Hotel in Dublin. After reading some of the other reviews before we left, we were really not knowing what to expect and tried to keep our expectations quite low. I must say we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the rooms, bed-linen, bathroom all spotless and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Breakfast was lovely and the whole stay was very relaxing. Once we worked out the direction to walk in for the City Centre, we walked out and in - took about half an hour strolling but a very pleasant walk. All in all we had a lovely stay and we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to stay there again sometime - hopefully!

  • Liked — IT WAS QUIET
  • Disliked — A BIT OF A WALK TO THE CITY CENTRE BUT THAT WAS PROBABLY WHY IT WAS QUIET!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovedayCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Property: Herbert Park Hotel
Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing