We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grafton Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$377
$263
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$380
$349
Westbury Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$213
$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
41
109
54
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
109
54
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskelly's hotelgreat locationroom's windowtemple barcomplimentary tea coffeecomplimentary ear plugsrooms are smallbasic amenitiescheck in was easycontinental breakfastwithin walking distancestay there againfacing the streetgrafton streetbars and restaurantsthe heart of the cityloft
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 254 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Stayed at the Grafton Guesthouse in Dublin in June, 2006. Location is absolutely wonderful. Just a short walk to almost anything in Dublin. Price (100 euros for 2, including a full Irish breakfast) was right too, especially considering the rates at other hotels. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We reserved directly with the hotel via the internet and didn't pay until we checked out.

There is a bus from the airport that drops you just a few feet from the hotel door (exact change of 1.80 euros needed or you can purchase your tickets at the Tourist Office at Dublin airport).

The rooms are small but the bathrooms were of a nice size. You do need to be able to drag your own luggage up anywhere from 1 to 3 flights of stairs.

6  Thank adventurer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

This is not the best guesthouse I have ever stayed in but for location and price in Dyblin, I thought it was good.
The room we had was at the back so there was no noise (we were out late most nights anyway)
We had breakfast once and it was ok but not the best.
The beds are very comfy with nice feather quilts and pillows. The bathroom was clean but could do with a makeover.
I would stay here again on my next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

The postives of this hotel start with the location - really within walking distance of all the main tourist sites in Dublin. Also not far from a bus stop for the airport bus (although finding it in Dublin's winding streets is another matter.) For this location the price is quite low (of course it goes up on the busiest times.) Rooms are clean, bathroom was adequate.

Negatives: Rooms are very small. I had a single, as did my friend, and they are just that. Single bed, small armoir, small desk, small TV mounted on the wall. You will be climbing stairs - rooms are on floors 2-4 from the street, and there is no elevator. I was facing Grafton St. and it is noisy on Friday and Sat nights. I live in a big city, so I didn't find it a problem, but clearly others have. If it's an issue for you get a room facing the back.

Breakfast was OK - standard eggs, toast, bacon (not like American bacon), juice, cold cereal. Hardly special, but a decent way to start the day. Plenty of places around to eat, and a supermarket next door.

So if you are looking for a place to put your stuff and sleep in a central location, this can work. If you expect some degree of luxury or royal treatment look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ral338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This place sounds like a good idea BUT we stayed there over St Patrick's weekend and feel strongly enough to warn other intending guests! If you're looking for sleep, comfort, value for money, or a welcome don't stay here!

Clearly this place was developed with a limited budget and most of that went on cheap decor tricks straight out of Habitat. Unfortunately it is an old building and there is no escaping that fact either on the narrow, rickety, draughty stairs or in the bedrooms facing the street (which more than half of them are). The windows are old and not double glazed and George's St is one of the busiest nightlife streets in Dublin - don't expect to sleep. It gets worse however because this 'establishment' has the loudest most iriitating doorbell in the world which can be heard all over the building - great, when finally the street goes quiet at dawn the doorbell takes over!!!!!

To add insult to injury it is also a rip off. €80 a night is good value during the week but for no good reason that increases to €100 at weekends and a whopping €120 on 'holiday' weekends like St Patrick's for no good reason - you don't get anything extra apart from a vague sense that perhpas you should feel grateful that they took you in off the streets at all!!!! How's this for mean? On the first evening we found two bottles of still water in the room but once they were gone that was it - no more water on the subsequent two evenings of our stay....

Finally the welcome - I don't know about you but breakfast served to the strains of a radio blaring in the kitchen which gets louder every time the door opens isn't my idea of relaxation...... you have been warned.

7  Thank MMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2006

We stayed at the Grafton for 2 nights this month, the location is fantastic central to everything. 2 minutes walk from Temple Bar, Trinity College and Grafton Street.
The rooms are clean and basic, although the bathrooms could do with updating, however they are clean.
The breakfast is great, sets you up for the day and the staff are polite.
Overall for the amount of time you spend in your room whilst in Dublin this offers great value for money.
Try Yamamori Noodle across the road fantastic, but book.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bear2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews