We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirm your booking before you get there!”
Review of Grafton Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Guesthouse
Ranked #56 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Four of us went to Dublin from England over bank hol weekend. We arrived on Friday night and went to the sister hotel 'Kelly's' to check in. Were told that The Grafton was overbooked! So we were put up in the penthouse suite at Kellys hotel for our stay. The penthouse was great full of expensive gadgets and very trendy apartment style room. Went out on Saturday and on our return to our horror the staff had moved our things out of the penthouse suite and told us our room at the grafton was now ready and that someone else was staying in the penthouse! We went to the Grafton which was tired and run down, in need of some TLC but beds were clean at least. We were refunded for one night for our troubles. Kellys is much nicer and trendier than Grafton. However Kellys is very noisy until early hours due to being above a pub! Oh by the way, I had even telephoned the night before our stay to confirm our booking!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbows213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

The Good: The location is very convenient--walking distance to everything you might want to see or do in Central Dublin. The building is beautiful from the outside--a true Georgian gem.

The Bad: There is no one on premise--no reception, no housekeeping nothing. The property is managed by the folks in the Kelly Hotel across the street and, if earlier reviews are to be believed, they have ignored the upkeep in this property. If you have a concern (our safe key was missing) they are not interested in resolving it.

The Ugly: Although I requested a quiet room, ours faced Great George's Street which was very busy until 3 AM on Friday night. Loud traffic, emergency sirens, car alarms and many, many loud drunks.

Room Tip: Get one elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dhappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Grafton Guesthouse has no front desk. When we arrived there was no one to greet us and I looked at my confirmation and was reminded we had to go to another guesthouse down the street to check in. Didn't think that was a big deal when we made the reservation, but it really does matter. There's literally NO one on the premises that works there. No service provided other than a room and a breakfast (again down the street).

Room felt like something out of Austin Powers. large yellow and orange 60s style motif with cheap furnishings.... locks on doors are difficult to open so when we weren't struggling to unlock our own door, we had to listen to other guests struggling to open their door. The walls are super thin!!! You hear everything your neighbor is doing... everything, even watching TV at 4 AM. Plus, if you are not on the top floor, you get to listen to the squeaking and creaking floors of guests above you tromping around in the wee hours. (Remember this is Ireland, and guests are in pubs until late.... so plan to stay out later than other guests unless you want to be kept awake by their comings and goings). Negative side to being on top floor, though, is no lift. So pack light!

Although we chose Grafton Guesthouse because we were splurging in other cities during our Ireland vacation and we wanted a more affordable place in the heart of Dublin for site seeing, I'm positive that we could have met those goals and made a MUCH better choice with more research.

The only positive is the great location.

Room Tip: Even rooms in back are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2LGtravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My email confirmation stated a quiet room on the second floor with wifi. Upon arrival I was placed on the third floor facing the main street with no wifi. Shower was cold, hair dryer worked off and on in 30 second intervals, shower door broken. Was placed in another room the next night at the Kelly Hotel. Can we say stark, but there was wifi. My last nights were in another room back at the Grafton on first floor facing the back of the building. Room was so small. Could not walk around the bed, door to the bathroom could not be opened all the way as it hit the sink and you could hear everything. People walking up the stairs, doors opening, slamming shut, being locked, voices. No elevator so remember in Europe their first floor is our (USA) second floor so....my room on the third floor was really like our fourth floor. Think about that when you are carrying up your luggage after a long flight. A tour company left a message for me at the front desk regarding a tour cancellation for the next day. I never received the message from the front desk until 11 pm that night, waking me up. If I'd gotten the message earlier, I could have made alternate plans. I will say the ONLY positive about this place is its' location. Period.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Cozy, cheerful room, nice roomy shower, nice decor. Also great breakfast with yummy fruit salad (among other things). Helpful reception too once I managed to figure out how to call them from the hotel. Also great location, loads of stuff to walk to. My room's window faced the air shaft, which may not be scenic but was extremely quiet, so I got the best sleep of my trip here. Also free wireless!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAddict5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

After an exhausting plane ride, my mother and i arrived at the grafton guesthouse by walking and getting slightly lost and irritated. The small sign and having to go to the hotel next door probably only irked us due to sleep deprevation. The room we were situated in had lovely wallpaper and a great bed. The shower and bathroom was spotless, and the location was perfect: just off of the main areas as not to feel insecure. While not getting a good nights' sleep due to the time change and the fact that it was Friday night, the breakfast in the morning made up for all of that. Included with your stay is cold breakfast at "le Guelton". do not miss it! You can order hot breakfast for a price, and it is well worth your while. The option of a half-irish is welcome for us females, and was prepared beautifully. The proprietor of the restaurant was very helpful, and drew a walking tour right onto our map that allowed us to take in sights and see parts of dublin you don't see through the bus tours.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenonZyyzzkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at Grafton guesthouse for one night, last friday. The room was very nice, especially the bathroom which was new, with a big shower!
There is no elevator, but i was located on the first floor, so it wasn't a big issue.
The reception is located at Kelly's hotel, which is about 20 mt from grafton.
The breakfast is great! It's server in a restaurant nearby.
The staff is really nice.
The only problem, they say it when you book, is the noise, because it's located on a big street, and just around the corner there is a pub, which, by the way, is really nice. I didn't hear a kit of noise but at the check out other guests erre complaining.
The price is right, 84€ per room in the weekend, if you consider the location, just 10 miniera from temple bar.
If I will come back to dublin I would book here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena88milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
#94 of 150 in Dublin
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercantile Hotel
Mercantile Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Citi Hotel
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 150 in Dublin
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Guesthouse

Address: Apartment 6 Grafton 31/33 Merrion Road 26-27 S. Great George's St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $130 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Guesthouse is a quaintly styled accommodation in the heart of Dublin City Centre. Dublin City's unique nightlife, shopping, theatre's, concert venues & historic places of interest are within easy walking distance. The hotel has 15 rooms, which: 3 are Single... 8 Are Double... 2 Are Twin... 1 Is Triple... 1 Is the Penthouse Apartment, which can fit 4 people in... All rooms feature an en-suite bathroom, TV, and WiFi. Continental breakfast is served in the nearby, award winning L'Gueuleton Restaurant. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Grafton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing