We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay....had the family...”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2010

A great place to stay....had the family with me,including a 4 year old....great walk into town....had some reservations about it's location but was pleased to see that donnybrook is one of the nicest parts of town....beautiful park right around the corner near the American embassy....the front desk managers were so accomodating with info and suggestions......rooms are fantastic!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheUKGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 925 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

I stay here at least once a month on Business, Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms, staff very friendly and welcoming. The Rooms and ensuites are really modern bright and comfortable. The Reception staff are all excellent. The breakfast is very good here always.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFORDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We booked this hotel through late rooms as we were going to watch Rhianna in the o2 arena in dublin.

It was our first time to dublin and it was the best weekend ever! The hotel staff were amazing, very helpful and couldnt do enough for us.

Great location, only a 20 minute walk to the city or a short hop on the regular bus service into town. We will def book there again when we book our next gig.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujues1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We booked two days at the hotel and when we checked in and saw the room after being totally indoctronated to Dublin by the desk clerk, we opted for two more days. The room is Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons quality. The staff is most considerate, and the location is a few steps from all the bus service anyone would want. Please don't discount this hotel because it is not in the center of town; you are only less than ten minutes away by bus that comes every ten minutes. My only complaint; they could use a few more coat hangers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband, both sets of our parents and I just got back from a wonderful tour of Ireland and what a great start we had staying for 2 nights at the Hampton. As other reviewers have noted, a highlight even more than the beautiful and uniquely designed hotel, is the exceptional front desk service. Gudrun and the other lady (sorry I didn't catch her name) went above and beyond to help us with all of our plans both within Dublin and on our way out. It's not so common these days to have such genuinely nice and resourceful people looking after you!
The facilites were very clean and charming with all the usual amenities. It is a little south of the city center, but there was no problem catching the bus or a taxi for a short ride into town.
We would all highly recommend the Hampton to anyone going to Dublin!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThistleWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

When we pulled up to the Hampton Hotel was a full parking lot because of a conference that was being held in the hotel. In ANY Hotel in America you would be out of luck sorry, but NOT here at the Hampton Hotel, Bruno the hotel manager came out and moved his car to give us a spot. What an AMAZING first impression. The front desk help was OUT OF THIS WORLD. They told us great places to go and were so friendly with booking tours for us and getting us exactly where we needed to go in Dublin. The restaurant suggestion was amazing. We had a minor inconvenience with the plumbing when we first arrived to the hotel and by the time we were back from sightseeing Bruno the manager had already moved our belongings into the nicest suite in the hotel as an apology. The suite was beautiful, the floors were heated in the bathroom, the bathroom itself was larger then most hotel rooms in Europe and the bed was so comfortable. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you want to stay within 10 minutes away from the city center with an great staff!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We were in Dublin after having travelled to Galway and the South, so we a bit travel weary and tired when we got to the Hampton. Dublin is a tightly packed city, driving is crazy, and it was a really nice surprise that parking was free! Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the restaurat had great, very reasonably priced food, although the service was a tad slow. The lobby is a small, but very posh, and the elevator is a joke, but don't let it fool you, because once you get to your room you'll definitely be very pleased. Very modern, with a great bathroom, (including a SINGLE TAP-rather then seperate H/C- the first one I found in Ireland,) ridiculously large television, wall fireplace, comfortable bed, free WiFi- what more could yo ask for? Wished we'd stayed longer, maybe next time... If you are going to check out Dublin, do yourself a favor, and don't rent a car- public transit is great and very accessible, and traffic is insane. (Particularly if you are from the US or EU, and aren't used to driving on the other side.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's hampton hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 39 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing