We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #22 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Schwarmstedt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Everything was perfect,especially the staff at the reception and John Clarke, the manager, extremely helpful in any situation!
The hotel should get the allowance to open the windows, that is the only thing which is unfortunate, aircondition is no alternative and too noisy.
Location is perfect as the bus stop is two steps from the hotel, Herbert Park in walking distance.
The terrace and the fire place are very nice! Water complimentary in the room, internet free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Dorothee,

Thank you very much indeed for your custom and for taking time out of your busy day to leave a great review. I will certainly be following up on our windows in the coming weeks. Although a lot of guests prefer the air-conditioning in the rooms, I would agree that it would be great to be able to open the windows as well. As a listed building from the Georgian era, we are limited in what we can do, but we'll give the windows our best shot! Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    277
    49
    24
    16
See reviews for
67
467
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Very modern, decorated superbly, comfortable beds, huge bathrooms, A/C, fireplace, free parking.....I could go on and on. The service is also wonderfull with 100% focus on the customer. It will be our hotel of choice when in Dublin.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel though I expect that any room is good. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so grateful that you stayed with us at hampton hotel, and enjoyed it enough to take the time to submit a great review. It really does mean a lot to us when guests take time out of their busy days to do this. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and should you venture eastward from Boston again, please keep us in mind. Go Red Soxs!

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently spent four nights here and would go back anytime., clean, interesting, good value and on the bus line..great staff. ( hi to Ronny)easy to walk to several restaurants...big screen tv, nice bathrooms, comfy beds

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandyskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind review of your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and your vacation to Ireland. Please bear us in mind on your next visit to our shores.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Modern rooms with fancy gadgets! Especially enjoyed the heated floor in the bathroom, nothing worse than cold tiles when you go to the loo in the night! Was worried about the location but turned out to be ideal for us. Got the bus into the centre one night (hotel staff very helpful when youre trying to plan your travel) and walked in another day when the weather was nice. Airport bus runs every 15 mins and drops out right outside the hotel. Vanilla nightclub underneath the hotel is nothing to rave about if youre after a proper club but suited us for a little dance before bed! Couldnt hear noise from the club in our room but we were on the 4th floor. Nice food in the bistro.

Room Tip: Might be noisy at night on lower floors but cant hear the noise from the club on the 4th floor (dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the great review from your recent stay. It means a lot to us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We're looking at different ideas for our vanilla nightclub. I hope you'll give it another try on your next visit to Dublin. Thank you again for your custom and for the time you took in submitting a review.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Thursday until Sunday. The hotel is clean, the staff are helpful and the decor is 'quirky' which is great - who wants run of the mill?!?

Take the aircoach from the airport, bus no 700 takes you straight outside the hotel. €14 return, takes about a hour. You can buy tickets outside the terminal. We arrived at 10am on thurs morn, hotel took care of bags whilst we explored town and they were then put into our room.

The hotel is situated in donnybrook, a 5/10 min bus ride (traffic dependant) from town. You can take buses 39, 46A or 145. All regular, you never have to wait more than 5 mins. Bus stop right outside hotel. Taxi costs €12 from Guinness factory and Temple bar. Tip - if you want a taxi back from temple bar area walk across to the other side of the river. You save a few euros because the taxi doesnt have to go all the way round the one way system.

The breakfast was ok, full irish not as good as hoped - sausages cheap, bacon a bit fatty. Stick to alternatives; the eggs benedict was lovely.

The only complaints about the hotel are:

Bed needs a matress topper as the king size bed is 2 larger singles pushed together. You can feel the ridge down the centre and its not comfortable. Apart from the ridge, beds are soft and very comfortable

The nightclub. Hmm. We requested a top floor room at the back. Which is what we got (room 405). However the thud of the bass line could still be heard and it is quite loud. It seems like a strange business model to me - 'lets put a nightclub in the basement which will deter people from staying with us on our busiest night (Saturday)' Take earplugs or have a late night yourself! The club is open every Sat and possibly Friday if it has been booked for a private function.

Overall i'm glad we chose to stay at the Hampton, it was good value for money even after taking account of money spent on buses/taxis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I appreciate the time you took to point out the travel and stay tips to other customers. It is bound to be very useful to them.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We like staying in smaller boutique hotels instead of the larger chains...they usually have more character, and we must say, the Hampton Hotel has an interesting decor. Very clean, large rooms, and a very friendly, helpful staff. Overall an enjoyable stay. Our only issue was the bed...two twins put together so you have the ridge in the middle and one side was saggy...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GEMTEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. It is greatly appreciated. We're glad you liked our decor. You're right - it's not exactly run of the mill! We like to be different. Thank you for your comment regarding the bed. The thick mattress protector is supposed to minimise the change of noticing the gap between mattresses, but we'll have a look at this.

We hope you consider us again should you return to Dublin in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved this hotel and can't wait for a return visit. The location is perfect, in a gorgeous, upscale village outside the city center and very accessible by buses. It's great to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city noise. The rooms are very comfortable and attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a terrific stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit such a great review. We really appreciate it. I hope that we'll see you when you next visit Ireland.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing