We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Gorgeous hotel for our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and the room was the most comfortable of our stay in ireland after staying at bed and breakfasts. Felt like staying at a much higher end hotel, the spa like bath was a hige treat. Far walk to town center, but we knew that going in. Free parking was a remarkable plus

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTLee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as a part of your honeymoon. We honoured to have been included in your itinerary. Thank you very much for your kind review. I'll be sure to pass the positive comments to the team.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    280
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
70
472
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for several nights whilst on business.

I was pleasently surprised.

I loved the decor and the hotel looked fresh and well looked after.

Reception staff on checking in and out were really friendly and welcoming.

Bar/ restaurant staff friendly.

Good 2 nights sleep in comfortable large room.

Had dinner there and breakfasts twice and was very good.

Definifetly going to use this as my Dublin base and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. We're very grateful that you took the time, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here on a Monday night with a young baby. The service from staff was excellent. The decor throughout the hotel is fab. The room we had was lovely with all the things you would expect to have in a hotel of its rating. The tv was huge! The bathroom was also very spacious. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel. The negatives of this hotel would be that the bed seemed to be two beds pushed together and one of them was awfully noisy every time you moved so I would check the beds before settling in a room. The other main downside is that the hotel is not equipped to cater for a baby (or indeed a person in a wheelchair) with steps at every entrance and no baby changing facilities in the bar/restaurant/reception area. In saying this we managed fine and enjoyed our stay. It is a beautiful hotel in a lovely area of Dublin with only a 20 minute walk to the top of Grafton Street. I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Could be noisy at weekend as there is a nightclub so ask for room away from this noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Maria D,

I am very grateful that you took the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for the great feedback. We can certainly do something about the baby changing services. Hopefully we will have something in place should you visit us again. We will check our beds as well. They are all only a few years old, so they shouldn't be making noise, but I'm glad you brought it to my attention - we'll look into that today.

Thank you very much for your custom and for your review.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel, good value if you book early.

They were able to provide a cot bed and as the rooms do not have a fridge the bar downstairs were happy to keep milk in the fridge for my little one.

Only negative is the cook always over cooks eggs...poached or fried

Room Tip: maybe quieter if you request a room away from the main road and the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandChickinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear IslandChickinLondon,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It means a lot to us when people take time to share their experience. It's also very useful to get some feedback. I don't like overcooked eggs either - that's something we can fix! Thanks for letting us know. We take our breakfast seriously, especially in the sourcing of the produce. I'd hate to think we were doing the produce a dis-service. Again, I appreciate your review - I hope you keep us in mind on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here on a monday and tuesday night with my 14 yr old daughter. We really liked this hotel, especially the huge TV and we were able to watch dvds and listen to cds that we had bought on our shopping trip. This was invaluable when travelling with a teenager.

The room was a good size and the bathroom was huge with a nice big bath and great big towels.I wasn't a huge fan of the bed as it was a little hard but thats just personal taste.

Breakfast was nice and very well priced.

There was a delighted man at the reception who was just so friendly and helpful
.
The buses stop outside the hotel and seem to run nonstop. Just make sure that you have an endless supply of change for the buses as they dont give back change.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear busytime,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. I'll be sure to pass them to our team.

We're lucky to have a new, completely refurbished building and all our rooms are to the same standard as yours. I'm sorry you found the bed a little hard. They are good for the back, but some people prefer the softer mattress. If anyone mentions this, we can place one or two duvets over the mattress itself and this creates a very soft cushioning effect, for those who prefer this.

I'm very grateful that you took the time to submit this review. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Some poor reviews on here but not sure why. Our room was lovely (bar the view - just a car park), the food served at the restaurant was good value and very tasty and the city was just a 1 road, 20min walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, General Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tim B,

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm happy that we exceeded your expectations and that the hotel was a good base for you to explore the city. I see you made the best of your time in Dublin and saw many of our top attractions.

I hope you consider us again next time you visit Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The service was good and friendly. I suggest you verify your bill if eating in the restaurant. We were double charged for an item included in the meal as a separate item. The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. My biggest complaint was that on the Friday night, after a tiring day of walking, we returned to a "huge" party in the front of the hotel... guess where our room was facing ... the front of the hotel. There is a disco downstairs, the weather was unusually warm while we were in Ireland. The partiers stayed outside until 3:30 a.m. I barely slept. I had called at 11:00 p.m. and they told me that the customers would be going inside the disco...they did not. The next day of sightseeing was a bit rough on not enough sleep. That is my only complaint. It was otherwise, a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: If you go on a Friday, ask for a room facing the BACK of the hotel so that you can be sure to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpsONEILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonhotel, Manager at Hampton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear mpsONeill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Ireland.

My sincerest apologies for the noise on Friday night. Normally, our club would only be open on Saturday night but the club was booked for a corporate event. They would usually be inside but you're right, the unusually warm weather meant that many of them stayed outside on the Terrace. Luckily, or unluckily, depending on the perspective, this would be a rare enough occurrence (both the Friday party and the heatwave) - our rooms in the back are well isolated from any street noise - they must not have been available when you checked in with us. It can be a fine line for city hotels - having a great atmosphere on the one hand - and providing a quiet stay on the other. It is a balance that we will strive to improve upon.

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

John Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing