We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as expected - really!”
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as expected - really!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We thought this was a really nice and cool looking hotel. Just two things: the flat tv screen is huge, but the channels not very well adjusted. And be aware of the distance to the city center, takes about 20 minutes to walk. (buses to the center and to airport right outside the hotel though)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    285
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
72
477
47
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to Ireland. We had a 'Hampton' special room and it was fabulous. Really large bathroom, room was amazing...loved the decor! Definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we stayed 2 nights. the first 2 floors up from the nightclub. it was unbelievably loud: every bass and DJ comment we heared. only after he said "that's it" at 3.00 we did get some sleep.
we complaints but heard that they never got complaints. Positive was that we got a refund and another room at the other end which was ok (only faint noises from the nightclub). so if you want to stay, do not plan to go to bed before 3 or get a roo at the back (nightclub guests in front of the hotel) and as far away as possible from the night club.

Room Tip: do not go, better not to risk to get a room too close to the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here recently with some friends while visiting Dublin for a concert. The hotel has recently had a makeover and describes itself as 'boutique', which is slightly misleading. The decor is quite gaudy and a little over the top but, if you can look beyond this, it's actually quite a good hotel. It's well located in Donnybrook - a plush neighbourhood in Dublin just a short cab/bus ride (or 15 min walk) to the City Centre.

Our (twin) room was enormous - more like a suite - with a huge plasma TV and remote control fireplace. While this wouldn't normally be to my taste, on a weekend away with friends, it more than did the job.

Staff were incredibly friendly and kindly served us up a fantastic club sandwich at 2.30am and were always on hand to order cabs and dispense advice.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Dublin (though perhaps not for a romantic weekend or a special occasion). It is in a great location if you are not bothered about being slap bang in the City Centre, is clean, has enormous rooms and has a lively bar and club attached. At the rate of just under €100 a night it also represents good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked a room here for a romantic night after a long time apart from my spouse - it did not disappoint! We called it the "Tim Burton" hotel, with its big, bold, modern pink, purple & black wall paper & decor, but it was fun & quirky, and the room was perfect! The breakfast was great (although don't buy it in advance - says it saves you money - not the case) the room clean, the bed comfy, the shower & tub both wonderful!
The location is also great - the airport bus drops off right in front, you're a few blocks to the lovely canal paths (great for running & strolling) and only a couple blocks more and you're right downtown!
All in all, exactly what we were looking for - and fun, too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malloyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Sounds like the lyrics from a song but the lyric is definitely colourful !! The decor is an acquired taste and certainly sets the mood. However, whatever your taste the Hampton does what it says on the tin. The rooms are roomy ! The bathroom is really nice and the bed certainly does not disappoint ! Dublin 4 is not bad either. Our short and sweet visit to Dublin was good but made even sweeter by our stay at the Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hampton for four days. Relatives live nearby and we needed someplace central while visiting. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and modern. It is an easy and quick bus ride to downtown Dublin and has some charming restaurants nearby. We had a light breakfast each day at the hotel. The prices in the restaurant were competitive. The food was okay but the service was spotty, one day we waited for 45 minutes for more coffee. Overall this is a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Property: Hampton Hotel
Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin D4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin's Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin's finest restaurants. With 26 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing