We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, comfortable rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #69 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, comfortable rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

-Spacious, comfortable rooms.
-Helpful and efficient staff
-Wide variety for breakfast
-Beautiful building at night with the fountains on
-Reasonable location out of the hustle and bustle of central Dublin but still within easy access of the centre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewildoneforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for giving us great feedback. There's not much more to say following such positive comments, except that we look forward to you next visit and welcoming you back.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    915
    478
    193
    108
See reviews for
564
645
110
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Bewleys is often considered and budget / ok for the family for a long week end break. This hotel is really good. We stayed with 2 kids and although we spentost of our time in the city the hotel and the room was very comfortable and we all had a great sleep and stay. The food is also good if somewhat traditional hotel fare. I was a concerned it could be a loud and "stag" hotel, it's not its superb for family and great value. Although a cab ride or nice walk from the city for me this is perfect , as a family you need to be near but also far enough away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased to hear that you had such a pleasurable stay with us. We do pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and also now offer a 'kids club' section in the restaurant every Sunday. I also agree with you regarding the location as it is nice to be slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but only a short bus ride to the leafy embassy district of Ballsbridge. Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on 11 July, we had 3 rooms and rooms where all allocated beside each other, our package was b&b and one evening meal. Our rooms were on 4th floor which has been recently reburbished. Rooms gorgeous, breakfast and dinner was excellent we had no faults. Bar food was also gorgeous. Staff all so friendly. Bus stop outside hotel very convenient. I was weary about going to hotel after reading reviews on here and so glad we didn't cancel. Family friendly hotel with huge bar are and lovely area to sit outside also. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately go back. Most hotels charge for car parking so i don't think 10 euro was too bad per day. Building work is going on in Hotel from 9 to 6 but this didn't affect us at all.

Room Tip: request room on refurbished floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirl01N_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. I appreciate your comments regarding the food and also the staff, as they are the key to a successful operation. It's always nice to hear that somebody will definitely return and I hope you don't wait too long.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The building is amazing and it is very well kept. The room was clean and quite spacious with a nice clean bathroom. You know you are not in the US because there is very little waste here. You get 1 set of towels and there is an extra sealed in a bag in a drawer if needed. They do not leave you toiletries. They provide a wash of some sort on the wall in the shower. The common areas are air conditioned. The bedrooms are not but usually it is not needed. It was in the 80s for a week but the window open was all we needed. My complaint was our room was in the smoking section and I forgot to ask prior to booking. My fault. Also, our room was over the outdoor cafe where everyone was smoking and the smoke smell came up into our room. Not too much of a problem because we were gone most of the day. Also, there was construction from 9 am to 6 pm.
The hotel is lovely but it is in a less busy part of town so it is a taxi or a bus ride into the more active town.

Room Tip: When you book, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you do not smoke. Rooms over the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am particularly pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness as it is something we are very proud of. I am sorry that you got a smoking room and I'm glad this did not cause any inconvenience. We are currently refurbishing all of our bedrooms (as you mentioned) and will make them all non-smoking during this process as the demand for smoking rooms has dropped dramatically over the past few years. I hope you will stay again on your next visit to Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Convenient for anybody going to events in the RDS or Lansdowne Road. Bewley's rooms are a moderate size and kept clean and tidy. Bewleys in in the heart of Dublin 4, with good bus access to the city centre and Dun Laoghaire.

Breakfast in Bewley's is in the O Connell Restaurant which is below the ground. We found that there was a very good variety of food available for breakfast and the quality was very good.

Bewleys is reasonably priced and the staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor and I appreciate your comments regarding the staff and food. It's always nice to hear from somebody who enjoyed their time with us and I hope you will return soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of July. Beautiful buliding and grounds. Underground parking and 5 mins from Sandymount Dart Station (local train service).
Reception was busy but quick and we were advised of buliding work ongoing between 9am and 6pm(not an issue for us,as we were up early and out but a sleep in would not have been possible).
Great access for disabled guests and secure access to the bedroom areas.
Spacious bar and restaurant areas and food served all day. Relaxing outdoor areas also.
We will definately be back.
Particularly good for The RDS and Aviva Stadium.

Room Tip: Im sure the redevlopment work wont go on forever but just ask!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It's always a joy to read such positive comments and we appreciate your time to do so. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the holiday and it's great to hear you that you will be back to us.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This a lovely hotel in a wonderful historic buiding. Really handy for the RDS or Aviva stadium. It is located in a good part of Dublin where you have the small village of Ballsbridge a short walk away which provides you with a great selection of restaurants and shops. There was a mix up with my booking but it was sorted out quickly. I don't know if Room 564 is classed as a suite and costs more but it is proabaly the most spectacular room in the building. It is located in the front tower of the hotel and covers three floors with wonderful views over Dublin from the sitting room on the top floor. It would not be classed as an accessible room due to the two flight of spiralling staircases. It certainly made up for the mix up in my booking. The hotel has free wifi and all the normal amenities including, of course, Bewley's tea and coffee in the rooms. It also has vending machines for snacks and forgotten essentials. I would suggest you try the wonderful restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleKim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
As you said the building is historic and was originally a girl's school dating back to the nineteenth century. Bedroom 564 is one of my favourites and has been renovated from one of the original rooms and occupies the iconic clock tower. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will do so again in the near future.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
2,277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Property: Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing