We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade show stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #69 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trade show stopover”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were kindly invited to the local exhibition hall (RDS) by Enterprise Ireland. This is the second time staying here. Busy hotel, helpful Staff, spacious clean comfortable enough room, good choice at breakfast if not the best ingredients used. Overall pleasant trip in a nice part of time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antontyrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    915
    478
    193
    108
See reviews for
564
645
110
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband myself and our 9yr old daughter stayed overnight on 9/01/2013 we were attending the bt young scientists in rds our son and his two friends also had a room they had a project in the bt young scientists we stayed here 2yrs ago and we were looking forward to coming back we weren't disappointed it was the same lovely staff spotless clean and child friendly would highly recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to coming back in August for the horse show.tristan in the bar the was serving our food was a lovely chap cheerful and chatty .

Room Tip: The higher up u are the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to give your feebback on Tripadvisor. We are always busy with The Young Scientist and have a lot of guests staying year on year like yourself. It is always great to hear from our regular customers and I will pass on your kind comments to Tristan. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff were helpful and the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Lots of buses stop just outside and go straight into town and is a 5 minute walk from the Dart. Found the breakfast to be brilliant. A bit of a queue for the hot food but well worth it. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishgalMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the breakfast. We are very proud of our breakfast buffet as with our 'Kitchen' policy we actively try to source seasonal and local produce on all our menus. Our breakfast is '100% Irish' with all items coming from Bord Bia certified Irish farms. Many thanks and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge from 23/112012-26/11/2012,we found this be an excellent hotel very near the city centre.The Airport bus stops outside the hotel so very handy. Just a few mins walk down the road and you can get the number 4 bus to the city centre.There is just one thing the staff in reception need more training ,a smile perhaps or maybe good morning Sir/Madam would not go amiss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge. I will certainly address your comments with the reception team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our third time at Bewleys, Ballsbridge and we stay there for the great location and one of the best breakfasts in Dublin bar none. We normally stay during winter or spring when we get a bit of time off from running our own business. The value is superb and the food is very good quality. However, this time the weather was very mild, and our room was so uncomfortably hot, we hardly got any sleep the last 2 nights. Our radiator was turned off & the windows are safety catched, so only open a few inches. The room was stifling, and by 4 o'clock this morning, I gave up. I went down to Reception at 7am to find out if our room was over the boiler house, or there was any reason for the unbearable heat, but the receptionists couldn't provide us with any reason, except that the rooms had no air conditioning. Really????? I have now returned home more tired than when I went. Come on Bewleys, you've got AC in all the public areas, how about sorting out the rooms?

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. Try to get on a higher floor, you might get more of a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenBIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that the room was too hot for you and hope this did not detract too much from your overall experience, since you did find many positives. This is very unusual as the rooms should not be affected by any boilers or other heat source, apart from the radiators inside. Let us know next time you plan to stay and we can certainly try to allocate you a higher room as you suggested, or maybe a room on the 6th floor with large balcony doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm giving it 5 rating because For €79 double room & breakfast, it is great value. Also Room/bathroom spotless except outside our window on 6th floor on little balcony covered in cigarette butts. Tea/coffee facilities in room, safe, iron/ironing board,tv. Comfortable bed with white linen. Toiletries minimum. Large radiator which you can control yourself. Breakfast self service usual Irish fare. Juices, cereals, fry, toast, tea/coffee. Parking €10 for 24 hours. Ideal hotel for overnight stay. Taxi to Grafton Street/st. Stephen's Green €11 which you can book from reception. Can't fault it for what we paid especially in this part of Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceSpringsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your kind review and rating, it is always nice to hear from a satisfied customer. We hope you will come back to us soon and have another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location for the Aviva Stadium & RDS but the hotel itself feels like a people factory. No staff friendliness at all. No luggage storage or conceirge service. Reception staff are there to check in/out & nothing else. The room was basic but quiet. Good selection for breakfast, cooked breakfast was good but there was no fresh fruit, only tinned. No staff friendliness there either. I forgot something in the room & when I contacted the hotel to get it returned I heard nothing from them. I wasn't even surprised & didn't bother trying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Whilst we are not always perfect we do pride ourselves on our customer service and I apologise if you felt we did not live up to these. I will certainly take your comments on board and if there is anything I can help you with please do contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
2,277 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Property: Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, formerly Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing