We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Location ideal for us, a 4 minute walk from the Temple Bar pub, so very close to everything but on the quieter end of the strip.
Staff were wonderful and couldn't be more accommodating.
Room ideal. Very comfy bed and huge bathroom. I recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sassigrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Handels Hotel Temple Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on Sunday 9th February. Great location just at the end of Temple Bar away from the hustle and bustle. Two minutes walk and your in the middle of it all. The room was lovely and quiet , we got a room at the back (109). The bathroom was bright and spacious with a long bath & great power shower. Choice of breakfast , cooked or continental . All in all a great place in a great location . We will return .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

On three consecutive Monday nights, I recently stayed in Dublin. I am taking an adult ed. class at Trinity College. I stayed at a different hotel each night and therefore can compare and contrast. The hotels in question were the George Fredrick Handel on Fishamble St, the Beresford in Store St and the Dublin City Inn on Talbot St. All three are well within walking distance of Trinity College. In my opinion, the George Fredrick Handel was far superior to the other two at similar cost. Incidentally, in or about its location the first performance of Handel's Messiah took place. It is close to the landmark Christchurch Cathedral. The other hotels mentioned have adequate facilities but are not of comparable standard. My room at the Dublin City Inn was small and, while centrally located, the vicinity can be 'rowdy' at night. My room at the Beresford rather reminded me of accommodation for apprentice nurses with which I was familiar in the 1970s and 80s.

Room Tip: In the three cases I paid in the region of 45 euro for a double room, not including breakfast. Look...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent Place and Close to everything in Downtown Dublin (Pubs, Food, etc) Stayed for 3 nights and can't complain about anything. 1000% Recommended is you travel with friends or Family, staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days Oct/Nov 2013. Room was ok size but bathroom was huge!! Nice and clean. Church Bells can be heard from hotel with windows open so take earplugs. Location is great for nightlife and temple bar but far enough to avoid the pub noise. The hotels restaurant Corks serves fabulous food I would highly recommend. I found all staff friendly and thought the reception, lounge and bar were identical to the photos on the website. I would recommend if u want a mid priced hotel with a good location and ur only in the room to sleep and get changed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A bit disappointed looks alot different online, renovated which is great but still needs work,
handle on window was broke which let in a cold breeze and more noise from the streets than you could already hear.cold tap wouldnt turn off.
Breakfast was such a let down as we had a long working day ahead. Scrambled egg wasnt cooked one half slice of toast each just wasnt up to hotel standard.
lights were not working upstairs in breakfast area and was also very cold breeze I assume was the air con. Had a real dreary feel no music no atmosphere.
Staff friendly but just not up to scratch its the small things that make a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a fantastic central hotel in Temple Bar. It was down the quite end. Our last stay was at the other end of Temple Bar, so we weren't as bothered by the loud revellers at night. Still, take your ear plugs, as the street cleaners can be noisy. The bells from Christchurch are peaceful, but I know they can annoy some people. The staff were overly accommodating, and they helped us out with discounted parking, and other discounted tickets for attractions around Dublin. We were not charged to keep our bags for a while upon checkout. The room was clean, warm and the bathroom was very clean. I would stay here again if I were in Dublin. We didn't take up the Breakfast service in the hotel, as it is in the same block as the Queen of Tarts, the best little cafe in Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiefaraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#49 of 150 in Dublin
916 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,299 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
The Morgan
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $139 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing