We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in Sept. 2013 and we weren't sure but by booking last minute, this was one of a few options. Well we were glad we did and were completely satisfied. The location is perfect. Next door to Christ Church and a short walk to every other major site in Dublin but far enough away to be a quiet sanctuary when needed. The staff was very nice and the breakfast each day was a tasty and filling start to the day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Owner at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review of the George Frederic Handel Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future and would appreciate if you could let your friends and family know about our Hotel.
We have just opened our new restaurant "Corks at the Handel" and would love some feedback on this if you ate there.
Thanks again for your comments. We appreciate the time you took to submit them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is very well placed at the end of Temple Bar, and in a very quiet area because of that. The staff at the reception was very nice and easy to talk to. And they were very helpful whatever we needed. The breakfast was to heavy, that is, it should be possible to chose between a cold breakfast and a hot one. Not as now we have to pay the same price even if we didn´t wish to have hot meal for breakfast. To have a choice between hot and cold food would I prefer. It was to hot in the room, even as it was September. I wonder how it will be in July. There was some fans placed in the room but now actually air condition. There was no safe-box in the room, but the room was nice except the refrigerator that was hot instead of cold. And made the temperature in the room to increase even more. During the week in the room the refrigerator was not exchanged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Owner at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review of the George Frederic Handel Hotel. We are in the process of changing the breakfast arrangements and have taken your comments regarding the hotel and cold options on board.
We had an extremely hot summer is Dublin which is not the norm so apologies that your room was too hot. We are looking into a conditioning system to ensure our guest are comfortable.
I was surprised to hear that your mini bar was not replenished and have requested an explanation from the hotel.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take all comments seriously as we strive to improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the George Frederic Handel for 3 nights in May 2013. The hotel is an unpretentious establishment located within walking distance from the Temple Bar area and Trinity College ( where the Book of Kells can be seen), and is just next door to the Christchurch cathedral. Despite the fact that it is close to the Temple Bar, it is far enough so that it is not noisy. The breakfast was superb...good Irish breakfast with all the trimmings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravelAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is located in a perfect spot - in the heart of Temple Bar, yet in a quite place. It's close to most of the places you'd usually visit in Dublin - both cultural, during a day time and night - Temple Bar area. The staff in the hotel was fantastic - very friendly and helpful - we've booked couple of tours with their help (around Ireland) and it turned out fantastic as well. Especially, would like to mention one of the guys there - Javier - he's been of a great help with all the possible questions we had, and big part of our pleasant and productive stay was definitely thanks to the information we've got from him - so, definitely special thanks!! :)
In overall, it's not a very modern hotel, but the rooms are quite big, with complimentary tea, coffee, cookies etc, comfortable beds, large bathroom... No AC's in rooms, but hey, it's Ireland, which would suggest a chilly and fresh weather in any case.
Bottom line is, would definitely recommend staying there to anyone who's looking to have a great time in Dublin!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Definitely a place to consider staying at. Staff very helpful and friendly, rooms comfortable and the breakfast decidedly delicious. Location is great too, easy walking to a variety of things of interest and places to eat also. Parking if you need it isn't too far away. Definitely ensure that if you are driving, you hire a sat/nav aid!! Pretty hairy driving around otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very friendly helpful check in staff and process. Comfortable, clean triple single bed room. Good nights sleep with minimal noise from inside or outside during the stay. Breakfast was very nice with lovely helpful wait staff. We took our elderly mother (80) back to Dublin to revisit her younger days and needed a place that was suitable for getting around. As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is very handy for Temple Bar restaurants and Christ Church cathedral. Also easy to walk to town centre, Dublin Castle, St Andrews (tour pick ups). Little bit further to Guinness storehouse but easy stroll. All up very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bang4Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself & 2 friends booked a 3 bed apartment, last minute for the blur concert. The apartments are located adjacent to the hotel in a separate block. The lovely receptionist lead us to our apartment & we were not disappointed. It was spotless and very well decorated,the fully equipped kitchen was super for tea & coffee and bfast. We would highly recommend the apartments,we didn't see much of the hotel so can't comment too much. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opusdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
969 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,569 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $89 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing