We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As has been said before, the staff are fantastic. There was one little bugbear that the room wasn't ready for check-in, even though we arrived after the specified check-in time. It was only 5 minutes later than check in time, but still. Either way, not a huge deal, just a minor inconvenience. When we did check in, the room was spacious, clean, well-equipped (mini bar, hair dryer, iron, TV, free water, tea coffee and biscuits, etc), big bathroom with bath and shower. Shower had plenty of power - not like in some places where it just dribbles! No air con - not usually a problem in Ireland, but it was hot and stuffy. They provided two fans, but I still had to sleep with the window open and it was still hot! Some may find it unbearable, but I could deal with it OK. Free WiFi - something that it pretty much non-negotiable for me, and it worked as well as any hotel wifi I've used. The location is excellent. Just around the corner from the Temple Bar area, and therefore central Dublin (Grafton St for shopping etc) is only a 5-15 minute walk away (depending on where you're going).

The only thing I would say is that it was quite pricey and while I'd DEFINITELY look to stay here again, probably not at the price I paid this time (limited choices due to busy weekend in Dublin).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhivolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

First let me say, the staff was great, friendly and helpful as they could be. But they were working against as stiff road which was the condition of the hotel. Plumbing antiquated, sink constantly dripped, tile was broken, no air conditioning (which I guess is not uncommon in Dublin) on a particularly humid week.

But beyond that, the first day I went to have coffee in the café, the milk that I poured in my coffee has gone bad. The second day, my sons and I arrived at 7:30, the time they are supposed to start serving, and there were three tables of diners before the wait staff came in for their shifts. Luckily the chef was there on time.

And another thing...the remote control for the TV AND the clock radio were tethered, as if they were worried about theft (seriously, the remote control??) but at the same time, the refrigerator was a stocked refrigerator. Now I ask you, what kind of clientele would steal the remote and then pay 3 euro for a Snickers bar?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I needed a comfortable, central place to stay in Dublin at the last minute and decided on this hotel. The room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. I loved the mattress and linens. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again. There were some very minor issues such as the sink faucets were too small to really use easily and some mildew on the tile grout in the shower. Someone smoked a cigarette at 5am and set off the fire alarm so that we had to evacuate. It was inconvenient, but the staff got us back in our rooms as quickly as they could. Still, it was a great stay in a great location and a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

First of, the person at the front desk was amazing. He was extremely friendly and helped us with any recommendations, travel necessities and places to eat. We sat downstairs talking to him in the lobby for many hours overall.
The rooms are very big for European standards. The bathrooms are nice as well. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant is worth the money. Location of the hotel is a couple of streets from the Temple bar area but close enough by to stumble home after nights of drinking. when i go back to Dublin, I will only stay at this hotel again. Book ahead of time as the prices can get very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here over a period of 4 days during a summer that Dublin was not used to- heat. The staff at this hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and we had enough room for comfort. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was on the front and although you could hear people on the street it didn't last too late in the evening. You could not ask for better location for getting around and having easy access to all the sites, and restaurants. The rooms have free WiFi and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get a great breeze and may want to stay away from rooms on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice in the last week which was the hottest summer that Dublin has had in a long while . The hotel is one if many that do not have AC but they went out of their way to help by giving most rooms 2 fans . The staff is excellent and tremendously helpful and the location is hard to beat. I would definitely stay here again- regardless of the season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The overall first impression was good - very tidy, clean, large sized bed, free WIFI and large bathroom. The desk staff was welcoming and supportive; excellent room service. The location is spot on - in the centre of the town, just short of temple bar street but still being rather quiet. The bathroom was always very well cleaned (every towel was replaced even though that was not necessary). But there were a few unresolved things that did lessen the otherwise good impression: the room was very hot (it was cooler outside, even in this warm Dublin summer). Seems like the extensive warmth came from the 'minibar' fridge area (I never use minibars anyway). There was an overhead ventilator for cooling, but it was a bit loud and it could not been turned on without the lights in the corridor being on as well. The receptionist staff promised to solve it and consequently I was informed 2 days later that the tec person would be available to fix it - but that was at 11 pm! So the sleep quality was bit poor due to the excessive heat. The overhead shower (with the shower curtain clinking to my legs) is a bit hard to adjust so I accidentally flooded the bathroom two times. In general a very nice hotel, especially if the control of the temperature would be solved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuelDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
954 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,359 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,554 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $97 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing