We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the Bells”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Listen to the Bells”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had three nights here in April. Economical rates. Close to hop-on-off bus stops for touring. Good breakfast options. Staff welcoming and helpful. Weekends the church bells were persistent, but melodic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    523
    172
    63
    30
See reviews for
259
408
73
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sicili, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for two nights at the start of our 12 day trip in Ireland. She arrived from the states at 6am and had no problem leaving her luggage or checking into the room once it was available even though the reservation was in my name. I arrived that night at midnight from Italy with no problems. They have both a bar and a small restaurant and both were clean but we did not eat at either so I cannot comment on the food. We did buy some fish and chips and brought them back to eat at the bar with no problems. The room we were in faced the street (maybe they all do) but we had no problem with noise except for the sea gulls when we left the window open :) The rooms were of a normal size for a European hotel and both the room and bathroom were very nice and clean. The hotel is in a great location in Dublin, we walked everywhere. We would definitely stay there again on a return trip to the Emerald Isle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABH2wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you and you sister. We do put a big emphasis on customer service so it is always a bonus to read about this.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Was here only one night on business. It was enough.
The location is its best attribute.

It failed for me on 3 levels:
1) maintenance - light bulbs gone in reception and in the room and the dreaded smelly shower curtain
2) atmosphere - as in complete lack of any. The bar was EMPTY, no one, not even a barman. The hotel is more like a hostel now and quite noisey in the corridors at times.
3) staff attitude - best described as polite but wholely disinterested.

The price was cheap and the bed comfortable but that would not be enough to get me back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts and fire doors. Make sure you stipulate what type of room you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay with us. We are grateful for negative as well as positive comments as they help to improve the product and service that we offer.

We have been continuously upgrading the rooms over the past few months. During this time, we have re-carpeted each bedroom, painted and wall papered, added new bed linen, placed mini bars in all of the rooms and replaced all the wood paneling and tiling in the bathrooms.

I would certainly like to welcome you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel during your next visit to Dublin. If you do wish to visit us again, please call me directly or send me an email and I will gladly look after you.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice, older hotel. Our bed was firm and very comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower and the room was very clean. Easy walk to Christ Church Cathedral and Temple Bar and other area attractions.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for your positive review in relation to your stay with us at the George Frederic Handel Hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I choose this hotel based on the reviews from this site and the location. I attended a meeting and the hotel was in the proximity.

All the good reviews were well earned. I enjoyed my stay (2 nights). Best feature for me: the possibility to turn on the heat :-). In april, most of the hotels I've been to turn off the heat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinao_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Alinao,

Thank you for your comments, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are extremely lucky with our location as it is in close proximity to all major attractions as well as Dublin Castle and Heuston Station yet far enough away to enjoy a good nights sleep.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My 85 year old mom and I spent two nights in early April. Room with twin beds was immaculate and very comfortable for two. Nice ensuite bath. Good location slightly off the main drag across from Christchurch in Temple Bar area. Excellent and fun breakfast service. While an elevator serviced guest room floors, we were required to navigate several steps from the street to the lobby, snd again from the lobby to the elevator, and from the elevator to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the George Frederic Handel Hotel and great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and Dublin. Apologies for the stairs, we are built on the old Viking Settlement which means a few hills, but are staff are always on hand to look after those that require a little assistance!

Our location is perfect as you noticed, close to all the main tourist attractions yet far enough to have a great nights sleep.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed for 1 night for a concert in Dublin, very central, within walking distance to all of city centre, close to Luas etc. Lovely room with 2 large single beds, tea coffee and bottled water provided, fridge available, flat screen tv and large bathroom, everything spotless, very quiet even though in city centre. Very helpful and polite staff, would definitely stay and recommend to anyone staying a few nights in Dublin. Just did room only and didn't eat there so can't comment on restaurant or food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi AnnaMarie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was great to meet you both and I am delighted to read that you were happy with everything. We put a big emphasis on customer service and cleanliness and it's always nice to hear positive feedback about this. We are continuously upgrading our bedrooms and have just finished painting and re-decorating. New mini bars have just been installed and bathroom refurbishment will be complete very soon.

Hopefully we will see you again at the George Frederic Handel Hotel, and next time you can enjoy a wonderful full Irish breakfast!

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,265 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#62 of 151 in Dublin
1,157 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing