We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved every minute in this hotel - from the decor, teal and white, to the amazing shower - seriously, great pressure :) The location was beyond words...a few blocks from all you want to see in Dublin be it Temple Bar or Guinness - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassD718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Cass,

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the George Frederic Handel Hotel and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    523
    172
    63
    30
See reviews for
259
408
73
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

checked into this hotel late at midnight. night staff were good and friendly. rooms vere very cosy and comfortable . note to staff :- please check that the heating is not turned off in room.
over all , very good hotel . best around that area of town.

tom

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your comments. My apologies for the cold room on arrival, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed 4 days over St Patrick's Day weekend -- a great treat!
From friendly reception, to breakfast staffers, the housekeepers and even drinking at bar, this quiet oasis near the heart of Dublin was a terrific place to venture out into the fun pub scene in Temple Bar area, and the parade went by just 1 block from our hotel ~ and we enjoyed a bit of the luck of the Irish with complimentary adornments for St Paddy's!
Both the bathroom and bedroom areas are large by European standards -- and hotel provided adapters -- one less thing to worry about
Highly recommend this delightful place.

Room Tip: High corner suite (401) has view of Liffey River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Another_fun_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We decided to go a little further and add little "Paddy's Day Kits" to the rooms for the guests to enjoy and it seemed to go down a treat as everyone was looking very "Irish" walking out the door to the parades!

I shall certainly pass your kind words onto the staff and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard. Room was clean, comfortable and well serviced, and extra towels etc were supplied willingly.Lounge areas and bar are a great option from staying in your room if not going out. Reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful particularly Emmet, who made our stay feel like home. This is a great hotel in a very good location. Only down side was the noise from the usual drunks going past at night so be prepared to either accept or join them on weekends.

Room Tip: maybe try not to have a street front room if noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Christine,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the George Frederic Handel Hotel and I am glad to see that you were impressed with bedrooms, eating areas and most importantly service. We are very lucky with our location in that we are within walking to distance to all the major attractions yet far enough to have a good nights sleep, it was unfortunate that we had some noisy people on the street when you stayed and I apologise for this.

Hopefully the noise did not put you off and we look forward to hopefully welcoming back once again.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It's not often you come across a staff where EVERYONE is pleasant and helpful, but this place is the exception! The location was great, and probably one of the more quiet streets in the heart of Dublin. The breakfast was fabulous and filling. The room was exceptionally clean, and the bathroom spacious. I've already rebooked for later this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Claudia,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the George Frederic Handel Hotel and we are delighted to read how impressed you were with everything. Along with our prime location, we try to give 100% to all of our guests in terms of service and experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel!

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

You could not ask for a better location the staff are extremely helpfull. I booked as a single person but got a lovely well presented double room.

I recommend this hotel for any length of stay you might have in Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Sinbad,

Thank you for your comments and I am glad to read that you enjoyed you stay in Dublin and the George Frederic Handel Hotel. Yes, we are very lucky with our location in that everything is within walking distance and the area is quiet enough for a great comfortable nights sleep.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again to the George Frederic Handel.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was in a great location. Perfect for exploring Dublin! Right around the corner from the hop on, hop off bus and great restaurants and bars. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the gentleman from New Zealand (can't recall his name). Took the time to give us very helpful directions, recommendations, and arranged a cab for us to the airport early in the morning. He even arranged to have us in our room early as soon as one was ready. Excellent service by the front desk staff! Absolutely top notch! My one complaint is that I went to step in to the bathtub and slipped, fell, and bruised my leg quite bad. So be careful! Even my boyfriend said the tub seemed very slippery. The back part of the tub didn't have gripping on the floor like the front part of the tub so this is a possibility for some improvement. I'm young, so couldn't imagine if it had been an older person who wouldn't snap back quickly from such a slip. Anyhow, overall nice hotel despite this one mishap. Don't expect anything super fancy, but the location and price were great and it was pretty clean....not spotless but clean. The shower had nice water pressure and long lasting hot water, which was nice after my fall :). Lol! Try the Queen of Tarts down the alley just behind the hotel (outside the hotel walk to the right past the chorus cafe, then take your first right, then make a right again) and you'll see the red Queen of Tarts restaurant on th right. Had a wonderful breakfast and went back for coffee and scone the next day. Perfect quaint place with excellent food. Loved our experience there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandatravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
891 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,265 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#62 of 151 in Dublin
1,158 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing