We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #58 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location & value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

You could not ask for a better location the staff are extremely helpfull. I booked as a single person but got a lovely well presented double room.

I recommend this hotel for any length of stay you might have in Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinbad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Sinbad,

Thank you for your comments and I am glad to read that you enjoyed you stay in Dublin and the George Frederic Handel Hotel. Yes, we are very lucky with our location in that everything is within walking distance and the area is quiet enough for a great comfortable nights sleep.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back once again to the George Frederic Handel.

Regards

Cormac McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    501
    161
    60
    25
See reviews for
245
384
73
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was in a great location. Perfect for exploring Dublin! Right around the corner from the hop on, hop off bus and great restaurants and bars. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the gentleman from New Zealand (can't recall his name). Took the time to give us very helpful directions, recommendations, and arranged a cab for us to the airport early in the morning. He even arranged to have us in our room early as soon as one was ready. Excellent service by the front desk staff! Absolutely top notch! My one complaint is that I went to step in to the bathtub and slipped, fell, and bruised my leg quite bad. So be careful! Even my boyfriend said the tub seemed very slippery. The back part of the tub didn't have gripping on the floor like the front part of the tub so this is a possibility for some improvement. I'm young, so couldn't imagine if it had been an older person who wouldn't snap back quickly from such a slip. Anyhow, overall nice hotel despite this one mishap. Don't expect anything super fancy, but the location and price were great and it was pretty clean....not spotless but clean. The shower had nice water pressure and long lasting hot water, which was nice after my fall :). Lol! Try the Queen of Tarts down the alley just behind the hotel (outside the hotel walk to the right past the chorus cafe, then take your first right, then make a right again) and you'll see the red Queen of Tarts restaurant on th right. Had a wonderful breakfast and went back for coffee and scone the next day. Perfect quaint place with excellent food. Loved our experience there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandatravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was just what we needed, we stay in Dublin for St Pat's every year and have already booked the hotel for next year. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was cooked fresh not like many buffet styles breakfasts at other hotels. The hotel isn't to big so you don't have a crowded lobby with people checking in/out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanrodgers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here on 2/27. Excellent location, for seeing most of downtown. Driving here is a bit tricky and the Car park is a couple of blocks away. Room was small, a little dated but clean and serviceable. Breakfast was excellent. Great Value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellent. The staff were very freindly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location in walking distance of all of the main attractions in Dublin. The room was emaculatelly clean and comfortable. Overall it was a very pleasurable experience staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Shaun,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel clean comfortable and the staff friendly. These are 2 main areas that we focus on most, cleanliness and customer service and positive feed back is always welcome!

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been to Dublin many times over the years to stay with friends, however on this ocassion I decided to remain the city as my friends live some distance away from Dublin. I stayed at the Geo Fred H for three nights, my only regret was that I was not able to stay longer. I'm sure you have heard the expression: 'You don't get a second chance to make a first impression'! Well, you will not be disappointed with a stay here. It's situated in a quite street between Lord Edward and Fishamble streets. The '747' airport bus stop is just a few yards away on Lord Edward Street both from and back to the airport, so convenient. Also the 'Hop on Hop off' bus that bimbles along its 24 stops can be found on the same street.
Under the expert leadership of the manager, Cormac McCann the staff are so helpful with a genuine desire to make one's visit a success. The reception, lounge, bar and breakfast areas are tastefully designed to create a harmonous and relaxing feel. I understand from the manager that the bedrooms are all undergoing a redecoration program throughout 2013. My room # 404 is situated on the top floor with a view of Christchurch Cathedral and the Liffey River. The windows are 'double glazed' so it's very quite. You will hear the dulcit tones of the cathedral bells, however it's not an intrustion. The bed was so comfortable, it was an effort to have to get up the next morning! The bedroom is well appointed with coffee/tea making facilities. They provide individual milk 'tubs' not that awful powdered milk. An ironing board is also provided. The bathroom did look a little 'tired', however as mentioned redecorating is imminent.
I would like to mention the housekeeping, often overlooked in reviews, they deserve credit for maintaining my room in such a spotless condition. Well done housekeeping.
The breakfast with its cheerful staff is a great place to start your day: Try the 'Full Irish', you wont want want an early lunch! The bar is well worth a visit, plenty of space. I understand that a full restaurant service will be available eventually.
So, if you are looking for a small, super friendly hotel with excellent service and accommodation then I highly recommend the Georgie-poos Freddy Handel, I'm sure he would have stayed there if it were available when he was in town.

Room Tip: Try rooms on 4th floor for a view. Ask for one not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the very positive comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the George Frederic Handel Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned to you when you were leaving, we are well under way with the refurbishment and are starting on upgrading all of the bathrooms this week. We are also installing in-room safes and mini bars to add to the guest comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again to the George Frederic Handel Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

great hotel for short stays, good service and perfect location. Rooms are quiet and decoration is ok, bathrooms could be improved by changing bath curtains for door and installing mixing taps in the sink

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFH-Manager, Manager at Handels Hotel Temple Bar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ray,

Thank you for your review. We welcome all comments, both positive and negative as they all help to improve the product that we offer to the guests. We are starting work on all the bathrooms this week and will take on board the shower curtain and sink tap points that you have mentioned.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the George Frederic Handel Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#84 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing