We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleased with all aspects of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleased with all aspects of our stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked this hotel on the web and was very pleased I chose it.It is easy to get to from the airport - bus 747 stops at Christ Church round the corner- allow 40 minutes and rather more in rush hour- the journey costs 6 euro.The hotel is situated in a quiet sidestreet close to Temple Bar. This is an area we don't particularly like but it has the advantage that you've never any problems finding places to eat.And down the roads across Dame St there are plenty of excellent restaurants.The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and the room itself was quiet, well-furnished and very comfortable.Breakfasts were very tasty- scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was one option! Another convenience was that the open-topped sightseeing bus (which we thought was excellent) stops just across the Liffey less than five minutes walk away. All in all, we enjoyed our short stay there very much and we would have no hesitation recommending it. And if you do stay there go to Arlington's round he corner for the Irish night- a meal, music and dancing for about £25.OK- it's tourisy but it's also very good fun!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    510
    165
    60
    26
See reviews for
250
392
73
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nîmes
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked two rooms directly at the hotel, less expensive than on booking sites on the Web. It was a very nice stay. The staff is very kind, careful to any question and very helpful. The hotel is very close to the main sites in Dublin, situated at the edge of the mythic district of Temple bar, where you can find typical pubs or restaurant to drink and eat in yhe evening. A bus is always possible to find at a few minutes walk for any destination. The room was very clean, large, well furnished and noiseless. Breakfast offers a huge variety of possibilities, more than you'll ever be able to eat ! Don't look for any place else: price/quality, nothing to say.

JP. and G. from Nîmes (France)

Room Tip: We had rooms at the top level and they were fine. Lift is helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpg2lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is simply very good. Nice rooms, proper breakfast, an in-house bar and friendly, helpful personnel. The hotel is located in the heart of Dublin, just away from the main road. Very convenient. One minor point of criticism would be the habit of the neighbouring Christ Church to ring the church bells for the full Friday evening, so bring your earplugs or stay out until late at night on Friday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms here the 5th November as we had concert in the 02. Booked early through booking.com and for 5 of us is was 32e each Brill for the location which was central to everything in the temple bar area. Craig on reception was very nice and after we checked out following mornin the lady in reception let us store our cases for the whole day while we did a bit of shopping! The rooms were nicely decorated and clean and the bed very comfy. All in all will def be returning :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really comfy hotel, lovely decor, nice and quiet, room was clean and tidy. The only negative was the shower was very slow and no pressure. Great breakfast and all the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Great value for money and would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is here where the first time the "Messiah" was performed - at least this is what you get told in Dublin. Nowadays no gentle barocque music pleases yours ears but the enormous sound of the church bells which remind you during the whole night every quarter of an hour that time is passing. This can be a little annoying - especially if you don't sleep too deeply because of the tasty Guinness.
But beside of this I can recommend the hotel for it's nice location at the edge of the lively Temple Bar district, close to all innner city attractions and the warm welcome.
When you book your room, it should be noted that the prices vary enormously. Due to the reservation of the hotel, a room can cost between € 60 or € 160 - and the latter is somewhat annoying taking into account the modest equipment and facilities of the rooms.Consistently omitted is every article that could be stuck as a souvenir. This is probably a result of the countless stag and Hen Parties, which are celebrated in this city.To sum up I can recommend Georg Frederic Handel for all who are not noise sensitive and who have caught a cheap price on the Internet. Especially because of its location it is an ideal base for exploring the charming city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far away from Christ Church cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csamalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a perfectly located hotel centrally situated in Dublin which enables you to have quick access to all the tourist attractions within walking distance. It is within 50 metres of all mayor bus routes! The staff is very helpful and friendly and the the breakfast is simple marvellous! It is excellent value for money and a place I will definately return to on my next visit to Dublin!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Christ Church Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#79 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing