We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, location & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms here the 5th November as we had concert in the 02. Booked early through booking.com and for 5 of us is was 32e each Brill for the location which was central to everything in the temple bar area. Craig on reception was very nice and after we checked out following mornin the lady in reception let us store our cases for the whole day while we did a bit of shopping! The rooms were nicely decorated and clean and the bed very comfy. All in all will def be returning :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really comfy hotel, lovely decor, nice and quiet, room was clean and tidy. The only negative was the shower was very slow and no pressure. Great breakfast and all the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Great value for money and would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is here where the first time the "Messiah" was performed - at least this is what you get told in Dublin. Nowadays no gentle barocque music pleases yours ears but the enormous sound of the church bells which remind you during the whole night every quarter of an hour that time is passing. This can be a little annoying - especially if you don't sleep too deeply because of the tasty Guinness.
But beside of this I can recommend the hotel for it's nice location at the edge of the lively Temple Bar district, close to all innner city attractions and the warm welcome.
When you book your room, it should be noted that the prices vary enormously. Due to the reservation of the hotel, a room can cost between € 60 or € 160 - and the latter is somewhat annoying taking into account the modest equipment and facilities of the rooms.Consistently omitted is every article that could be stuck as a souvenir. This is probably a result of the countless stag and Hen Parties, which are celebrated in this city.To sum up I can recommend Georg Frederic Handel for all who are not noise sensitive and who have caught a cheap price on the Internet. Especially because of its location it is an ideal base for exploring the charming city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far away from Christ Church cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csamalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a perfectly located hotel centrally situated in Dublin which enables you to have quick access to all the tourist attractions within walking distance. It is within 50 metres of all mayor bus routes! The staff is very helpful and friendly and the the breakfast is simple marvellous! It is excellent value for money and a place I will definately return to on my next visit to Dublin!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Christ Church Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent - it is just beside Christchurch on the edge of Temple Bar (about 5 mins walk to the main Temple Bar nightlife area) and close to lots of bars, restaurants, and amenities. There is also an Airlink stop (bus 747 from the airport, Christchurch stop) just round the corner so very handy with luggage.

I had emailed in advance to ask about a quiet room, as I'm aware there can be a bit of street noise and also that the Christchurch bells toll the quarter-hour through the night and ring a lot on Sundays, and the staff were very accommodating. We did hear the bells on Sunday but they were pleasant rather than an intrusion. The different Reception staff we dealt with on our trip (3 in total) were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We didn't have the opportunity to eat or have a drink at the hotel, but I admired the smart-looking bar and dining area and would be happy to do so next time.

The room itself was grand - spacious enough with lots of storage areas, and clean. There was also a sofa and table, and multi-channel TV. The rooms have hairdryers and free wifi (big bonus!) but unfortunately no fridge. Bed large, warm & comfortable.

The bathroom was fine - only niggle was that the showerhead wasn't adjustable either height-wise, or angle, and it pointed off-centre towards the wall - but we coped OK. Everything was clean and more tea/coffee/milk were provided on request by Reception or the room staff.

It is in a safe area and close to some very good bars and restaurants, such as the Porterhouse or Bull & Castle for Irish craft beers and pub food, Queen of Tarts for cake/coffee shop, and The Larder for well-sourced more refined meals (brunch very good here too). Also ideal for exploring the Temple Bar farmers' market on a Saturday morning, shopping in the main centre of town, checking out the areas north of the river, or getting home easily at night.

The rate we paid wasn't a bargain, but i believe if you can book early then better rates may be available. I'd certainly recommend this hotel, especially for it's free wifi and location, and would be happy to stay here next time I'm in the city.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 310 - this was fairly quiet and had a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nexus-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can not criticise the great value of this hotel especially considering the generous Irish breakfast on offer in the morning and the ideal location making everything within walking distance. However my room was at the back of the hotel and overlooked a pub garden that was generally relatively noisey into the night. Combined with the lack of air con meant having the window open to stop myself from melting which in turn allowed more of the noise in! Came to the conclusion that I couldn't beat them so best to join them in the pub! Did feel very safe as a single female traveller which is also a plus point.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing onto the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraTravels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just on the boundary of temple bar but within walking distance to all central locations . I would highly recommend this small tidy clean hotel. Friendly staff were always willing to help. Bonus points for the full Irish breakfast,the daily room service and towel service and the use of an umbrella for the soft days..

Thank Killmc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,391 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#58 of 150 in Dublin
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,589 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $78 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing