We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first trip to ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
“first trip to ireland”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was my first trip to Ireland and Dublin, I had a great time staying there, staff was great, food was very good and room was nice, very close to all the main attractions, would definitely stay again when I return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpkelly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    510
    165
    60
    26
See reviews for
250
392
73
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great central location for exploring Dublin on foot if you want. We did some walking to nearby stuff but preferred the "hop on, hop off" bus tour of the city. The hotel has no parking. If you park out front on the street, don't leave your car past 8:00 without a ticket in the windshield. We did and the car was booted (clamped in the local vernacular). We got it refunded. Ask at hotel how. Very helpful front desk personnel. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectordude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Charged me more then 250 euros for one night. No air-conditioning. Not sound proof at all! Dirty towels. And dodgy interiors. Very unpleasent stay with barely no sleep. Although it was a big event and they doubled they're prices, there was absolutely NO value for it at all! I will definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Hendrik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very comfortable hotel within easy walking distance to the Liffey and Temple Bar among other sites. The pub next door could not be heard after 11pm. Staff very helpful and polite. The ground floor window before the bar has a dingy looking curtain that should be replaced, gives a bad first impression.

Room Tip: I will recommend this hotel to friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is excellent for visiting Dublin.Just on the edge of Temple Bar so not too noisy and in the artistic quarter.Great breakfasts and friendly staff.Lots of good places to eat and drink close by and a short walk to the centre.

Room Tip: in summer you will need aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnchad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice Room, very comfy bed and lovely staff (all smiles even at quarter past four in the morning)!!! If you come to Dublin, the George Frédéric Handel is your place to stay. I'll definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella-del-cielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent two nights there. The hotel is in a perfect location, near Temple Bar but in a quiet street (Trinity College is 10 mins away, the National Museum 20 minutes). We could hear the bells from Christ Church at the bottom of the street, but faintly.
The staff was very nice and helpful, and stored for free our 6 pieces of luggage after we checked out.
The room was big, with a king-size bed and a couch, quiet and bright. The bathroom was spotless and big.
My only complaints are that the instant coffee provided was disgusting -but it seems to be a staple in hotels, and that there were not a lot of TV channels. The kettle was metallic and I burned my hand on it. Also, the hotel door closes after midnight and one has to knock. There's no possibility of using the room key to open it. This is understandable since the hotel is near a very busy area.

Room Tip: Ask for 310, it's the biggest on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#79 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handels Hotel Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handels Hotel Temple Bar

Property: Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly George Frederic Handel Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handels Hotel Temple Bar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Handels Hotel Temple Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing