We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The fantastic location of this hostel was overshone by the lack of cleanliness throughout and the unfriendly mannor of the staff. The showers and toilets were very off putting and the bedrooms were vile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyBH2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    127
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
14
35
113
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Super close to everything! Close enough to Temple Bar area to enjoy it but far enough there isn't much noise. Comfy bed. Shower was wonderful. Easy enough to find. Plenty of plugins. Only downfall was the floors were newer slotted wood floors that evidently weren't glued down right so even just shifting your weight made them squeak like crazy. Would defintely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay in the apartment after reading the reviews on here and find it hard to see why this place rates so well.
The apartment was dirty...slimy floors (like it was mopped with oil), a noisy and leaky toilet, dust and hair balls in the corners of the room, dirty hand prints all over the walls, unwashed utensils in the kitchen...and that is just some of it.
I also chose this place because it had wifi, but unfortunately it did not. We were advised that the apartment modem had been stolen by a recent tenant.
Be careful if you are a light sleeper or are taller than 5ft 5. The bed was unusually short (both my husbands and my feet overhung the bed) and extremely uncomfortable, probably due to it being really old....and I mean REALLY old. We were also kept awake by people carrying on downstairs all hours of the night.
I understand that this apartment is owned by a backpackers so expectations shouldn't be high in the first place - but even with low expectations, I was incredibly disappointed.
On a positive note, the apartment is ideally located in Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus-Nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Having booked a weekend trip to Dublin with 4 mates we were keen to find some inexpensive accommodation , Sky Backpackers is ideal , really good value for money and 1 minute walk from O'connell St! Only negative point we booked a 6 bed room for 5 of us but on arrival discovered they had split us over two rooms ! However very clean rooms perfectly comfortable , all the girls working the desks were really really helpful , let us store our bags before check in and also hang around the lounge on check out day ! Plus they were all really cute ;) ! You Also get a free breakfast and free Wifi , for what you pay it's pretty damn good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Can't believe how come such an inexpensive place in the middle of City can be so cool and happening.

This is such a happy place that you feel transported in a different world altogether.

Great place, great staff, great price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Red_1ndian_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a classic hostel. Simple, a bit rough on the edges, but very comfortable and nice. (A bit like the Wheasley family, in HP.) Simple breakfast, but free and nice. Also, free hot cocoa all the time. The staff are great, and really helpful.
Also, great location (near Temple Bar, etc.)
Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalk2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciampino, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I went to Dublin for a week in July with my family and I chose the "Apartment for 3 people". There was a double bedroom and a bed-sofa in the living room. It is really cosy and quiet as the description, because it has the view on the private garden, so you don't have noises in the night. It is situated at the 2nd floor and there is the lift. I found the apartment very clean and well equipped. There was everything I need to have a perfect stay. It's also perfectly located: just 1 minute walk from O' connell street and the Temple Bar and in few steps you can reach Grafton Street and all the others attractions! If I return to Dublin I will choose this apartment or another solution at the Sky Backpackers - The Liffey because receptionists are very kind and polite (they show us how to open the door, the called a taxi for us because we had to leave in the night) and the position of the hostel is great! I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina Irish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
Abbey Court
#9 of 105 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Backpackers

Property: Sky Backpackers
Address: 2 - 4 Litton Lane, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Litton Lane Hostel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sky Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sky Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing