We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siobhan”
Review of Barry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barry's Hotel
Ranked #135 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The reception staff (especially Siobhan), night porter, cleaners and breakfast hostess were all friendly. The breakfast is decent enough to set you up for the day, the hotel was quiet and clean and tidy enough, it's close to the city centre and there are several bars close by. I'd return but you'd probably want to stay somewhere different if you're trying it on with a new partner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 301 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Was as expected for the price, relatively clean if I discount the used pipe pullover on the staircase, relaxed atmosphere. Barry obviously assumed I was intending on soiling myself as they furnished my bed with a plastic under sheet which was most delightful as a sweat aid in the night. Location excellent, a short walk from city centre. Reason for staying was a stag do so was actually ideal but I would not take the missus.
To reiterate had it not been for the used happy hat on the staircase it would have recieved an extra point on cleanliness.
If nothing else the British morning sock was a definate slip, trip or fall hazard. The bathroom had no facility to close/lock the door so an unsuspecting person you may be sharing the room with could unwittingly walk in on you whilst your on the pan.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Excellent location. End of positives.

The Barry's experience starts at the airport - get in a taxi, ask for Barry's and watch as the driver starts laughing and shaking his head. We were on a stag do so how can we complain? a place like this is ideal so that you can laugh about it afterwards and talk about the rich aroma of urine and the dingey lighting suggesting pure filth. you can smile at the memory of the journey to the rooms involving about 8 million steps (though you wouldn't trust the lift if there was one) only to find beds, a bathroom, a kettle and very conveniently a tv mounted on the wall just above the kettle (you know, where the steam from the kettle rises to) and what stag do is complete with out stories of the used love-sack on the stairs and the trail of blood to the reception area toilet.

hilarious place but make sure the guinness has virtually destroyed you before you try to sleep here, otherwise you wont actually sleep because the rooms are very kindly heated to a level which will make you sweat out the alcohol before the hangover sets in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

You can't possibly describe Barry's hotel in 200 characters! I recently stayed there as part of a Stag Party of 8. Barry's was the last available hotel in Dublin and it also happened to be the cheapest (the football and Darts were on that weekend so it was rammed), bonus! What a gem. First impressions aren't great but seeing is believing. Rooms are decorated, there is a bed, all rooms are en suite and even have tea and coffee facilities (not forgetting some delicious biscuits and TV). Dublin city centre is a brisk 10 minute walk away but there are plenty of bars along the way that will keep you occupied. Downside's were, upon our departure we found what appeared to be a used form of contraception on the stairs (other than that the cleanliness was ok), No Lift, there are a lot of stairs! Bar closed (but one over the road), rooms were baking hot (not always a bad thing in October) fixtures and fittings are not neccessarily fitted! To summarise. Stag Do's? , Definitely, will give you something to talk about. Would I take the Mrs? No, unless I wanted a divorce!!! Make sure you read the correct review before you stay as we nearly made the mistake of backing out due to unreasonable reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyRoo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Quite frankly, I don't know what all the fuss is about. I mean apart from finding a used condom on the stairs, a trail of blood leading from reception to the ground floor toilet and each room being hotter than an Irish sauna - this is a brilliant hotel. From the moment you open the door and smell the filthy urine stained walls and see the yellow teeth of the glamorous smoking receptionist, you know you're in the lap of luxury.

Clearly I'm joking for those without a sense of humour. But in all seriousness, this is in central Dublin and 45 euro a night per room, what the hell do people expect? You wouldn't take the wife there for a weekend of romance but you would put a group of lads on a stag weekend in who'll only spend 5 hours a night passed out on one of the dirty beds. It's cheap, it's not cheerful but it's in a cracking location near everything you need on a weekend with the lads. And if nothing else, the memories of laughing at quite how awful this place is are well worth the stay alone.

Room Tip: If you want a good room where you'll get a great night's kip in luxurious surroundings - go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked for three days two rooms ,recepcionist very unprofessional ,we complain the first day about heating not working and they never look after that , many better places in Dublin for the price , no wifi available at rooms , and the access to internet 12 euros-hour ... definetly we are not coming back to thats places in our next visit to ireland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Shabby, run down, dirty, and scary! No elevator, unprofessional reception desk, and we were asked to leave our keys at the desk every time went out. Room was up 2 long flights of dirty stairs, then down another set of stairs, then up some more and down some more to a dark hall in the corner. It was like going through a maze of stairs and doors that didn't stay open, with heavy luggage and people waiting for you to get by so they could pass.There was a bullet hole in one of the windows on the stairs. Room was cramped with 4 beds nearly touching. Only one person could sit on their bed a a time. Bathroom was dark with cracks in shower and walls, and the toilet didn't flush properly. We had to travel the long stairs maze to find a toilet downstairs. We wanted to call the reception desk, but found our phone cord had been cut and so there was no way to place a call. I shudder to think what awful things may have happened at Barry's. When I went to move the night stand to plug in a phone charger, there was old food and bugs behind the furniture. The window as opened from the top and couldn't be easily closed, so the noise from the busy street and clubs below was heard all night and kept us awake. Tried to find another location in the city but there was nothing available.The hotels across and adjacent to Barry's were nicer, but didn't have availability. Now I know why. The one thing they did right was called us a taxi the next morning when we asked. I recommend you never stay at Barry's as it is a disgusting and awful excuse for a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.9 mi away
Tara Towers Hotel
Tara Towers Hotel
#109 of 150 in Dublin
807 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport South Hotel
1.3 mi away
Camden Deluxe Hotel
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#105 of 150 in Dublin
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#77 of 150 in Dublin
740 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bonnington Dublin
The Bonnington Dublin
#117 of 150 in Dublin
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barry's Hotel

Address: 1-2 Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $70 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barry's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrys Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing