We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location & price.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Pearse Hotel used to be a Holiday Inn. The trash can in our room even still had a Holiday Inn logo on it. The room was what I expected from a Holiday Inn kind of room- we had two double beds, a small tv, a hot water heater and tea.
I took off one point because of the bathroom issues. The toilet wouldn't flush unless you push the lever down with a lot of force. The shower's water heat was also not consistent. It sometimes went from freezing cold to scalding hot without me touching the dial at all.

Otherwise, the Pearse Hotel was a good stay for our trip in Dublin. It was affordable and a convenient location away from the city center. It was approximately a 15 minute walk (1 km) away from the Temple Bar area. I appreciated the distance since we were staying during New Years Eve and didn't want to be disturbed by the noise. If you can, ask for a room facing away from the street.

The hotel also has a brasserie that wasn't very expensive for dinner. I had a poached salmon dish that came with a salad, potatoes and a dish of steamed veggies for about 13 euros. Not bad!

Ultimately:
I would recommend this hotel for the good value and location, if you don't want to be smack in the center of the craziness of the bar area. If not, the walk may be off-putting and you may want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing away from the street. Much less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soymilkcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    340
    202
    78
    50
See reviews for
179
228
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I got a bargain stay at this hotel just before Christmas for only £71 for 3 nights room only on Expedia. I wasn't expecting much, just somewhere clean and comfy near the city. However, I'm pleased to say that the hotel is indeed very central, clean and with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are a good size, especially for such a price, and the bathroom was clean and a good size. Our room faced the road and was therefore very noisy, but there was no problem in us changing to another room for the following two nights of our stay.
I suspect they're struggling to fill rooms due to the recession but unlike many Irish hotels, they've taken the decision to offer heavy discounts in order to keep people coming... on the strength of this visit I would happily return again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Pearse Road, preferably facing the courtyard, to ensure a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardegna
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for dove night on new year's eve. The rooms are big and cosy. Receptionists are very friendly. Just outside there is a bus stop which bring you to the centre. You'll absolutely stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reietto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends in October 2012. It is a nice modern and clean hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Parking is extra and is in a somewhat hidden away garage behind the hotel. If you're looking for a good value, reasonably central hotel then you could do worse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaa_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it only cost 39euro for the two of us through bookings.com.
It is no more than a straight 10min walk into the city centre at a leisurely pace.
We found the staff to be very friendly. The room was spacious with a double and single bed.
The bathroom was big enough but I would say that the decor needs updating.
It's not luxury accomodation but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWEETCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are very desappointed with this hotel.. After the first night we decided to check out and the Hotel informed to us that their police was to charge one more day., Is that fair? I understand that the garanty required was only for the first nigth ,or no show, isn't that?
This was my first expirence doing reservation by easytobook and I really don't like that.
I will not have plans to recommend to my friends .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Pearse Hotel is now one of Dublin's "Nama hotels" owned by the bank set up to take on properties from Irelenad's financial property crash. As a former Holiday Inn, it is a relatively modern building and benefits from large rooms, spacious foyers and comfortable restaurant bar/brasserie, and is conveniently located for the DART. Pearse Street runs from Trinity College to the Grand Canal Quay and it is a short walk to Meirrion Square or on to St Stephen's Green.
It was very quiet for a winter stay in December, with a warm welcome from Reception, big quiet room with two queen beds, and an extensive buffet breakfast. And a room rate of 69 euros B & B was real value for money.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.3 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Pearse Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Pearse Street

Property: Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
Address: 98 - 107 Pearse Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly The Pearse Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Pearse Street 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pearse Hotel, in the heart of Dublin City Centre, is positioned to please. Just minutes from the Grand Canal Theatre, Convention Centre Dublin, the International Financial Services Centre (IFSC), The O2 Concert Arena, Trinity College , Croke Park and the Aviva Rugby and Football Stadium. The Pearse Hotel Dublin is the ideal base, whether your visit is for business or pleasure. With 101 bedrooms, restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, mini-gym The Pearse Hotel has everything you need under one roof. Our team pride themselves on providing a warm, Irish welcome and attentive service throughout your stay. The hotel is easy to access by public transport or private car. Irish Rail and DART light rail services stop at nearby Pearse, Tara and Connolly Stations. A selection of Dublin Bus services travel past the hotels front door. An underground car park is available for guests with cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Pearse Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dublin
Dublin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing