We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school happiness: tea, and lots of attention.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dergvale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dergvale Hotel
Ranked #73 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old school happiness: tea, and lots of attention.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The family who runs this hotel is descended from one of its original owners 100 years ago. They easily carry on their wonderful tradition of exquisite hospitality. They've kept it bright and comfortable while adding modern touches. Tea in the lobby and tea in bed. We had one room en suite and one with spotless and inviting entire bathrooms with deep tubs down the hall. One of my daughters wanted to bring her whole room home with her. There are a lot of stairs, but all our luggage just appeared in our room. They gave us great dinner recommendations, arranged taxis, and we'd go back in a heartbeat. When in Dublin, how lovely to feel we were in Dublin and not anywhere else in the world. Thank you to Olga and everyone.

Room Tip: We loved the views from both front and back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    168
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
60
132
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean (with the exception of the mildew on the bathroom mat and the toilet that leaked water on the floor). The beds were comfortable, and the room was a fine temperature. The two twin beds were end-to-end in the narrow room (which is fine), and the bedspreads were pink polyester from the 80s. The pictures were screwed to the walls, I guess in case of theft? There were no towel hooks, and the sink gurgled (kind of amusing, in the end) whenever it was run for more than a minute. The towels were clean and fine, with the exception of one with a hole in it. Shared bathroom meant hiking down two narrow flights of stairs. The water pressure was a little less than that of a watering can, and it could be coaxed to warm up past tepid if run for 10 minutes first. Even though the hotel was full due to an event in town, there should have been water/pressure at 1 a.m. Breakfast was bland eggs and ham and bacon and cold store bought bread toast. As a non-meat eater, I asked for tomato and cheese and was given it - cheese food slices. The porridge was good and hot. Contrary to expectations of warm Irish hospitality, we did not find it more than neutral, with the exception of a man who was there one night and one woman on our last night. I might call it standoffish. The area of town is okay, but one cabbie recommended highly that we not walk in most of the streets at night.
There is no elevator, and there were ladders resting in the halls on most days for some reason. This is a bargain B&B where one might stay to save money (79E/night) and not to spend any time. With a small bit of effort, they could have been pleasant and welcoming and could easily do some tidying and upgrades without a great deal of expense. Sadly, paint is slapped on and a minimum of effort seems to be expended. Still, beds were comfortable, and rooms were sufficiently warm.

Room Tip: Even on a budget, opt for an en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delraycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here as we were attending a concert in the Pheonix park, and we didn't intend on spending much time in a hotel. This is a great place for just basing yourself from. Now the rooms are small, badly decorated, and the walls are paper thin. The breakfast was lovely though, and it served our purpose well. Great location, just off Parnell Square, and handy for the airport if needs be. Perfect for a place to store your stuff and grab a bit of shut eye while exploring the city, but don't be expecting anything fancy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotch211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very pleasant stay, very polite and helpful staff. Location was convenient to the centre of town within walking distance, weather permitting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in Dergvale Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was very clean and breakfast was good. We had plenty of food. The staff were very friendly.
Location is very good. Pity about the rain.
I would recommend this hotel for a weekend in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Me and my fiancee recently returned from a four-night stay at the Dergvale Hotel, and overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

The hosts were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were decent (two rashers of bacon, an egg and two sausages) and the room, while small, was comfortable and clean.

On our first night, we had a problem with our shower and reported it to reception just before we left for the evening - we woke the following morning to find it had been fixed. On another occasion they even offered to dry some of my fiancee's clothes as they were damp from the heavy rain, which was really nice of them.

But I must mention its wafer-thin walls; you really can hear the people in the room next to you - and they don't even have to be talking that loud. We stayed Monday to Friday and slept well every night as the worst we experienced was some guests who occasionally talked a little too loud! I would imagine some guests can be a bit noisier!

All in all though it's the only real downside of the Dergvale, which is pleasant, clean, reasonably priced and just a stone's throw away from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerphil1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Sadly, I would not stay at this hotel again...
My mother, grandma and I state for three nights. Upon arrival, it appeared to be fairly nice inside, but the room was dirty. The floors weren't vacuumed and is extremely outdated. Our room had three single beds, with a tiny, old tv in the corner. The owners work there and have had the place for 70 yrs... The lady wasn't very welcoming when we checked in. The breakfast room seemed nice... But turned out to be the biggest disappointment of our stay... Orange juice was placed on tables, and I someone from another table didn't drink it, they took it and put it I. A different table for someone else to drink- it was not freshly poured, and sadly, it was warm. The toast was cold, which we figure that if someone didn't eat they toast, they would take it back and give it I someone else. The coffee is instant coffee... We asked for a pot, and saw the lady take amply from another table, and she poured it into ours to fill it up, we couldn't believe it. 

The server was very unfriendly, and acted as if we ruined her day because we were asking for some butter. When we said thank you, she said nothing and walked away. The bacon was not cooked and cold. Several times my table ordered something, and it came the opposite of what we ordered. 
The only two good things was that the mattress felt comfortable, and that it was in walking distance to main attractions within the city centre.

Overall, we sadly did not enjoy the hotel. If it was a cheap price, then i would have expected it to be a poor stay, but it was pricey and not worth the money. The breakfast was bad, the service was not friendly, and the importance of treating the guest with kindness and high standards were not reflected. As of right now,  I cannot recommend this hotel. 

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dergvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dergvale Hotel

Property: Dergvale Hotel
Address: 4 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dergvale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dergvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dergvale Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing