We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
north wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“very impressed”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Booked this hotel via hotels.com which was £90.00 for a twin room. A great price as it was the weekend that Bruce Springsteen was there which was the purpose of the trip. Hotel very modern both inside and out, which was to be expected. Nicely appointed bedroom and bathroom with very comfortable bed and a lovely shower. Everything was clean and modern. As was only there for a short period, didn't really get to see or sample much of the facilities on offer. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of the usual fayre.
Hotel is very convenient for the city centre as the tram stops right outside the hotel, so you shouldn't have any problems finding your way around.
I would happily recommend this hotel, especially if you look around and get yourself a good deal like I did!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    735
    282
    78
    45
See reviews for
206
661
113
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We've stayed at the Hilton a few times over the past year or so. We've always been very happy with the standard of the rooms, but in the past had been unhappy with the standard of food served in the restaurant.
I'm delighted to report that the food problem has been resolved! Six of us, including two children had a really good meal in the hotel restaurant. Apparently they've hired a new chef, and boy was it obvious!
I'd also like to compliment our waitress Kinga, who was so pleasant & went out of her way to look afer us.
As for the rest of the staff, they really do seem so keen to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay. Well done to all involved, looking forward to our next stay.
PS The hotel is ideal for anyone attending a concert in the National Concert Hall - five minute's walk & you're there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

As mentioned many times before, the location for the Dublin Hilton is pretty good. A 20 minute walk, or a 1.5E ride (2 stops) on the tram will get you to one of the main squares. It faces the canal, and it's a quiet neighborhood - but there is a tram running inches from the wall of the hotel, and live (loud) music in the lounge on the weekends. This may or may not be a problem, depending on where your room is located. I was on the 4th (Club) floor, and although I could hear them clearly in the hall, neither bothered me in my room.

As a HHonors Gold, I found some bottled water, wine, and two chocolates in my room upon arrival. Note that the Club floor is not the same as an Executive floor - there is no lounge, but whole fruit is left on a plate by the elevators. Breakfast (plentiful but not great) in the restaurant was provided as a benefit.

If you haven't been to Dublin, get ready for sticker shock when you see the food prices. Especially for Americans with a lousy exchange rate... two appetizers, a side, and a cheese plate from room service cost nearly $60US. The Internet charge is 20E for 24 hours, which amounts to highway robbery since there were lots of tv ads for home broadband service at around 30E/month.

The staff were pleasant but seemed to be permanently short-handed at the restaurant, lounge, and front desk.

I had a good stay, but will consider staying at the Hilton Kilmainham on my next visit. The Kilmainham is slightly further from the city center, but 13-15E per day will buy you 24 hours on the hop-on-hop-off buses which stop right outside. Last I checked, the price differential between the two properties was more than twice that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbyerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stopped off here after getting the ferry across from Holyhead. Used a Hilton Honours free night which made it all the better. Excellent location right by the tram which goes to St Stephen's Green it is a great place to recover from the shock of the outrageous prices for food and drink in Dublin.
The only niggle would be breakfast and the hot buffet that these chain hotels do and particularly the lack of proper toast. Best avoid breakfast and go to a cafe somewhere. One day they might learn.
Great rooms, helpful staff, who needs breakfast anyway?

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We flew into Dublin airport and caught the Air Bus run by Dublin transport a great value 6Euro single which takes you all the way to OConnel Street. Hotel is 15 minute walk from Grafton Street, and gaiety Theatre, we caught tram which took 5 mins and drops off right next to hotel, good value at 1.50Euro. Friendly staff at Hilton, booked a kingsize deluxe which was good we were at the front and was quite noisy as there was a fairly busy road. Breakfast was very busy and selection of food was ok, not as good as other breakfasts, the breakfast staff though were very friendly. Handy location away from hustle and bustle of centre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The Hilton Hotel was luxury from the minute we checked in.
We were lucky to get a fantastic package which included two nights B&B for €45 per person per night and it was at the week end.

The rooms were really nice and clean, they even had welcoming gifts of water, 2 small bottles of wine and chocolates!!!

We decided to have dinner in their restaurant which was good value, well presented, lots of it and very tasty.We even chose to have a couple of drinks in the bar and ended up staying until the early hours. Their bar is very trendy and does not have the look of a "hotel bar".

Breakfast was a fantastic display of a wide range of cold to hot food and drinks. The variety was just great, the food was very fresh and there were lots of it. it just suited everyone in our group, no one was disappointed at all.

The staff were really helpful and friendly.

I would absolutly recommend this hotel to everyone for business and leisure, it has a great location and has the Luas just outside the door!!.

I will most undoubtly be back to enjoy the luxuries of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is fine & has most of the amenities needed on a business trip. The staff are friendly & helpful. The dinner in the restaurant in the evening sounded better on the menu than in reality & judging by the fact we were the only ones in there eating indicates to me that guests would prefer to eat elsewhere. The only other negative thing is that it is right next to the tram line & so you get constant noise from trams coming & going, which tended to keep us awake.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#20 of 153 in Dublin
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing