We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Experience”
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2008

The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable. However we felt it lacked a little soul.
Each member of staff we met was 'corporately polite' and while I wouldn't prefer rude staff I felt 'something' was lacking.
The breakfast was okay. Two adults and a child, we were place at a tiny table and no one asked if we needed any help/childseat/food for our daughter. We were surprised by this as our experience in other hotels would have been the opposite.
It's location is just perfect. It's just minutes from the Luas which services the city centre and some of the 'south side' suburbs. It's also a ten minute walk from St. Stephen's Green.
Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, but not for families. Had I been on business it would have been ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

I have just returned from six days at the Hilton. The hotel is some minutes walk from the aircoach stop (Leeson Street) along the canal. It is about a ten minutes walk to get to Stephen's Green. The room was clean and of an appropriate size and obviously recently refurbished. All the members of the staff were very nice, especially in the restaurant and the bar. We booked an offer for breakfast and dinner directly on the website of the hotel. Dinner was a three course meal, which we chose from the menu.
Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

I booked this hotel direct through the hotel website, choosing a three day offer with dinner on the first night and breakfast on the other three days. The dinner was exceptional - equivalent to any good restaurant, with excellent service and food. Breakfast was also exceptional. The room was quiet even though it looks out onto the tram line(very convenient for access to the town centre). The decor was great and the room was spotless - I just couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerUsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

had a fantastic stay staff very helpfull food excellent and rooms were lovely very relaxing. dublin its self is very expensive thogh but would definatley return. would recomend this hotel for everyone. top marks.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank angieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed here one night recently when attending a concert in the RDS. (about 30 mins walk) This was the nearest we could get - well it was Bruce Springsteen !
Good location with the Luas station right outside the front door.
The station is called Charlemont and is on the Green Line.
Very handy for shoppers - one way is Stephens Green and Grafton Street and 6 stops the other way is Dundrum shopping centre !
The hotel is fine - nothing fantastic. Booked well in advance on the hotel's website so got a good rate. However we looked to change from a double to a twin on arrival but it couldn't be done which I wasnt happy about but the hotel was booked out. They did offer a pull out bed which was gladly accepted - basically the missus couldn't attend so a mate came instead !
Breakfast was just ok - coffee from a machine - not very nice.
Seemed to be popular with tourists and particularly coach groups. Parking on site at a reduced rate.
Wont be staying again but that is my policy for all hotels - too many other hotels in Dublin to try out !

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cunningm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We recently stayed in the Hilton Charlemont and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Although we had originally booked Hilton Kilmainham, there was a booking error and we were moved to Charlemont, we were disappointed about this initially as we'd booked Kilmainham to attend a concert.

Our disppointment was short lived- our stay in Charlemont was great;staff were friendly and helpfull in arranging our complimentary taxi to and from the concert.Also, thanks for the complimentary bottle of wine for the inconvenience, although it didn't feel like an inconveniece at all after!

Would definatly recommend hotel to people as it's convenient to city centre by foot or by luas and decor is modern and clean!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank denny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

The hotel is a nice place for a short viist to this bustling city.
The rooms are not special but are clean and adequate for a few days. Expect the usual routene at check-in and service at dinner. What is nice about this hotel is its location and transport service to the centre. Overall a relaxing visit

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kersticrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
593 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $141 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing