We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms n breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice rooms n breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2013. I arrived before check in time and was allowed to store my bags with them while my room was being prepared. I just booked a regular room with the lowest rate and I was very happy with my spacious room. Yes there was no view (faces the courtyard) but it was really quiet. There is a minibar in the room but it was locked n you cannot use it to store your own beer :( but there is a convenience store jus round the corner which sells snacks and drinks.
I had breakfast in the hotel which was free as I had Gold hilton status. It was a full buffet breakfast with very good fresh baked pastries such as danish, crossants n yummy muffins! There was a range of coffee drinks n tea which the staff will gladly let you take away after your breakfast.
Location wise I find it ok and the walk into st stephen green was a leisurely 10 mins stroll. I did not even take the luas to town as I was lucky to get great weather and find walking more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    739
    282
    79
    45
See reviews for
208
662
113
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I chose this for our weekend in Dublin, due to its price vs location vs Tripadvisor rating and we were very happy with it in every way.

Check in was straightforward and decently welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean and well-equipped - a broken hair dryer (they're cunningly hidden in a black bag, hanging up in the wardrobe !) was replaced within 2 minutes.

The buffet breakfast is great and the bar serves great cocktails, albeit its not cheap - the pub "The Barge" is 100m away and is a great place to drink beer and hang out.

Location is good, opposite the LUAS tram stop, which is frequent enough and takes you straight into the centre of Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad Province, Iraq
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Okay, let me start with a bit of a disclaimer: just prior to arriving in Dublin for my long overdue Emerald Isle dream vacation/ancestral pilgrimage, I'd stayed at the Hilton Kuwait Resort (HKR) in Kuwait City, and the HKR truly spoiled me, as it's the gold standard for Hiltons (and hotels in general IMHO).

Therefore, being spoiled by the HKR, I was admittedly a wee bit underwhelmed upon my arrival at the Hilton Dublin; unlike the HKR, the concierge was ready to assist me with my baggage immediately upon arrival, the room itself was comparatively small and didn't have the complimentary fruit bowl or sweets that the HKR did (though it did have the complimentary water bottles), and the snacks & refreshments I'd pre-ordered during my online booking weren't ready when I checked in. The lack of a spa was also a trifle disappointing.

Those initial rough spots noted, the staff was very friendly and more than made up for lost time. Michelle at the Front Desk was very efficient and knowledgeable in processing my check-in, Jeroen (intern from Austria, I beileve?) worked hard to get my baggage and process my aforementioned snack & refreshment order, and the Filipino gentleman from Room Service (Richard or Robert, I beileve his name was?)...and the portions of those snacks were VERY generous in size.

The pub had a pleasant atmosphere, and Daniel and the other servers whose names escape me (my apologies for forgetting; among them were a blond lady from Poland and a young bespectacled lad from Moldova) provided top-notch service.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, and my thanks and compliments to Paul the manager and his staff.

And special thanks to Sylwia (the super-cute Polish lass with the glasses) and the other Front Desk staff whose names I'm unable to remember at the moment (again, my apologies for forgetting); they were all excellent.

The hotel is also conveniently situated right next to a rail station, and the canal waterfront right across from the hotel lobby makes for a highly refreshing and scenic morning run. Many restaurants (check out the Seagrass and the Rotana Cafe) & pubs within easy walking distance, as is (for the benefit of my fellow Catholics) the Church of Mary Immaculate (the green-domed church).

Overall, definitely a place I would recommend to any friends or associates staying in Dublin, a fine introduction to the city and country that was my dream vacation for so many years, and definitely a place I would choose to stay at again during my next Dublin foray! Well-done, Hilton Dubiln, thanks, God bless, and Erin Go Bragh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrojanSkyCop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear TrojanSkyCop1,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

We thank you for your detailed feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just make sure your room is not located near the luas line. It can disturb your sleep late and early next morning. Welcome is good, food satisfactory and well located. Parking facilities are good. Wi-fi is limited so you need to ensure you book a room with this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

On a one night visit to Dublin we stayed at the Hilton due to its proximity to Dublin city centre. The luas ( tram ) stops right outside and for €3.10 return it takes you into St Stephens Green which is at the top of a lovely shopping area Grafton Street. Secure underground parking is available at €10 per night and a lift takes you directly to reception. Check in was dealt with very efficiently by a very helpful receptionist. We were in a very well equipped room on the 4th floor which faced the courtyard. Room was clean and well maintained.
After walking around Dublin all day we decided to have dinner in the restaurant. It was ok but next time we will try some of the local restaurants. A bottle of white wine which we ordered costing €31 arrived luke warm and it was only after insisting we would not take it the waitress brought a cold bottle. Also one of our sides didn't arrive until the meal was finished.
Beds were very comfortable and a good nights sleep was guaranteed. Breakfast which was lovely with a big selection of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese and Irish cooked Breakfast was served until 12 noon.
Overall the Hilton is a very good hotel and apart from our little issue at dinner we would definitely stay here again if we got a good rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent 1 night in the Hilton Dublin. We arrived at 5.30pm and the hotel lobby was busy with no Check-in staff available to check us in. The staff were not very friendly and I asked about booking dinner and was told that there was no service till after 8pm. Restaurant staff efficient. Food was ok, one of our starters was cold, the main courses were delicious but the sides werent great, dessert poor, apple crumble tastless due to being burnt on top.
Room was clean and nicely decorated but bathroom could do with updating.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conaldavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Conaldavan

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am very saddened to hear that your overall stay was not satisfactory. I would like to thank you however for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback positive and negative as it allows us to constructively review our service and quality where needed.

Your feedback has been shared with our senior management team for review and action on the points you have mentioned.

I do hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here with a friend of mine after traveling through Ireland. Quite a change after the warm, cozy B&Bs and castle we spent most of our time in! I gave it an average for value since the value of a B&B is hard to beat! I used points for this one. Definitely a nice option, lots of western comforts, good staff, good location. The twin beds were very small! Great wifi, seemed to be more or a business hotel, but it was nice for our purposes as well. Easy on-site parking (although they don't wave the fee, even for Diamonds)

Easy walking distance to Trinity College and other sites. Nicely situated on the river!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing