We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for a 40th Birthday Party”
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a 40th Birthday Party”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had my 40th Birthday Party at this hotel. I have to say that the venue was perfect. The staff were amazing, they were so nice, and so helpful and made me feel very special. I have been to this hotel on many other occasions for dinner and have always found it to be superb. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Lisa S,

I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful visit to the Hilton Dublin. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we hope to see you back in our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    773
    293
    87
    47
See reviews for
222
703
117
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very convenient hotel in a peaceful canalside location, away from hustle and bustle of city but right next to luas tram stop that takes you to St Stephens Green in the centre. Aircoach airport bus stops quite nearby, although not directly outside, and you can walk along the canal on a path to reach the hotel. Typical Hilton hotel.. lots of American guests who appeared to be exploring their Irish heritage and buying Trinity College/shamrock t-shirts to match! Breakfast at weekends is served until midday which was great and there was loads of choice with some Irish touches too (white pudding, scones, soda bread etc.). Very enjoyable stay and we would come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In my previous job I was fortunate to travel within Europe, North America and parts of the UAE. I stayed at many hotels including the Hilton.
Several years later, a family and a different job this is the first time my Wife and I have gone away for a leisurely weekend break, based on my experience the Hilton seemed a great choice of hotel.
The Hilton Dublin based at Charlemont is in a good location and around 10 minutes walk from the City Centre, there is a 'luas' tram stop just outside the hotel.
The hotel staff are courteous and helpful, however, I didn't feel I was staying at a Hilton Hotel. The rooms are clean but very bland, the TV service is antiquated, the mini-bar was faulty and their are no draws in the room to keep your clothes.
The hilton website claims this hotel has a Business Center, however, this is not true. I needed access to a computer and a printer to print e-tickets, fortunately, the friendly concierge allowed us to use their computer.
We dined at the 'Uisce Restaurant' - the food quality was average at best and not worth the money.
I would stay at a Hilton hotel again just not this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozztec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Admin at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear ozztec 123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to learn that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. I would like to thank you however for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback positive and negative as it allows us to constructively review our service and quality where needed. I do hope you will consider returning in the future and you are most welcome.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the City Centre, either on foot or via the Luas Tram service. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good but we preferred to dine in the city rather than in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Arthurgree51,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is great to see you had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillimh, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found the service in this hotel to be very good. The rooms were a good size, very clean, comfortable and it had all of the amenities that we needed. The staff were also very friendly and provided a very good service. I also loved the use of the Irish language in signage. I enjoyed my stay and I will defiantly recommend it to my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Brid N,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and you had all the usual facilities including a TV, safe, electric kettle and a great selection of tea and coffee. Even the fridge was stocked which was a surprise since all the other hotels up to this stage on our tour were empty. Our room was right next to the tram so it could get noisy but it wasn't an issue during the day since we were out and about and we tended to close the window at night when we slept and turn on the air con instead for some air flow. Breakfast in the morning was very good - a nice selection of foods and you could even make your own carrot juice. Location was also pretty good. It's about a 10-15 minutes to Grafton Street for some shopping and another couple of minutes to O'Connell street. There's also a Bar across the road if you don't want to eat at the hotel itself. My gripe is that there was no free wifi in the rooms whereas I could access free wifi in even 3 star hotels. At least you could access it for free down in the lobby. Overall a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear S P,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is good to see that you enjoyed your visit overall. Unfortunately it is Hilton policy that we charge for WIFI usage in the guest rooms, this is something that may be reviewed in the future. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not a bad hotel, average at best. In Dublin the buses have free wifi however you have to pay for wifi at the hotel. Though it is not expensive, 4.99 euros what is super annoying is only two devices can be used per room. So if you gave a smart phone and ipad it'll work for you. However if your traveling with your partner you can only use one device each. Once you have logged onto Internet, the main page says don't close this page as you have to log out of it to use the wifi on another device. With the iPad and iPhone you have to close the page to get to the safari icon. So to switch devices you have to call the front desk to have them log you out. After traveling in Ireland for 10 days EVERY hotel we stayed at had free wifi for unlimited devices. Based on this inconvenience I would not stay at the Hilton again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Grayson C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripdadvisor regarding your recent stay.

Thank you for your feedback it is most appreciated. Unfortunately it is Hilton policy that we charge for WIFI in our guest rooms this may be reviewed in the future, complimentary WIFI is available in our public areas such as the lobby, bar and restauarant.

I have shared your feedback with our I.T manager, but at this moment each connection purchased is limited to two devices per connection.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do hope you will afford us the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Conrad Dublin
#11 of 151 in Dublin
474 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing