We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Excellent Staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Excellent Staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a standard room. And the room was of a good "standard", nothing exceptional or unique, i could have been in a chain hotel anywhere in Europe. This is sometimes a good thing as you always know what to expect with no suprises. However, i found the staff to be of an exceptional standard. From the moment my group walked in we felt very welcomed and it really felt genuine. All of my experiences in this hotel were positive, the staff were eager to please and assist. We could not have been happier with the customer service here. Hotel is in a fair location, easy access to City Tram or a 15 minute walk to shopping and attractions, taxis are always available at the front door. I can highly recommend this hotel to a business traveller or a first time visitor to Dublin as the staff will proudly show off their lovely city and provide you with all the assistance you need in an unfamiliar city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear giodxb
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. The team were delighted with your feedback and send their thanks.
I am glad you found or location for convenient to your stay. Thank you also for your kind recommendation for both the business and leisure guest.
Thank you again from all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Dublin

Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    736
    282
    78
    45
See reviews for
206
661
113
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Got a great deal for a Saturday night, hotel located next to a beautiful canal and about a 10-15 min walk to the centre however the luas (tram) leaves from right outside the hotel doors and will take you in to the town and temple bar area for €1.60. We got the air coach from the hotel back to the airport which leaves from a bus stop 5 min walk away from the hotel (lesson street) so even though the hotel is just outside the centre it's location is beautiful & everything is easy access. Hotel is friendly, clean, cosy and welcoming. wifi was free in the lounge & a reasonable €5 in the room for 24hrs, The room was a great size, spotless, well equipt we enjoyed our stay and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear HayleyP
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay so much with us and found the location so central and convenient.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and the rooms. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hilton hotels are often expensive. Thankfully, I got a good deal for last saturday night. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of St Stephens Green. What I really like about the hotel is that you are on the doorstep of Ranelagh - one of the nicest "villages" in Dublin. The Luas is outside the frontdoor so you can get to the city centre very easily ( only 2 stops).
The rooms are well presented and very clean. There is a good choice of channels incl. Sky Sports. Breakfast (included) was excellent.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again if the price was right. It is a part of Dublin I know well and the underground parking is an added bonus (€10 for the night).

Room Tip: Limited no. of parking spaces. Arrive early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VOREnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear VOREnnis
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so central, I was especially glad to see you visited Ranelagh, it really is a lovely place with something for everyone.
The team send their thanks regarding your kind comments and were thrilled to see you enjoyed the rooms and of course the Hilton Breakfast.
We hope to see you back again soon

Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in the Hilton this weekend, we had previously stayed here a few years ago. It's very much improved, the overall look of the hotel is very modern and well finished. The room we had 524 was very nice, clean and modern at the back of the hotel. The only drawback was the Luas which a bit of a mixed blessing, it's right outside the hotel and only 2 stops to St.Stephens green, but the drawback being , there is quite a bit of noise from the trams, especially at the back of the hotel where the trams go down an incline and the brakes make a horrendous squealing noise. The Luas runs from 5:45 until 12:30 weekdays with a slightly curtailed service at weekends. For me it wasn't a big problem, but I could see how some people might find it annoying.
The check-in staff were professional and friendly, although we couldn't check in until 3:00 pm but again not a huge problem.
The bar area is pleasant, a bit characterless and on Saturday night, there were only 3 servers , so it was a bit slow. The food was well prepared and tasty, a bit expensive but Dublin prices are getting beyond a joke.
The breakfast was a buffet, which was first class, a great selection of hot and cold dishes, the cooked breakfast which included sausages, bacon, black and white pudding, hash browns, potato bread, various types of eggs, beans, grilled mushrooms, tomatoes etc was fresh and cooked to perfection.
Parking in the underground car park was 10 euro per night, there didn't appear to be a lot of spaces for hotel guests, but I'm not sure if there are more areas we didn't accesss.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will have no hesitation returning to the hotel.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Linda_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Jim_Linda_Shan
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you returned to stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel we strive to improve our service and thank you for saying so.
I apologise if you had any interruption from the LUAS we are due to start phase 2 of our triple glazing in the next month and hope this will block out noise in a further 40 rooms at the back of the hotel,
Thank you for your lovely review of the food and of course the Hilton Breakfast, we have just launched a new improved menu and hope you get to come to sample it.
Our car park has 50 spaces however we do have more spaces available at the weekend for leisure guests. Please do not hesitate to contact Reception should you require anything during your stay.
We would be delighted to welcome you back again to the Hotel.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I took hubby to Dublin for his birthday and wanted something special for him. The rates I found for the Hilton were not much more than some other hotels in the St Stephen's Green area and had the best reviews. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is located by the Grand Canal, which is pretty much the boundary of where you want to be. It's right by the LUAS tram link which will take you up to St Stephen's Green in a few minutes or it's about a 10/15 minute walk. It's a fairly quiet area, except the hotel is right on a main road so you can hear the road noise but it's not too bad because the windows are good and block most of the noise. There's a decent pub round the corner too which serves good lunch and dinner. We found it easy to get to lots of the central part of Dublin, for restaurants, pubs, Trinity College, the Castle etc.

We had a standard double room booked. It was a spacious room and the bed was bigger than mine at home and super comfy. We were on the 5th floor with a view of the canal, the tram stop is right outside so you can hear that a bit too but it's not too bad. There's a full length mirror and a dresser, a reclining chair and table, and the usual tea & coffee making facilities. In addition there was an ice bucket and wine glasses and an ice machine in the hallway. The only negative was that we couldn't figure out how to get into the fridge. The wardrobe had proper hangers, and plenty of them, and spare pillows/blankets and an iron/ironing board.

We had a bath in the bathroom as well as a shower which was fabulous. The controls on the shower were notably easy and there was a curved shower rail - they've really thought about the little things here and it really makes a difference. There were all the usual complimentary toiletries which were replaced the next day too.

We were really impressed with the room - it was everything we wanted it to be. We couldn't hear any noise from the hallway or from other rooms and the TV had excellent choice of channels. We had what we considered a bargain breakfast in the hotel both mornings too. For €10 we had a full cooked and continental breakfast and the most amazing freshly squeezed OJ. It was quite clear that the ingredients were of a high quality and we really felt it was excellent value for money.

The hotel provides free wifi downstairs but charges €4.99 per 24 hours in the room and €4 per 15 minutes at the computers in the lobby. However, they do allow you to check in online for free. They use a proper ticketing system for the luggage when you need to leave it there after check out, and they have a fixed rate €26 fare to the airport (although our driver ignored that and charged us €34 anyway).

We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel, but the menus looked really good and reasonable compared to prices elsewhere in Dublin. The 24hr room service was super expensive though - €16 for a margarita pizza!

Overall we had a great stay here, and we'd definitely return to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor - it minimises the noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firemunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Firemunchkin
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope he enjoyed his birthday in Dublin.
I am glad you got to experience some of the amenities that the hotel has to offer. Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast, it is always a great talking point in reviews. I am delighted to see you enjoyed it.
I apologise for any issues over your taxi, I will of course pass this feedback to the taxi company.
We hope to welcome you back to celebrate many more birthdays.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Previous reviews which we read were accurate. This hotel offers really good value for money and is very pleasant and comfortable. There is a business centre and the restaurant is very good. It is worth getting hold of a bus map from the central office as you can easily get into the city by bus as well as the LUAS tram which is just outside. Highly recommended

Room Tip: There are some quiet rooms and it is worth upgrading to executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulinethomas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear PaulineThomas60
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel comfortable and centrally located. Thank you also for your kind recommendation.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel when you return to Dublin.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great city hotel, basic facilities but a great city place to stay. It is also near the tram stop and we were more then delighted at the ease in which we could travel around Dublin from the hotel, and though you have to walk about 200 yards to the other line if you need it, it was no trouble as it was through the city centre. We found the hotel in a superb location over looking the canal and the area was safe and well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Kathryn11
Thank you kindly for your lovely review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed of location so much and you were able to travel around the city with ease. I hope you got to see all you planned.
We hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#20 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Property: Hilton Dublin
Address: 2 Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas, perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum town centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium, this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a fillet steak from our grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on Hop Off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing