We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away! Worst hotel experience ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portobello Hotel
Ranked #103 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stay Away! Worst hotel experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked Landsdowne hotel months ago As attending Michael Buble concert.Upon arrival to check in at 4 pm we were informed that no rooms were available and we were being relocated to another hotel.had already paid for parking - not refunded. Relocated to the Portobello Townhouse.We were informed at the Landsdowne that this hotel was much better than theirs. Well if that is the case The Landsdowne must be a complete shambles altogether . We arrived back to the hotel after the concert to be greeted to music blaring. This music continued until 3 in the morning! I rang reception to complain and the receptionist informed me that this information was on the website. I informed him we had not booked to stay here and nobody else should book to stay here either!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cblb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    100
    40
    26
    23
See reviews for
36
100
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I will never stay here again! I would never recommend anyone to stay here!!
Loudest room ever, blaring music until after 3am!!!!
We had book another hotel (Landsdown Hotel) but due to their overbooking or as they said a plumbing issue we got placed here.
Don't stay here!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aloofasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked a room at the last minute and paid 48€ for the night. Not a 5 star but we didn't expect that. Room was clean, reception courteous and we could sleep a good night for a reasonnable price. All we hoped for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We (me & my husband) stayed here for a weekend break in Dublin, having struggled to find accommodation that was reasonably priced and available we found this gem. Although a little further out than we would have perhaps liked (it was about a 20-30minute walk to Grafton St/Temple Bar) the hotel was great, the staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was clean and had a good shower, we overlooked the road and although a little noisy because we were above the outside drinking area this did not cause us a problem. Great breakfast and a nice bar - we'd recommend it. Although not cheap, it was reasonable by Dublin standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel has seen better days. The room we had looked out over the roof, garbage and a air conditioning unit even though there was no AC. It is located in a part of town where Lebanese and Indian food stores outnumber Irish food. The Hotel manager was nice, sitting area furniture like the rest of the place was in need of replacement. Elevator was kind of scary. For the price $79 Euros it was bearly OK for a night. Dinner food wasn't being served in the bar because of the bank holiday. Ate down the street at the Barge. That was when we noticed the Hilton next door. Checked the price and rooms were $128 Euros. Bed was bad and the pillows are as thin as cardboard. Carpeting in the halls and the rooms needed to be replaced. Pick somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip to Dublin. It's an economical choice and within walking distance (about 20 minutes) to Trinity College, St. Patrick's Cathedral, and most of the other things I wanted to see. The full Irish breakfast was delicious. I had a single room, and it was very small but clean and all I needed. Be sure to bring your own shampoo. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Nice restaurants nearby, especially the Lebanese restaurant just around the corner. The bar downstairs kept things lively, and there's a lot of foot traffic along the canal. I didn't find it too noisy to sleep, but it's something to consider. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendliest staff of our trip so far. Basic room, quite acceptable. Clean. On main intersection, so not the quietest. Night club in basement, again, not too bad. Plenty if supermarkets for alcohol and snacks if u want a night in. Overall good.

Room Tip: If u want a nice view you will have noise. Don't know about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Kilronan House
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Harrington Hall
#85 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Hilton Dublin
#54 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Hotel

Property: Portobello Hotel
Address: 33 South Richmond Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portobello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Portobello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing