We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“portobello hotel”
Review of Portobello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portobello Hotel
Ranked #111 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendliest staff of our trip so far. Basic room, quite acceptable. Clean. On main intersection, so not the quietest. Night club in basement, again, not too bad. Plenty if supermarkets for alcohol and snacks if u want a night in. Overall good.

Room Tip: If u want a nice view you will have noise. Don't know about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 279 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff is absolutely amazing. very helpful and friendly. the hotel is not too far from the center. you can walk every where or catch the bus really close. loved all. a good room. good breakfast. and it's good to have a pub in the building!

Room Tip: 305 is big and has a good open view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabetemuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent 2 nights in Portobello Hotel.I must say-I've had a pleasant surprise when I opened the door to my room.Clean,spacious,comfy bed,hudge bathroom with hudge shower:)Outside temp was around +5^C inside my room over 25^C:)))))The Recepcionists(lady and the guy)was excellent-nice and friendly-always with a smile on their faces,helpful.In the morning I had an Irish breakfast cooked by a genius Romanian Chef and served with superb quality service by Romanian girl.In the evening I went for a dinner-had a nice Irish beef burger-unfortunetely the woman taking the order was quite unpleasant and ,let's say,"cold"This is the only reason its 4 stars out of five..
Definetly will stay there again!!!
Thanks Guys!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomasz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was in a 3 day business trip to Dublin and wanted somewhere affordable, well located and nice to stay. The Portobello was perfect. The room was of a high quality, and looked to have been recently refurbished, the location was excellent and the stay overall was exactly what I was looking for but exceeded expectations for the price paid. Also food quality was good, staff excellent and bar downstairs very comfortable and inviting. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thank you very much Portobello Hotel. Me my wife and our 11 months old son Patrick had a wonderfull stay at the Portobello Hotel. Wonderfull charming staff. We were in room 210 and stayed a week. The room was clean, warm and cosy. Every morning we had our Irish breakfast served by a very nice lady. Even lunch was very good. Price and quality. And here too the staff was great. I Thank the Irish lady that was there at lunch time! Even the pub downstairs was excellent. Great Guinness and good pub food! Who ever is looking for a charming place with a real Irish taste in the city of Dublin with an excelent staff, good food, clean rooms Portobello hotel/Pub is the place. Great location with only 15 min. walk to city center. Will definitely go back to Portobello next time in Dublin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed 9-12 November I had a room over looking the canal 2nd floor.....The hotel is a old building at least 120 years in the original parts I arrived early and was able to check in very helpful reception staff......room was very clean and no complaints bed was very comfortable mattress and bedding all very new......breakfast was very good, tea coffee choice of juice cereal toast and then cooked breakfast ......I also had 2 meals in the evening very bar area is beautiful original features large screen TVs for sport......reception staffed 24 hours.....I had a hire car sat and sun and after 6.30 parking is free other times you pay parked no problems in street each time.......7 minutes drive to centre...My TV was small maybe that could be upgraded but i wasnt there to watch TV free wifi ......Plenty of staff on duty at all times I also went to the club on sat night for a couple hours ........This bar played a part in the 1916 troubles shame it is not highlighted somewhere !!!!!!! Yes id stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Per gli Italiani: consigliato! l'addetto alla reception parla anche un buon italiano!

Very good hotel! in 15-minute walk (at most) are in the center. Our room was great, very large, clean, with large tv, necessary for you and a beautiful view from the windows. Efficient and friendly reception, which gave us all the necessary information. Very nice pub below: nice people, good food, good beer. Live music in some afternoons. Great breakfast, you can choose between Irish and continental breakfast.
Quality / price excellent!

Recommended!

When I get back to Dublin, I will definitely stay at Portobello!
And for Italians: the receptionist speaks good Italian!

Room Tip: The pub can be noisy on Saturday night. Ask for a quiet room! Or stay out and have fun until late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippopelo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Hotel St. George
#70 of 152 in Dublin
762 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 152 in Dublin
659 reviews
The Camden Hotel
#130 of 152 in Dublin
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uppercross House Hotel
#79 of 152 in Dublin
356 reviews
Latchfords Townhouse
#109 of 152 in Dublin
127 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#63 of 152 in Dublin
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Hotel

Address: 33 South Richmond Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $80 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portobello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing