We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bit shabby and run down but clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. George

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel St. George
Ranked #81 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“bit shabby and run down but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is located within an easy walk into Dublin CBD. Our room was small, clean but with old fittings though the bathroom had been updated. Creaky floors meant when the people upstairs were packing in the middle of the night they sounded like elephants in the room. The coridoor floors creaked and groaned underfoot waking us all up in the middle of the night. While I appreciate this is an old building that some noises are inevitable, I think there has to be a point where client comfort is taken into account and something is done to lessen the noise, caulking filling or something.
Our breakfast was good, however the bacon tasted like it had been cooked with fish, and one wait staff member couldnt cope with the workload she had. I didnt appreciate her manner and wagging finger telling me to wait a minute (3 times!!). The other staff members seemed to be coping quite well with their duties.

Room Tip: rooms overlook an internal courtyard that backs into other businesses etc....nothing to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diiabolical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel St George. Our rooms are currently in the process of being updated and it seems you were assigned a room that has yet to be complete. As you pointed out the building is old so there is little we can do in relation to the noise caused by old walls and floors, but I have noted your comments and I will try to address the issue. I would like to apologise on behalf of the staff member in the dining room, at times the dining room can be quite busy and our staff are under pressure. This however is not an excuse and I will address it with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    262
    133
    45
    33
See reviews for
108
257
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

As a group organiser, I booked the Hotel St George, my party of 46, had a great stay, nothing was to much trouble, We arrived earlier than was expected, this wasn,t a problem ,Karl (manager) had our keys & suitcases sorted in no time, informing us off all we needed to know., so we could get on with our tour, Breakfast, was good & hearty, the Irish breakfast, was enormous, great start to the day, Hotel rooms were clean and airy, beds very comfortable, water was piping hot, filled a large bath, for a well earned soak. Definitely would stay again when in Dublin Location ideal, at top O"Connell street on Parnell Square,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Sue, thank you very much for your kind words and positive feedback on Hotel St George. We are delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you or any members of your group again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Located practically in the end of O'Connell street and very good place for your "headquarters" while being in Dublin as it's short distance walk to everywhere. Beautiful interior and very neat & cozy rooms. The twin room had a bath tub which was a lovely surprise. The walls were quite thin so if you're unlucky to get noisy neighbours that might be an annoyance but we did not have to suffer from that. It was quiet and mostly a bit elderly & adult people with no children.

TV quality was rather poor (but then who's there to watch TV anyway?) and the people at the reception were not exactly the friendly Irish you read about in traveling guides. They were not rude or anything but not particularly friendly either. Wifi was ok but not working very good.

The breakfast was great and there's a vegetarian option. Irish soda bread was really yummy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Johanna, Thank you for your recent review of Hotel St George. Firstly I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel St George and in Dublin. I have noted your comments about staff and I have addressed this issue with them. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak U.K.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We made a good choice by staying here. Public transport is outside the entrance. The room was a good size with chairs, desk and table. The staff are great.
This is certainly our next time place to stay. Well done Hotel St. George.

Room Tip: Try 211. It's quiet and away from the lift. Not a good outlook but then that's what you expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to see you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is beautiful. Just up from o'connell street on Parnell square near the main drag and easy access to the city. My father's comments were it was clean convenient and easy access to city centre. All true. Only downsides were no lift down to breakfast area but they did accommodate us by taking breakfast up to the main living room for the disabled member of our party. Plus steps on all floors from the lift to the floors so disabled access not as good as could be. Very accommodating with luggage if you left late or arrived early. Allowed us to swop rooms to try and accommodate a pregnant member so we had a twin rather than a double. All in all good experience, very clean, very tidy and good access to the city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hotel St George. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I apologize that our breakfast room is not accessible by the lift. Our breakfast room is located in the original Georgian House which is over 200 years old so unfortunately it is not possible for us to have access to the breakfast room by lift, despite this I do understand that this can cause an inconvenience to some guests. I hope that this will not discourage you from staying at Hotel St George again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The location is almost perfect to a lot of the tourist attractions in Dublin. A lot of BUS stops right on front if you intend to use some. New amenities every day and beds made. Lovely Irish breakfast.

Although, the room sound proofing was not that good, as I could hear everything happening around the corridor. Also, the wifi connection was quite poor, but that could be because I was on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top, as WiFi can get quite flaky. Also, avoid rooms near the elevator, as sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyfacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review for our property and your kind comments. I would like to apologize for the flaky WiFi connection. We are aware of this problem and we are updating our WiFi connection throughout the entire property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked this hotel for my parents as a 70th birthday treat. They found the hotel to be clean and were extremely pleased with their bedroom, stating that it was kept in good condition and of a good size. Apparently the breakfast was excellent and filled them for the whole day until tea. They were especially impressed with all the staff and how friendly they were to them. They would not hesitate to revisit Dublin and would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karldelaney, General Manager at Hotel St. George, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Deb. Thank you for your recent review for Hotel St George and for recommending our property. I am delighted to hear that your parents enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming them again in the future and we hope that you may also get the chance to stay with us also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castle Hotel
#60 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Property: Hotel St. George
Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing