We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, bad beds!”
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. George
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old, bad beds!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The beds are too old and should be replaced: we booked seven rooms and this was the case in all of them. The rest of the hotel is OK, but not luxurious. Kind staff, good breakfast. Walking distance to most sights in Dublin.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noisy when it's hot and you need to sleep with an open window, no ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinevdWoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    288
    140
    48
    36
See reviews for
116
274
58
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Informal and welcoming staff. Room clean; bathroom clean. Location for Gate Theatre is perfect. Short walk to shopping. Has a lift for easy access. Neighbouring Toddy's was handy, excellent food and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the St. Geoge Hotel during our honeymoon for three days. It is located great, directly at the end of O'Connell Street. The service was good, breakfast really great and we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in the first week of september with family initially in a 3 bedded room and later in a double room.The 3 bedded room seemed to have been converted from some common area and thus the room was narrow and cramped although well furnished.The double room was quite comfortable.The only issues the hotel should look into is that the wash basins have individual taps for hot and cold water thus one tap pours out chilled and the other scalding hot water.Mixing water in the basin I suppose dates back to the days of Oliver Twist.All hotels now and even homes have a mixer.The other is the wooden floor which creaks all the time waking you up early in the morning as soon as the early risers get active.
The hotel staff is polite and ready to help with everything all the time.The full Irish breakfast is great and something to look forward to every morning.The hotel is bang in the city centre and that makes it really convenient for a traveller.
I will return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suniltyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and reasonably priced however a couple of things would dissuade us from staying here again - unfriendly staff and noise.
When we arrived at 2.10pm after a 20 hour flight from Australia we were greeted by a very disinterested young girl at reception who abruptly informed us that we could not check in until 2.30. Fair enough, we can wait 20 minutes more if we have to! When we asked if we could leave our luggage while we went and got something to eat, she handed us a key and pointed down the hall to the luggage room. When we couldn't find the room, she just pointed again. So much for the security of the luggage left by other patrons if anyone is given the key! Clearly this girl would rather have been down the road with her mates watching the air show instead of sitting at reception! Welcome to Dublin!
When we did get our room, it was on the only floor not serviced by the lift which was a real pain as it was a long walk down the corridor and then down stairs to get to the floor. When I requested a change to another floor, the reception girl did oblige which we were grateful for. So tip is, don't get a room on the 3rd floor. The room was quite large and comfortable and breakfast plentiful. The big downside was the noise at night from the floor above. We could hear every movement as if elephants were up there. It made sleep impossible!
Would probably look for other options next time.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The experience started with the car park to use the term very loosely; a back alley--admittedly behind a metal gate--with dumpsters, empty crates, general garbage. The bedroom and bathroom were very small and had an excellent view of the dumpsters, etc. The lobby is confined, the sitting area not available to us had we wanted to sit there--which we didn't--because there were half a dozen young men with feet up on sofas, etc. The hotel is rundown, maybe seen better days altho' even that is questionable.
The hotel location is not too bad, not in the most salubrious part of Dublin, but convenient for O'Connell Str.
There are much better hotels nearby at the same price.
Avoid this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very small, tucked neatly away, hotel. The St. George benefits mainly by its location (it is within easy walking distance of Grafton Street, Trinity College, the Abbey Theater and the Book of Kells) and the staff (in particular, Zoe).

The rooms are small and a bit spartan but they are clean. For a visitor who is planning on spending a lot of time sight seeing, this is a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,526 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Property: Hotel St. George
Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing