We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value--Would Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. George
Ranked #82 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value--Would Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel if travelling to Dublin on a relatively modest budget. I thought €64 for a single room (including breakfast) was great value, given the close proximity to O Connell Street. Room was clean and spacious, but the ceiling of the bathroom could have done with a lick of paint (but only in spots). Room was also quite, but i was at the very back of the hotel. The staff were kind, courteous and efficient- can't fault 'em. The kettle in my room was damaged but it was replaced almost immediately. Also, i had left my phone charger at home, and they let me borrow there's for the night. All in all a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    266
    134
    45
    35
See reviews for
110
261
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
355 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for weekend. Very convenient for anyone staying in Dublin. 2 minutes from O'Connell St and ten minutes walk from Temple Bar the best area for Dublin pubs and music. Easy check in with very helpful staff and nothing was a problem . I noticed very mixed clients, young and old Irish and european. Europeans mostly young . We had a car and space was very limited but again staff most helpful with cars as they had to be parked careful in small parking area at rear of hotel. Rooms small but very adequate and breakfast was a big plus. Staff were very busy but did everything to be helpful. Have stayed in Dublin before but hadnt heard of this hotel. would really recommend for location , value , staff and great breakfast. enjoy.

Room Tip: for non Irish and maybe Irish if not used to staying in Dublin everything is close at hand and staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is in ideal location at the top of O'Connell Street. Arrived cold and soaked through hours before our check-in time and were over the moon that our room was ready. Really nice reception staff. Room was on 6th floor and lift worked fine our entire trip. We were at the front of the hotel so a bit of traffic noise but not excessive. Windows are old sash type and need replacing, rattled when the wind caught them. Overall our room was fine although a bit dated. Beds (double and single) and bedding were good with extra blankets and pillows. Plenty of tea and coffee, although kettle had to be boiled on floor due to lack of sockets..not a big deal but could be a bit dangerous. Bathroom nice and clean with fresh towels every day and plenty of toiletries. Toilet flush was a bit dodgy and took ages to fill cistern. Breakfast was served in nice dining room. Plenty of choice of cereals and juice followed by full Irish, toast and coffee. Sausage and puddings could have been better quality but perfectly edible and kept us going until late afternoon. Again, staff in the dining room were very pleasant. We were able to store our luggage as our flight wasn't until evening. We would stay at this hotel again, no negative experiences at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this online and had thought we were forgoing location based on the price of the Hotel. However, we were really pleased to find this was not the case. The Hotel is really easy to get to from the Airport (you just jump on the bus and it takes you really close - get off at 'Stop 7') and being on Parnell Square means it is only a few minutes away from everything you might need. Even Tample Bar is well within walking distance (or stumbling home distance) so you won't need to worry about extra expense on busses etc.

The hotel itself was as expected; budget, but clean, comfortable, and a Full Irish Breakfast. There were reallly only two isses:
1) The bed was neither the moast spacious or comfortable, but more than adequate for pasisng out in after plenty of Guiness or Irish Cider!
2) We had an irregularly flushing toilet (in that most of the time it didn't), but seeing as though we didn't spend much time in the room, this wasn't a huge issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeBlything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Parking is a challenge as they have limited space but there is a person who shuffles cars as needed. The room was quiet and reasonably warm. The breakfast was good and the service by friendly staff was very good. Reception staff were friendly and helpful also. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

When my friends and I arrived to check into the hotel we were told that they were flooded and we had to stay somewhere else. We were given a map and told to park in St George's car park, which we couldn't find. We did evetually find it, un-signposted down a back alley. We advised the man who opened the gate for us that we would need to leave at 6am the following morning. "no problem" said he. The other hotel was fine but when I arrived to collect my car, having walked down the alley in the dark on my own, there was no answer when I rang the bell (and rang and rang and rang)! I had to walk around to the front of the hotel and hang on the front door bell for someone to answer and give me access to my car! I could go on about the payment system but I won't. Just make sure you check your bill!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JustMeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The single room was obviously half of a bigger room but that was no problem. The breakfast was good and the service by friendly staff was very good. Ida Gleeson

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Property: Hotel St. George
Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum and the James Joyce Cultural Centre. We are adjacent to the Garden of Remembrance, which was visited by HRH Queen Elizabeth on her historic state visit to Ireland in 2011. We are only a five minute walk from Dublin's famous Henry Street shopping district and from Moore Street, Dublin's famous daily fresh food market, which is a must for any visitor to the city. For those who would like to experience Dublin's night life we are only a short walk from Temple Bar. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class restaurants, pubs and clubs right on the doorstep. Hotel St. George has 53 rooms and suites, free WiFi throughout, as well as a restaurant. We are renowned for our friendly service and if there is anything you need during your stay with us, please don't hesitate to ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing