We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonnington Dublin
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Regency Hotel is ideally located in Dublin, it is within walking distance if you like a good stretch to the city centre or a bus stops almost outside regularly. The hotel is attractive, clean with warm friendly helpful staff. Food is of a high standard and I enjoyed the breakfast immensely. Our room was lovely with a nice view & the pool fab at the leisure centre. The staff on reception were very helpful especially when advising on a good night out for a birthday. The regency group have other hotels and I will certainly be visiting those.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are great for families as so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hrdsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Found a cheap deal for a double room for 2 nights. We were booked into a room that was cold. When we asked about it we were told someone would be up to fix it. 2 hours later still cold I asked reception again, this time I was told that the room was a "broken" room, the heating didn't work and we should never have been booked into it. Consequently we were bumped up to a bigger room which was nice and comfortable, the only drawback was a not so great shower.
The health suite and spa are very good and free and part of the package.
Overall the staff were friendly and helpful with a few very notable exceptions, so maybe ask twice if you don't get the answer you like. Also the WiFi coverage is useless so if you need internet this won't suit you.
Overall hit and miss, with more hits than misses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamWorldWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I`ve been two times to Dublin, first time in a B&B close to Regency Hotel and second time in the hotel. The hotel was a pleasent experience, I was travelling with my mother and my daughter and we all liked the hotel alot. The staff was nice and helpful, the room was spacious (big, we had 5 beds, 2 rooms, 1 bathroom and one toilet for the 3 of us!), and with great view overlooking Dublin, breakfast area was good. Also my little girl loved the possibility to go swimming. Finding the hotel was easy and also going to the center by bus was easy.
(I went there 3 years ago so things might have changed...)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaSuFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

the room was ok,it served its purpose,reception staff were friendly and gave us directions to city centre and shopping centre which is close by. we would stay here again as its great value and easy access to city centre

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liamgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got a great deal online so was generally happy. The room was adequate with an excellent city view. Sadly the TV only worked intermittently and when brought to the attention of Reception, they weren't too bothered. Handy location between City and Airport. Food was ok but could be a lot better. I feel the Hotel lacks serious Management. The Leisure Centre was dirty. I Swam on Saturday morning and noticed empty bottles by the Jacuzzi and the dressing room had rubbish on the floor. I was disgusted to see the same stuff in the same place the following day so no cleaning done on a daily basis. Eek! Could do with a visit from the Health Inspectors!!

Room Tip: The city view rooms, while a bit tired, were cheered up by the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennyL542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was nice, bar area was lovely and food was lovely, however staff found to be rude. Reception staff whilst friendly were unable to assist with directions to a few major landmarks in the city centre.Leisure centre was great with great ammenties and beautifully presented however unaccessable from inside the hotel, meaning one would need to go out the main entrance and walk about 20 metres to access the centre.
Room was average, bathroom was newly renovated and warm. no phone in room and window was barely usable. Biggest downfall was the housekeeping staff starting their rounds at appx 730am, making quite a fair bit of noise. On sunday morning we were awoken at 9am by a cleaner knocking on the door, unacceptable before check out time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not situated at at corridors end as this is where the housekeeping store rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMartin836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel to stay in after a flight into Dublin airport. It was cheaper than everywhere else so we went for it expecting nothing much. I had seen this hotel from the road before and the big red old-fashioned sign is very off-putting...but when I drove around the side to the main enterence it was a whole different story. It looked elegant and certainly worth more than the 49euro for the night! It is conveniently located beside a convenience store. The receptionist had us checked in very fast and the whole place was well furnished and lovely. The room was warm, spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and well equipped. We were informed that we had full use if the leisure facilities but we did not avail because we were tired from traveling. We had such a relaxing time. There were plenty of channels on the TV and tea/coffee making facilities and we were able to unwind and relax without disturbance. Although the parking was not free, we only paid about 6euro for the night, I had expected it to be more. All-in-all, I would recommended this place highly over all the other "budget" hotels in the Dublin Airport vicinity. We just wanted somewhere to rest our heads but it became an extra night onto our holidays :)

Room Tip: Lifts are tiny, beware if you are claustrophobic at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brophmeister21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#114 of 151 in Dublin
796 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West County Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
312 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington Dublin

Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland (Formerly The Regency Hotel Dublin)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $85 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bonnington Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bonnington Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing