We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had booked to stay in the regency sat and sun night we arrived at reception and checked in the male receptionist was helpful and efficient we made our way to our room the carpet was disgusting on the stairs skirting off the walls paper hanging off the walls so we were not holding much faith in the rooms and we were rite no towels the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in couldn't sleep the following morning we went to reception to be told we were budget customers and could only be changed to room similar for 10 euros we decided not to as we've stayed in better campsites much cleaner and the most unhelpful staff I've come across

Room Tip: Just don't bother waist of money head to city centre hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    372
    333
    224
    254
See reviews for
289
456
62
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed one night in the old part budget room, just wanted cheap and cheerful and thats what i got.
Had a triple room which was big and clean,bathroom was dated but plenty of hot water and towels. I found it hard to sleep because of the noise, you could hear people in the corridor talking
and laughing it sounded as if they were in the room with you.
The bar was busy and expensive,we did'nt eat in hotel or use the pool.
The carpark cost 6euros for our stay which i thought good , we used the bus into city 1.9Oeuro each way.

Room Tip: Maybe better rooms in the newer part,but they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent a night in one of the older rooms (114) before getting an early flight and found it good value. It was an older room, pretty basic and old-fashioned but clean, with a hot shower and comfortable bed.
Hotel seems very popular with tour groups, the lobby was swarming with people at 9pm.
I left before breakfast so can't comment on the food or service, or the health club facilities. The large hotel parking costs extra (10euro/night) - I didn't feel like taking a chance on the Centra car park, given the signs about clamping.
Location on multiple bus routes, so a good choice near the city centre, airport and Beaumont hospital.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked as I could not get a hotel in Dublin city and the only other option was the airport so chose this hotel as it has a gym and swimming pool.

Gut feeling confirmed by the taxi driver who said I was better to stay at the airport.

The drive up to the hotel was horrible as you could see how neglected this building is with chipped and worn masonry and the extension just looked like a load of portacabins all stacked up.

Reception and public area dated but staff very nice.

Walk up to the room and number missing on the door which looked like it has been this way for a while.

Had a maid just enter the room without knocking and I did not even request anything so she left a towel.

Room furniture very tired, paintwork missing, hole in the wall just painted over rather than filled in first, bathroom has a pitted bath, chipped tile and crooked shower panel.

Main restaurant closed to the small tour party.

The only good thing was the gym and swimming pool which were impressive for a hotel.

To quote the taxi drive "At least you are only staying 1 night".

Room Tip: If you need WiFi try and get a room on the 1st floor near reception as I was on the 3rd which was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKenward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Longford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked this hotel purely for the lowest room-only rate in that part of the city, as we needed a place to stay which was as near as possible to Beaumont Hospital for an early-morning appointment. It was very easy to find, just off the Swords Road. Staff appeared to be very welcoming. The room was, I believe one of their older rooms, and was dated, but very clean and comfortable. Reviewers elsewhere have complained about small rooms in the older part, but ours was adequate - even largish. Room was very quiet even though it was facing the road. Noisy neighbours might be problematic, as we could hear conversations next door. We didn't explore the rest of the hotel, or eat there. There's a leisure centre on the site, and a convenience store next door. They arrange package deals involving transport to theatres and shows in the city centre.Two small negatives - There was no remote control for the (small) television, and a promised wake-up call either never materialized, or was inaudible. Car park is an extra charge. We could reccomend this as good-value place to stay close to Beaumont or the Airport, or for one of their theatre outings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is a little rough around the edges; showing its age. Furniture somewhat worn, beds a bit lumpy, bathtub not so nice. Room was clean, and kept that way by the cleaning staff. We had wanted to stay downtown, but made our arrangements too late. Luckily, all the busses passing the hotel on Swords Road head to city center--the O'Connell Street bus stops. At €1.90, each way, the 15 minute bus ride was very convenient and inexpensive. The hotel has its own pub style restaurant. Only had lunch there: good, lots of food for a good price. We met family downtown each morning for breakfast, so did not partake of the hotel's offerings. Indications were that it was standard Irish breakfast fare and didn't see anyone complaining. The Notre Dame tour groups staying at the hotel used the pub for their post-game "tailgate" party; we're Navy fans so didn't attend, but looked like everyone was enjoying the pub. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Provided us directions, maps, and change for all of our outings. There is parking in back of the hotel and a Centra convenience store in front (you can buy bus passes here. The €11.00 unlimited, one-day family pass is an exceptional deal if you're comfortable using the Dublin bus system). The hotel is OK if you just need a place to stay and location isn't critical. It's halfway between the airport and downtown and not really close to any tourist attraction. But, it's economical, adequate, and not so inconvenient that we weren't able to do everything we wanted. I don't believe we'll stay again, but I wouldn't go so far as to tell others not to stay at the Regency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal,Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as nearby skylon had plumbing problems apparently .. Had heard bad reports about the place but it was actually fine despite few blips. The room was fine .. Big for the 3 of us .. Bit dated but plenty of room . The bar was a nightmare though .. Went to eat one waiter only and he was flat out .. Bar the same .. Loads waiting to be served . Walked to skylon to eat . We had. Booked room only at skylon for €89 for 3 .. Got breakfast at regency for same amount but must have been because of the inconvenience .. The breakfast was v good .. Bacon in particular .. It's not a bad hotel .. Near airport .. But needs updating .. Suffers dry rot .. A good nights sleep . Not luxury

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#124 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West County Hotel
#89 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Property: The Regency Hotel Dublin
Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new 3 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing