We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is located in a quaint neighborhood and is just short cab ride to tourist attractions. The rooms are clean and beds are comfy. The staff was helpful and eager to assist. Wonderful Irish breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    346
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
206
576
105
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

A quirky hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of the city. Our room had a sauna in the room which, in my past 40 years of travelling, I have never come across before. Doubled up with a jacuzzi in the bathroom too, this was indeed a unique room. The staff were very friendly, tea and coffee offered because our room was a little late in being ready. Nice little car park behind the hotel and a good breakfast place just up the road if you don't have breakfast in the hotel. If you don't fancy the walk into town the 4 and 7 stop right outside. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I got this at half price on booking.com the day before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Roxford Lodge Hotel is a nice B&B in a neighborhood just southeast of Dublin city center. All the tourist activities are short bus ride or 15 minute walk away. Though, we really enjoyed the neighborhood the Roxford is in: beautiful row houses, good restaurants, friendly people and great Guinness pours. The Roxford lodge rooms are very nice with modern bathrooms. The Lodge is a bit compartmentalized for getting around, but the common rooms are nice. The Irish breakfast was great and our hosts were very helpful. We recommend the Roxford Lodge for those seeking more of a Irish neighborhood feel rather than tourist area.

Room Tip: Several rooms are located in a lower level. They have windows and are nice, but you may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Rockford Lodge Hotel. The room was very cozy with a comfortable bed and included both a sauna and jacuzzi as well as a large assortment of DVDs to watch. The staff was both friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

After figuring out where to park (in the back of the facility), the owner was kind enough to explain how long it would take to see the sites and whether it was best to walk or cab. Nice street, on the edge of Ballsbridge so walking distance to the inner city (10 mins walking briskly). Never felt unsafe. Room was comfortable, bathroom interesting since they use the "half glass panel thing" to stop the shower water from hitting the floor, which it doesn't, but I guess i'm not the one cleaning up so no complaints. :) Didn't eat their breakfast since it wasn't included and could pick something up along the walk to the sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet location with secure parking. The room was not large but was very luxurious with a lot of thoughtful extras such as a DVD player with a selection of movies, refrigerator, and a large jetted tub. A good 20 minute walk to the downtown area but there were plenty of close restaurants in every direction. A nice cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We used the Roxford Lodge as a base to stay for a wedding that was held at the Schoolhouse Hotel.It had better rate than the Schoolhouse & also included breakfast. Everything was fantastic. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing